We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 February 2013

A wonderful inn. Stayed for two nights but wished we'd had longer. The place appears smaller than it is. Our room faced the rear of the hotel with views over the Northumbrian countryside. It was a good size room tastefully furnished with a comfortable bed. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room. The bar was good with a soft seating area complete with TV. A good selection of ales at very good prices. To the rear was the restaurant. We ate there on both nights & the food was of excellent quality, again at very good prices. All of the staff were helpful & polite. We would highly recommend this hotel/inn & will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

Although a long slog from the main road, the hotel is worth making the effort to get there. The hotel and restaurant are excellent, the staff very helpful and attentive. There is no mobile phone coverage which is a bit inconvenient but the Hotel has overcome this by being very reasonable with their land line charges (a plus for them) and free wifi (another plus). My room was comfortable, clean and roomy. The plate of fruits and various amenities add a nice touch. The bathroom was very clean, well lit (a massive plus) and appointed. Both meals I had at the hotel were well cooked and presented.There is ample parking.
I wish more country hotels were like the Battlesteads!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vbm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Stayed over New Year and had a brilliant time. Food was excellent, best belly pork I've ever had and wonderful home made other food or locally sourced. Really good cosy bar with real ales and good selection of whiskys and as I said in the title there is no mobile phone access so no having intrusive and irritating inconseqential mobile phone calls that everyone is obliged to hear. Excellent wifi access for my tablet (not an iPad) but seemed to be ifffy for laptops, probably the weather. Staff excellent and very friendly keen to chat and make your stay comfortable at all times, chef and bar staff great, Highly recomended hotel, will be back next New Year hopefully (as long as you don't have mobile phone access). Cheers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on business trip and they could not do enough to help me during my stay! First class room, food and beer! Nice people and lovely cosy place in front of the fire, spot on!! Will be staying again when in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirtworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This was the third time we have stayed; we are frequent visitors to North'land and use many hotels and this is up there with the best. The rooms have always been to a high standard, the bathrooms clean, warm and well appointed in particular the range of gels and lotions. Fresh fruit, Ringtons' teas, decent coffee, hot choccy and ginger snaps - what more does a room need? The bar had three cask ales and decent wine. The fire was burning and surrounded by books, magazines and local info it becomes very difficult to move. Free use of the internet in the bar is a real bonus. The food is as good as it gets. Chef Eddie is excellent; the produce is local, in fact so local you can walk down the road and buy the homemade sausages and black pudding from the deli. If you eat nothing at Battlesteads you must have their Bywell smoked kippers and the cheese board - Isel goat's cheese is sublime. 200 words is not enough. Thanks

Room Tip: upstairs, ground floor tend to have pedestrians walking by. Room 6 was pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Great little hotel in heart of Northumberland countryside. Near Hadrian's Wall walks, Keilder Forrest and Hexham.

Very cosy and welcoming hotel. The rooms are excellent (specially the bathroom) and put many larger chain hotels to shame. Great lounge/bar area with comfortable leather setees, which you do not want to get up off while supping their excellent real ales.
The hotel has free wifi which is a bonus and a must as you cannot get a mobile phone signal in the area.

The hotel is known for its excellent food and it does not disappoint. Whatever dish you order, it is well presented and gorgeous to taste. A cou[le of points some other guests made to us while we were there - the food is very rich and if you were eating there for more than a few days it may be helpful if there were some basic menu dishes as well. It didn't bother me but I can see where they are coming from - my wife probably could have taken a simple pasta on one of the occasions.
The breakfasts are the best I have ever had in a hotel - and what a wonderful fresh fruit salad to go with the cereal - superb. They have a lot of their own jams and marmalade which taste excellent.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

A couple of notes for the management.

Obviously with time, one of your staff will gain more experience in the hotel business.
On first evening when going for dinner we were asked to wait a minute while she dealt with something else - fair enough. She came back and asked us if we wanted a drink we said no, we'll decide at table. Phone went - she left us and answered it. The whole time we were standing for 5 minutes, she came back then said - sit anywhere. Why couldn't she had said that at the beginning rather than keep us standing there for 5 minutes. On checking in she also asked us if we wanted a morning paper. I said NO. Paper appeared outside door next morning and I left it on bar (unread) before we went for breakfast. Paper again next morning. Went to check out and was told amount we owed - no bill presented to us. We duly paid then she gave us an itemised receipt which I didn't read till in car. Was charged for 2 morning papers. It is good practice to give itemised bill for checking before paying.

PS - Sorry for going away with room key - it is on its way. Should really had been asked for it at check out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom284Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed at the hotel just before christmas and had a great time, lovely large room and wonderful meal in restaurant. The service was fabulous all through from reception to bar and then in the restaurant and the whole atmosphere made you feel very comfortable and relaxed.

The only problem was the constant noise from the air conditioning all night that woke both me and my wife a couple of times each through the night. I did mention it when checking out, but was told someone must have forgotten to turn it off......shame really! Would stop us going back but would want a different room or a guarantee that the kitchen air con was turned off.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
396 reviews
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range: £68 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing