We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault a thing...”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay in this beautiful hotel as a birthday present for my boyfriend. Had a TravelZoo voucher for the tasting menu and decided to stay the night in their superior room.

The staff were wonderful, the food (and wine) fantastic and our room was spotless and beautifully decorated. A perfect place for a quiet getaway...

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank HannahShaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
There are newer reviews for Battlesteads Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

We booked into Battlesteads without prior reservation because we had originally booked and paid for a break at the Black Bull Hotel in Wark but arrived to find it deserted. How lucky were we?!! Battlesteads was probably the best hotel we have stayed in for some time. The rooms were beautiful, the staff were lovely and the food was to die for. I know we will go back for another break as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Do try the beef cheeks and the 'Lamb done 3 ways' for a real treat.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley2435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Service was very good and friendly in the bar and restaurant. The choice of dishes was fair and quality good for the money.Breakfast was excellent.. The room we had was disappointing, small and uncomfortable. There were some nice touches, but we did have 2 sleepless nights. There's not a lot they can do about it, but the walls were very thin, I won't explain further, but you can guess what we could hear from the next room.Overall we felt the price we paid for 2 nights was fair but ultimately , disappointing. The people are nice, but I'm sorry I wouldn't recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stopped here last night with my partner. It was kind of a last minute decision and having browsed through booking.com came across Battlesteads. We arrived just after noon Saturday and went straight into the bar to have lunch. From there we were shown to our room which was great! Spacious, clean, fresh fruit, biscuits and coffee. Dinner was beautiful & the wine selection great. Really interesting place with great eco credentials.

We had a great experience and the staff were superb. One lady in particular was great, serving lunch, showing us to our room and also involved in the serving of dinner.

This is a great place & a bonus is no mobile phone signal...

Thanks

Room Tip: We had room 17 which was lovely...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We booked a 2 night break away on secret escapes, which also included a 7 course taster menu. The location was perfect for exploring, in particular visiting Hadrian's wall, but not too far away from Hexham, the biggest town nearby.

The staff were friendly, the food was delicious, (if you do go for the tasty menu I advise that you also try the wines that are matched perfectly for an additional £25 per head, you will not be disappointed!) and the rooms were exceptionally spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor, at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sicyciao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Booked for a one night stay with travelzoo,7 course taster menu with breakfast.
Fantastic service and friendly atmosphere nice vino and fab food well worth a visit and we will return !!! The hotel rooms are updated to a high standard and very comfortable !!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfp3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just had a night away here with our dog. Very warm welcome and super dog friendly. Room was really comfortable and the meal was lovely. Great location for exploring this beautiful area. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fio888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range: £113 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing