We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night that felt like a holiday”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We used a voucher to stay for 1 night with the taster menu meal and full breakfast. Didn,t know what to expect from the taster meal but it was superb, 7 courses of great local, tasty food all beautifully prepared and presented. Don,t know whether I would have paid the full price for it but we felt that the whole experience more than exceeded the voucher cost. By the time the cheese board arrived we were full but is it amazing how you somehow find room for more. I have rarely had food that was so flavoursome and I am sure we will be returning for another meal, ( I want to try the rabbit pie).
Our room was no. 5, top of the stairs. It was very clean and furnished to a high standard, it is the 1st time I have had a cafetierre and proper coffee on the tea tray and the home made biscuits were wonderful. The only downside was that it faced the road and our sleep was disturbed through the night and early morning but I felt that was my fault for not requesting a downstairs back room which I will do next time. Staff very friendly and helpful and breakfast superb. I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddypat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous two day weekend break at Battlesteads hotel and restaurant on a "Secret Escapes" offer, excellent value, beautiful room very tastefully decorated.
All the staff all very welcoming and friendly. Owners Richard and Dee both lovely people, Dee is an award winning dessert chef and boy, what a treat the desserts were. Richard took us on a tour of the hotel's carbon neutral heating system making Battlesteads the greenest hotel in Northumberland, Richard is very proud of their environmentally friendly principles and justifiably so the hotel's gardens are full of birds and wildlife and set in a lovely private walled garden area which is viewed from the conservatory when having breakfast. All the meals we had were memorable and beautifully presented.
We will definitely be returning I would like to see the garden at different times of the year. Lovely place will be recommending to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 5 at front of hotel, very comfortable, some traffic noise if window open but nothing major.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed on 27th February on a Travel Zoo offer. Amazing value , fruit basket in room, lovely products , welcoming friendly staff, the best breakfast choices I have had and a memorable 7 course taster menu for dinner. I would return to sample their normal menu as the food served to neighbouring tables looked lovely. The surroundings are also special in terms of wild life, walks, and interesting village.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with our 2 granddaughters, what a fabulous place! We really didn't want to leave! The staff were fantastic, big Thankyou to Katie who especially made us feel so welcome. The bedroom was way above what we expected, so beautifully decorated & appointed, the bunk beds were a big hit with the girls, they loved them. The room was warm, cosy & had everything we could need, including a tray of fruit on arrival, home cooked biscuits, warm fluffy towels etc. the beds were really comfortable & a flat screen TV, probably the best room we've stayed in for a long time & that includes 5star hotels! We dined in the restaurant every night because the food & service were excellent, a pre-dinner drink in front of a log fire, the girls could play chess, dominoes without feeling they were in the way, one member of staff even made sure an unfinished game was left undisturbed for them until after dinner! We've never had such good, friendly service anywhere, & as we've had to promise the girls to take them there again, we will most definately be back!, Thank you Battlesteads for a lovely time, you deserve to do well x

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have just got back from a 1 night stay last night. It was the first time we had dont this kind of travel zoo deal but it was wonderful. The room we stayed in was no15 the 'chipchase' room, from what I could gather this was their most luxurious room that a bride and groom would get if they held their wedding here. We were not expecting this room but if you can afford it and are able to book it, it is well worth it as it seems alot bigger compared to what we saw of the rest. The hotel in general is lovely, modern but rustic at the same time and done very well. The staff were always polite and very friendly. Well worth a visit and even better if you can get a deal.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrswhymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We got a deal to stay at Battlesteads and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We got room 9 and it was a nice well set out room with a lovely kingsize bed, the bathroom was bright and clean, the only slight down side was the bath side was the size of the bath which Ronnie Corbert would struggle to stretch out in.

We got the 7 course taster menu as part of our deal which was very nice, and surprisingly filling and with coffee or tea to finish off it ended the evening nicely.

The morning breakfast was also very good with plenty to chose from and very nice, I chose the Northumberland Platter which was a substantial fried breakfast but was grease free.

All the staff were very nice and made our stay pleasant.

You cannot get a mobile signal at this place which adds to it's tranquility but with free WiFi you can still keep in touch with the outside world.

All in all I have nothing but positive things to say about Battlesteads and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanatos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked a two night stay which included a seven course taster menu. The food was excellent and was complemented by wines carefully matched to each course. Breakfast was very good, with excellent fish choices as well as the classic full Northumbrian. Service was lovely, Luca was a real gem! Ed was a considerate chef, who catered well for my food intolerances. Accommodation was in a standard room, spotlessly clean. The owners are rightly proud of their green credentials. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road which could be a problem if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linsky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range: £69 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing