We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delight”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Booked the "Chipchase room", the best room, and were not disappointed. Well furnished and appointed with views over the woods. Food superb - seasonal, locally sourced, beautifully cooked and presented. Hearty portions. Staff excellent, friendly and professional. Particularly liked the way they took our drinks through from our seats in the bar to the Restaurant. Log-burning stove in bar gave off serious heat. Exceptionally green credentials - check the website.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    253
    53
    28
    6
See reviews for
106
808
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for two nights on a travelzoo deal which included a 7 course meal. This pub seems like a one off and not part of a large chain. It has genuinely home cooked food that doesn't come straight from the freezer unlike some pubs. They use locally sourced products and even grow some of their own. The service in the restaurant was friendly and efficient and the 7 course meal was filling without being over facing. I had the sea bass on a bed of noodles for the main course which was perfectly cooked and flavoured. I liked the fact that the course consisted mainly of sea bass and wasn't padded out with other things. Pudding was a trio of mini deserts. The only part that let it down was the "pavlova" which consisted of a really dry meringue nest (seemed like the ones you get from a supermarket) with a bit of cream and fruit on top. This is just a personal niggle of mine as pavlova is my favourite desert and it annoys me when it isn't done properly. I enjoyed the brownie and cheesecake though.

The room was a little pokey but there was good attention to detail and it was well equipped. The products in the bathroom were of good quality and there was fresh fruit and homemade biscuits. My only criticism would be that it didn't seem that the room had been cleaned that thoroughly when we returned to the room on our second night. A used flannel which had been left on the bathroom floor was put back onto the sink for some reason.

We also enjoyed the breakfast. The cooked breakfast was all perfectly done. There was toast and a good selection of homemade preserves, fruit salad, muesli and pastries. We had a view of the garden from where breakfast was served. A particularly nice touch was that the garden was filled with bird feeders and was swarming with diverse bird life, despite being winter.

The hotel is in a pleasant location various local walks. We made use of the maps provided that were printed on water proof paper. Another example of the attention to detail shown by the owners. We also appreciated the fact that the hotel allowed dogs to stay. Overall we enjoyed our stay and felt we got value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A friendly cat on reception, a fabulous room, with bath and separate shower (it was a special room for a special event) and a lovely seating area. Tea and coffee facilities good with fresh milk on offer (a marker of quality for me).

The managed our vegetarian request well (but be warned you have to order veggie sausages the night before).

All this and you feel virtuous due to the green credentials. The staff were great and waited up for us as we were home very late after a trip to the Kielder Observatory.

We will be back

Room Tip: Room 15 the ChipChase
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irisheyesYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at the Battlesteads on 02/11/13 for a one night dinner, bed & breakfast break through a Travelzoo deal.

We had a wonderful time. Our room (no3) was so clean! It was very comfortable and well equipped (cafetiere, home made biscuits, fruit bowl, lovely lovely toiletries). The pub itself is great - really friendly and inviting. And the food was just awesome - home grown vegetables ( you can really taste the difference), great quality meat and fabulous dishes.

A lot of effort must have gone into achieving this level of hospitality, from the small details to the inexhaustible and friendly staff. It has paid off though.

We had a great time and will definitely be back. There's only one small problem with the Battlesteads - it's so good that I hesitate to recommend it in case I can't get a booking!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarreth68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at Battlesteads, which ended with a 'dinner with wines' 6 course meal that was absolutely first class. Our entire stay was excellent, and all staff go out of their way to help and look after guests- great teamwork, led by Richard and Dee.
Quality of food as good as anywhere we have eaten, and largely locally sourced- the lamb was wonderful and cooked to perfection by Eddie.
Dinner time entertainment on Hallowe'en included a pumpkin carving contest among staff - another sign of their commitment to providing a brilliant night, and a witty and informative presentation of wines by Richard Pickles from Bibendum. We will return - and as was said on the night, time for the food critics of the south to travel north to sample some great food!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncandGlenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I arranged my wedding at The Battlesteads from Devon. I did however have friend from Hexham who was my eyes. I did have a few reservations having not been there before. There was no need as from the moment we arrived on the Friday night till we left on the Sunday morning we were looked after. The staff were friendly and very helpful and I was told that anything I wanted they would help with. Dee and Richard were great and after the days events sat with us and had a drink. I must say I can't remember all the staff by name but the ones I do were wonderful. Rluqa was a treasure and both Kates were so helpful...... We intend to come up and visit on our wedding anniversay..... I would recommend this venue for small weddings to anyone. 100/10 xxx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Booked a one night stay at Battlesteads via Travelzoo and grabbed a real bargain.B/B and seven course taster menu for £99 a couple.Arrived at 5.30 pm and tried to get in the door marked reception but it was locked,and there was no bell....not a good start.After using the Bar Entrance we managed to find the reception which was manned by a very pleasant young lady who directed us up to our newly decorated room.The hall stairs were grubby but there was decorating work going on and our room was very good.One small complaint....flies.Had to swat 6 flies in the room and noticed more downstairs...not a major problem of course.I put it down to the countryside location and open windows due to decorators at work.
Arrived in bar and had a pre-dinner pint of Durham Magus and a glass of Savignon Blanc then straight through to the dining area.There was about 5 other couples and it felt a bit like valentines night but the food and service was top class,especially the lamb dish.
Rounded off the night in the cosy bar with real log stove and had a undisturbed night.Breakfast was very good but I felt a bit guilty ordering the full monty after the seven courses the night before! The balck pudding was a highlight.All in all an enjoyable budget break would definitely recommend at that price(and probably a bit more)!

Room Tip: Room 5 is at the front but traffic noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas_hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Property: Battlesteads Hotel
Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing