We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On top of the Wall”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“On top of the Wall”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights DBB at Battlesteads just after Easter 2012. It was excellent. The food was really good, and we enjoyed a wine and food event which was a first for us. The staff are outstanding, and our room was high quality for a pub/hotel. It was sparklingly clean and without doubt we shall return. there is plenty to do within easy driving distance and the hotel provides a number of walks on waterproof paper - a super idea! The weather was not ideal, but we got out and about to Keilder and onto Hadrians Wall.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncandGlenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    249
    53
    28
    6
See reviews for
106
790
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fens
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am a tour leader for Ramblers Holidays. We stayed at the Battlesteads for 4 nights in April 2012. We found the personal service from Richard, Dee and all their staff first class. Food was excellent, and mostly locally sourced. Give it a try - you wont regret it!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramblers_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
240 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed on Thur.night what a great pub offering first class food service and beer!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We visited Battlesteads in July 2011 on our travels to decide where our wedding venue was going to be. Our list of requirements included a do it all venue to host our civil service, wedding reception and sufficient accommodation for our family and friends. We were immediately made to feel welcome by Katie and her staff. We decided it was the place for us. It ticked all the boxes. Classy but not too formal, friendly staff, pleasant surroundings, excellent local menus, clean and spacious rooms and all within our budget. Over the next few months my wife was in close contact with Katie regarding all the arrangements for the day. She was always quick to reply to any questions, nothing was too much trouble and it made the whole organisation very easy. We then got to our wedding day in early February 2012 and the venue looked fantastic. The service was held in the conservatory and the reception meal in the restaurant. The evening do came next and each part of the day followed the other seamlessly. We and our guests had a fantastic day. With the help of all the staff at Battlesteads there wasnt one glitch all day and our guests commented constantly on the quality of the venue, food and service by the staff. Neither of us can say enough to reflect how good our day was and Battlesteads helped to make this happen. Massive thanks to Katie who did a brilliant job. We will be back for our anniversary next year and hope that some of our family will come along to reflect on what was a perfect day. Thank you all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandJenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Battlesteads is actually located in the small pretty town of Wark, Northumberland, a very short drive from many of the Hadrians Wall experiences that visitors want to explore & enjoy.As a volume hotel customer globally, this personally run hotel delivers a quite unique experience in every aspect of innkeeping. A remarkable smiling, happy & efficient staff, very high quality food presented superbly and a bar, lounge, restaurant and garden which will be appreciated by many national & international travellers.

Room Tip: theChipchase room at the rear of the hotel may overlook the car park, but very very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magus84, Manager at Battlesteads Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hi Brian - Thanks for your valued review and kind comments regarding your stay with us at Battlesteads. All the team here sincerely hope it won't be too long before you both return for a repeat "Memorable" visit...Cheers! Mikey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Went for an evening meal, and the food was absolutly delicious, and the portions were very good, enjoyed it so much we are going to be frequent visitors. You never know what is on your doorstep, I wish we had discoverd The Battlesteads before now, The staff were great so warm and freindly nothing was a bother for them, I would highly reccommend going for a meal, if you are local or a visitor, you wont be dissapointed .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiewicksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magus84, Manager at Battlesteads Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hi there folks......just to say how much all the staff here at Battlesteads appreciated your recent "Doorstep Discovery" comments. Believe me when I say that we all (staff) get lifted by reviews like yours...so Cheers!... and we will see you back here sooner than later.....Mikey
P.S. Book Early!! Haha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We (2 couples) booked a 3 night stay at the last minute and got a great deal. Our rooms were comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and they were all friendly and helpful. The meals we had there were all superb, from a great breakfast every day to our evening meal, all cooked to perfection. Our compliments to the chef Eddie. The barman Mike had quite a selection of beers, many of which were tried by us. The hotel is in an excellent position for touring the area, which we found to be wonderful. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magus84, Manager at Battlesteads Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hi there Brenda and the gang...Just to say we all (staff) really appreciate your kind comments regarding your last stay with us here at Battlesteads. So please don't take too long in coming back to visit us again and sampling some more of our fine food and ales (I'll need a bigger stock next time haha). Joking apart, thanks again from all the team here in Wark....Cheers! P.S. Eddie says "Hi" ....TTFN...Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
9.3 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Property: Battlesteads Hotel
Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing