We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revisiting a reliable gem”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Revisiting a reliable gem”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We returned to Battlesteads for a stopover en-route to Scotland. Not a particularly natural stopover location but, having been before, worth a detour. Nothing disappointed. The room was just the job, having all the facilities we needed, was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The remote position of the hotel ensured a quiet environment, so we enjoyed a very peaceful night there. We also took dinner in the restaurant. All staff were polite and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The food was to the high standard that we had previously experienced and there was a good choice of wines and real ales. Breakfast was very good, with a range of cold and hot choices. Both breakfast and dinner made full use of home grown produce, which the hotel prides itself on, and which made the experience even better. Look out for a wide variety of home made preserves at breakfast! The only negative for us is that the hotel is so far away from where we live!

Room Tip: I have stayed on two occasions, in different rooms, both good, so I judge this to be typical of what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    253
    53
    28
    6
See reviews for
106
805
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at Battlesteads for 2 nights. The room was spacious, clean, and well presented, with very easy access.
The bar had a friendly atmosphere and staff were always helpful. A good selection of quality real ale was available and the wine list looked good too.

Dinner was 3 lovely courses served by the great staff who were always keen to help.

Breakfast was equally good, and this was served in the conservatory from where we could enjoy watching the birds in the garden.
Much of the produce served in the restaurant is grown on site and the owners are more than happy to provide a guided tour of the gardens.

Should we be in the area again, i'm sure we'll make a bee-line here for the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amountainjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

A delayed review however, necessary to submit.

Myself & my partner stayed weekend of the 28th March mainly to be used as a base for our exploration of Hadrians Wall.

We arrived at the Battlesteads after a long, cold & wet day out walking visiting historical land marks. We were shown to our room and asked what time we should be wanting our table for dinner.

The room was very pleasant. It was very comfortable and relaxing, just what we needed after a long day out and about.

We went down for our evening meal and was seated in the lounge area, provided with a menu and drinks order was taken.

A nice selection of real ale and wine was on offer to choose from.

After a drink our table was ready.
Food was delicious, locally sourced and cooked to our liking. The service excellent.

After a few more drinks (and a cheaky whisky) we rounded off our night and went to bed.

Breakfast was just as good, a wide range of baked goods on offer, the usual croissants and cereal you come to expect. There was a quaint selection of home-made preservatives and Jams to choose from. The breakfast menu was varied and catered for all.
The full English was plenty and the smoked salmon with poached egg excellent.

Overall a fantastic stay, we will most certainly be back to what is a family favourite of ours.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We needed a place to stay near Hadrian's Wall for one night and what an experience it has been! The hotel looked nice when I booked it online but no pictures can capture the warmth of the place and the people in it. Everything is designed for your comfort, the service is second to none and the food in the restaurant is to die for. And if, like me, you care about the environment, you will appreciate the "green" aspects of Battlesteads. All in all a great place to stay and explore the beautiful countryside. We'll definitely stay there next time we venture up North!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We spent one night here- I had tried to stay for two nights but the place was completely booked unfortunately, despite it being mid-week. Our rooms were both very pleasant (great bathrooms!) and both faced the road- we kept our window open through the night and were not bothered by the traffic (we were, in fact, pleasantly surprised by the clip clop of a passing horse and rider out for an early morning stroll). We had the seven course dinner- very good, with just the right proportions for each service. The breakfast was also the best we've had so far on our trip to England- the selection of fresh fruit (raspberries, blueberries and strawberries) was very much appreciated. Each room also had an assortment of apples, kiwis and bananas, a very nice touch!

Room Tip: If you have a room on the 2nd floor, you can access the car park directly by an outside staircase (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Visited this excellent hotel over the easter weekend as a couple with a dog. Very dog friendly, he received a welcome pack! One of the nicest pet friendly rooms we have ever been put in. Plenty of room, lovely and clean and nicely furnished. We had paid for bed and breakfast but decided to try the restaurant for our first evening. Excellent food, high quality although not cheap, but you get what you pay for! Breakfast was delicious! Lots of choice, couldnt fault it. The hotel is in a good spot for exploring Hadrians Wall and many historic sights. Not alot in Wark, we travelled to Hexham for a curry on the second night. Give this hotel a try, you wont regret it!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed only 1 night during family Easter road trip round Northumberland. What a great hotel, small enough to be cosy, full of character and with genuinely helpful, professional staff who were all cheerful. Room was good and accommodated the 3 of us, garden was peaceful and full of birds, food was stand out value, excellent quality at a reasonable price (we stayed at 3 hotels over 3 nights and this was the cheapest and by far the best quality meal we had). We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Northumberland (which I am sure we will).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_ply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Property: Battlesteads Hotel
Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing