We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER WEDDING VENUE ”
Review of Battlesteads Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Battlesteads Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My son and daughter in law were married at the hotel on Friday, what a fantastic time we all had, the hotel was perfect gorgeous idyllic setting, superb food, fantastic staff, didn't want our time there to end thank you so much Kate for all your help you are a star and thank you to Dee Richard & Kate for all your help & kindness thinking of you all next weekend .

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank 9geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
There are newer reviews for Battlesteads Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great place close to Hadrian's wall. Fabulous food both for breakfast and dinner; nice setting; good rooms. Fun bar. Bit expensive but really enjoyed the stay. Nice service, friendly staff. Good beds for the kids.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ysette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The food was very good great first two courses let down by the award winning bread and butter pudding.
It was pretty tasteless.
The room was nice with little touches like a bowl of fresh fruit. The views from the window was not great. (Car part) room was hot and stuffy even with the window open.
Breakfast was very good with a lot of unusual choices such as soft cheese omelet. Nice cereals where you can add dried fruit and nuts separately to your muesli

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived at Battlesteads and made our way to the reception. This is situated in a corridor. We both stood there waiting to be checked in whilst a staff member stood feet away sorting a cupboard out. Not a word was said to us.. After 10 minutes and at a point when we were wondering where on earth we had come to, a young man came around corner to talk to the woman sorting the cupboard.. To our amazement was able to see us standing there waiting, and said he would fetch someone. This someone came from the bar. Why isn't the bar the reception, its much nicer and would give a much better first impression?. After this we had a pleasant stay, the room was lovely and comfy. The food was good, and service, even by the staff that ignored us was good.
The areas so nice, and we will return

Room Tip: Be aware that the place has a well used restaurant and bar and there is a certain level of noise unt...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed at Battlesteads Hotel for 1 night. There was nobody on reception when we arrived and no answer when we rang the bell so we had to go through the bar area. It would make sense to close the hotel reception entrance if nobody is manning the area.

Once we found somebody, we were checked in quickly and mad our way upstairs to the accommodation (some dog friendly rooms available on the ground floor). We were part of a larger party so I got to see into four of the rooms. Each room was uniquely and tastefully decorated in a modern style. The facilities were well presented and clean. The shower was nice and warm.

There was a flexible curfew which had us rush from a late meal elsewhere.

Breakfast and sandwiches were nice. The service was good with few mistakes. Apparently dinner is also lovely, but we didn't eat there in the evening.

I didn't have a good sleep, I woke with a sore back and had to place cushions around the room door to block out the light around the door. I can be a poor sleeper though so it hasn't stopped me thinking of returning.

The garden is lovely and surrounded by a wall for privacy. There are many measures in place to make the hotel as eco friendly as possible.

We struggled to check out during breakfast as again, there were no staff at reception.

There is no mobile phone reception in the hotel and bar, wi-fi is free and there are phones in every room but being contacted by others was difficult as the hotel would not pass a call through to a room, they simply took a message for you to call the person back.


I would definitely go back for a relaxing weekend walking, perhaps with the dog too!

Room Tip: The yellow room was a good size with a big bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank foosfan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On arrival, we received a very warm welcome from Raluca who showed us to our room. The room, although not large, was finished to a very high standard and was clean and extremely comfortable. It was lovely to see a good selection of tea and coffee and homebaked biscuits. On our first night we experienced the 7 course taster menu which was outstanding. Really enjoyed the local ale too. Battlesteads is an eco friendly hotel and sources its produce locally if possible and also from their own kitchen garden. The hotel is in a lovely village and we enjoyed a pleasant walk to the bridge and along the river. We would definitely return to Battlesteads in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Moira O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a great 3 night stay Sun to Wed all staff very helpfull, was going to stay in the George in Chorlotten but after reading the reviews on Battlesteads did the right thing and stayed here for a wonderfull 3 nights with perfect weather. only drawback was we stayed in room 9 which is directly over the kitchen which when it opens the ventilator fan is turned on which is around 07:00 in the morning and when on is quite noisy, also in the evening stays on until 22:00 until the kitchen shuts down. wonderfull beer garden to relax in with a drink.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wark
9.1 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
11.1 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
24.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
22.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battlesteads Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlesteads Hotel

Address: Wark Village, Wark NE48 3LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wark
Price Range: £113 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlesteads Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a farmstead in 1747, Battlesteads has recently been converted into a comfortable Northumbrian Inn and Restaurant complete with secret walled garden and sunny conservatory. The 22 rooms are all en-suite with colour TV, hairdryers and ironing facilities. The restaurant features mouth-watering home cooked dishes using top quality, locally sourced produce. An ideal base for exploring Hadrian's Wall country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Battlesteads Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battlesteads Hotel Hexham
Battlesteads Hotel Wark, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing