We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent two nights here on a Travel Zoo voucher with a taster evening meal. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Room was spotless and well decorated if a little on the small side. The restaurant served very good quality food, the taster menu was excellent. Would recommend a stay here to family and friends.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the rear as woken at 5 in the morning by a HGV clattering past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    253
    54
    28
    6
See reviews for
106
812
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I had booked a special offer via Travel Zoo for the 7-course tasting menu and chose to pay extra for the accompanying wine tasting package and have absolutely no regrets. Each course was well conceived and perfectly executed and are appetites were sated perfectly by the end of the meal. In fact, we enjoyed the beef cheeks so much I had to interrogate the staff as to how they were cooked and immediately acquired some from our local butchers. :)

I would have to disagree with another reviewers remarks regarding 'impersonal' as we found the staff charming, friendly and more than willing to attend to our needs however we treated them with respect and good manners; which can not be said of some of the more mature guests we witnessed treating them with great disdain.

We also stayed in room 17 and found the mattress extremely uncomfortable but this was due to use being used to our memory foam; it's impossible to find a mattress to suit all customers I suppose. The decor was bright and the room was perfectly cleaned and the cafetiere was a welcome touch; however the cushions were over the top!

We would highly recommend the hotel and would strongly advise booking in for the tasting menu but would suggest you upgrade the room for a little more space if you're staying for more than one night. We'll definitely be back. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Only spent one night as travelling up to the Highlands. The bedroom was well appointed, clean and though on the small side, totally overstuffed with co-ordinating cushions! However it is an old pub. The room tray was very good with cafetiere - always a nice touch as was the complimentary fruit bowl. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the waiting staff good. Found the hotel to be slightly impersonal, but judging from numbers in the restaurant in the evening - and staying at the hotel - it is a popular hotel. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had the benefit of a special offer via Travel Zoo for a room and seven course taster dinner. The staff were all warm, welcoming, friendly, helpful and hospitable. The vegetarian seven course taster menu was delicious, particularly the demitasse of wild mushroom and truffle soup. We opted for the wine package as well. With a different glass of wine with each course. The chef came out to chat with us about the food, and we enjoyed talking with him and his wife in the bar afterwards. Eddy and Sally really made the stay special. The room was good, and we enjoyed the firm mattress which gave us a good nights sleep. I can't fault the hotel in the slightest and would love to return to try more of the food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at the Battleads Hotel at the end of April. Overall we had a fantatsic break with excellent food served by some of the best restaurant staff I have come across. The superior room was comfortable and spotless though a liitle on the small size compared to modern hotels. The food and service are what make this hotel a real find and I would certainly recommend it to anyone. We tried the taster menu on 1 evening accompanied by different wines with each course. It was a memorable experience with excellent local food of the highest quality. Would certainly return to the Battlesteads Hotel if we are in the northeast again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed a couple of nights. This is no 5-star swish hotel, but a very homely, comfortable place to stay in a beautiful part of the country. The food was really good - freshly prepared, with better than the run-of-the-mill breakfasts. The young staff were extremely pleasant and courteous. Yes, the room was a bit small, but it had everything we needed, plus a few extras. The décor wasn't to my personal taste, but I didn't spend time looking at the walls!!! I found the bed very comfortable, and everything was spotless. The patio and garden, a haven for birds, made a very pleasant outlook from the conservatory dining room. I would return, and certainly would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good deal with Travelzoo including 7 course tasting menu and breakfast. Our only complaint was the bed. It was probable the worst nights sleep we've ever had in a hotel due to the mattress being so hard. We were in room 17 which was on the small side. When we mentioned it at check out next morning we were told that all the mattresses and pillows had recently been replaced, so no chance of them being changed soon then. Would return but would request a kingsize bed or pay extra for a superior room.

Room Tip: Request a room with a kingsize bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Property: Battlesteads Hotel
Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing