We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for one Night B&B and can not fault it in anyway

Our room was lovey well equipped we really had every thing we could ask for

We also had dinner and it was lovey the staff are so helpful

The food was fab

It can be a bit pricey but still worth it

we will be back

Room Tip: Just a really nice place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Having a special event to celebrate we booked into Battlesteads - for the first time - for their 7-course taster menu and chose also to enjoy their wine selection with each course.
It was as good as we've eaten anywhere, and we've eaten at numerous Michelin star restaurants. The wine selection was not only generous, but really excellent. This included a superb English white wine from Kent. It was hrd to pick a favourite course but the demi-tasse of soup - wild mushroom and truffle, and the lamb were outstanding.
Our room was just right as was the breakfast. We really enjoyed a local walk on a fine day, though wet underfoot, using one of the hotel's really good walk guides, printed on waterproof paper!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our second New Year and every bit as enjoyable. Food was outstanding - breakfast rates a special mention. Cask Marque real ales in the bar and a wonderful location in itself as well as proximity to Kielder for a bracing walk on New Year's day

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We've just returned from, I think, our sixth stay at Battlesteads. As ever, it was superb. From the moment we arrived until we left, the staff could not have done more for us. The food, as always, was superb. The wood burner was lit when it was needed, and not just lit for show. There is a great range of beers available, and it changes every time we're there. Five stars to Katie and her team.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IGIVEUPScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked db&b for two (dinner being a seven course taster) via Travel Zoo for just £99.99 on 1st Jan 2014.
As soon as walked in to the bar area - with a glowing wood burner, comfy leather settees, piles of books on the are and happy staff we felt quite at home.
Went straight in to the airy conservatory for a carvery lunch which was really good. Most of the veg etc is either grown on site or sourced where possible within 25miles - as is the meat etc!
The 7 course taster dinner just kept coming! and getting bigger with each course - the pudding, a trio, was yummy and twice the size of a usual restaurant! We could'nt finish the lovely cheese platter. We waddled to the barband collapsed with coffee (inc in price).
Many of our fellow dinners and guests were still in the bar and the atmosphere was very relaxed. Before we went up to bed the owner came over to say hello and to apologise for not spending more time with us. He is A lovely friendly guy who obviously takes great care to ensure that his guests are very well looked after.
Ashamed to say we couldn't resist the full Nthumbrian breakfast the next morning - which again was quality.
We will def return - both to stay or to pop in for a meal.
Our room was a good size with a good sized ensuite with bath. Nice touches such as plate of fruit, cafitiere, lovely biscuits in a cute pot, free WiFi, large comfy bed with loads of pillows etc. Our only - and very minor disappointment was the decor of the room - this is purely personal taste we know - but the room was to 'modern' for us and not in keeping with the rest of the hotel. I would have loved to have transformed that room! Picky I know but we all have our own taste.
Won't stop us from going back though!

Room Tip: If you have pets book the downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My best friend and I purchased a travelzoo voucher for a 2 night stay with the 7 course taster menu and could not fault a thing.

The staff are friendly and attentive, the food was far better than we were expecting, the room was spotless and tasteful with ample tea & coffee.

We arrived on boxing day evening and were helped to our lovely room. We ate in the restaurant that night (which was a tad quiet but to be expected). The food was excellent, could not fault a thing. The attention to detail was so nice and included things grown in their own garden. (Its a very eco hotel with a charge point for your electric car if needed!)

Breakfast was again high quality and the homemade wake up marmalade did exactly that (chili and ginger!)

We ate in the restaurant for the second night and had a very good steak with proper homemade chips!

The staff were on hand to help and advise on things to do locally. There are plenty of walks from the pub, or 30 mins in the car and you are in Keilder forest where there are plenty of trails for walking and mountain biking. Or if you don't want to venture out, there are plenty of magazines, dominos and cards to play in-front of the fire.

The other great thing about the location is the complete lack of mobile signal (the pub has free wifi) so work couldn't call me! This might be a problem for some, but was bliss for me!

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Battlesteads.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed 30th December. Arrived late afternoon, bar nice but would have been more welcoming if fire had been lit.
Bedroom clean and comfortable. Bathroom in need of refurbish and silverfish on floor and in bath. (pleased I had taken slippers) Shower curtain grubby and smelly.
Dining room basic. Food beautiful , Northumberland lamb always is, pity I had to send it back as it was barley warm. My meal was replaced but it was not much warmer, by which time my husband had finished his so we ate separately.
Booked on basis of reviews from trip advisor..... Very over rated ! Expensive compared to other similar hotels in the surrounding area.
Disappointing birthday treat

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthYorkshireMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range: £69 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing