We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location off motorway when driving through France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Very comfortable rooms, modern and friendly, well equipped. Lovely crisp cotton sheets and nice view of the countryside. Lovely terrace to relax in after a long drive.
This was our 2nd stop at the hotel.
Food in the restaurant was good and at air price.
Staff friendly and one young man a real credit to the hotel, oozing personality and ensuring a superb service for our stay, Alexander (of Espana) what a star, far friendlier than the previous trip where the older gentleman was abrupt and grumpy to say the least. Alex conversed withh all guests in their own native language assisting to translate where necessary.
A must when travelling through France to the south of France and Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresab7529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

From the second we checked in right through to check out we have never experienced rudeness and ignorance to such a high level.
The lady on reception never even spoke to us when we arrived, merely passed us our room key when I presented her with our booking confirmation. We were just in time for lunch and the waiter in the restaurant turned out to be the only member of staff with any manners.
At breakfast 3 members of staff stood talking in a corner and totally ignored us as we requested a table. All the tables were empty but had not been cleared of previous guests breakfast dishes. We had to clear a table and I wiped it down with some 'wet wipes' I had in my bag and then we helped ourselves to breakfast. What a joke! A few crumbs of bread, a choice of 2 cereals, a mouldy orange in a dish and a few yoghurts. At 13 euros per person - scandalous.
The room was modern and clean which is obviously a positive and another positive is the location, however please note that it is only a great location for anyone requiring a one night stop over to break up a long journey (as we were) but.I would not recommend the location for anyone wishing to view the sights, etc as there is nothing to see.
Overall what a shame that the staff let down the reputation of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Firstly I must take issue with the comments about the staff. We found them very helpful and considerate. Even the hotel cat acknowledged us.

We arrived on a public holiday and as we'd previously found out, the restaurant is shut so we had eaten earlier enroute. We slept late next morning ad didn't have breakfast although the smells from the kitchen which was just working up to lunch smelt wonderful.

Our disabled access room was excellent with plenty of room and a brilliant full wet room.

The view from our window over looked the lovely countryside and on a sunny day I can imagine just resting there for a day.

Great little hotel just off the A75/E11 sortie 3.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

it was supposed to be a scenic stop on our journey to the Atlantique, to view a spectecular town and the scene of the Auvergne.
Onboarding at the hotel, which was simply the first available on the road, revealed the BW Gregovie as a very new and modern Best Western. Rooms are furnitured in a more modern style (same standard as Holiday Express or Motel One), definitevly one star above Ibis & Co.
Picutres on thier home page are really authentic, including the terasse with sofas and small lagoons.

Don't expect the staff to be too friendly, but maybe it is because they hardly speak English on the French country side. Aside of that, the hotel is really priceworth: clean, well-furnished and equipped with all you can expect from a *** Hotel.

As we failed to get any even acceptable, not to demand "good" food in Clermont-Ferrand, which turned out to be a gohst town after 8 pm, we returned to the hotel to get "something" to eat.
Surprisingly, the "Faux filet" was really good with fresh stuffed potatoes and a mixed vegetable you can really enjoy. That saved our disappointing eve in Clermont-Ferrand.
As opposed to rest of the staff, our waiter was really freindly, served us with a degustiation of a plate de jour, we were refusing (because we mistook the name). Ok, he turned out to be from Barcelona and shared our judgement of Clermont_ferrand attractiveness :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

If you fancy a few days in Clermont Ferrand (and I can't imagine why anyone would want to do this) then stay at the Best Western. Not because it's central, because it's miles from anywhere, as far as I can tell. Not because the breakfasts are amazing either, because they're not, they're pretty average. Not for the use of the amazing wifi connection, as it's a bit flaky. Stay there for two reasons. Firstly, because the rooms are great. I've stayed in hotels of this rating all over Europe and this one wins hands down. The shower is a particular treat, as it as it doesn't follow the hotel traditions of being impossible to set it to the required temperature or spraying the entire bathroom with water as soon as you turn it on. I'm guessing it's new or refurbished, but either way it's really very pleasant to be in. Not just the shower, I mean the room too. The second reason to stay here is the view. Being, as it is, in the middle of nowhere, it's surrounded by green. Fields and trees kind of green that is, not green walls. The view is beautiful, and the dinky goldfish pond outside the restaurant is a nice touch too. 

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukicat5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Found it on Trip Advisor and thought we would try it for ourselves. Very comfortable and quiet. Perfect as right next to the A75 motorway. Newly renovated rooms- good night sleep. Great food at night - only negative, after such good food at night disappointing breakfast- advice on this one- get off early and find a service station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyBaker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Stayed her for 2 nights during a business trip. Arrived on a Sunday evening and unfortunately could not get any food anymore. That's why I gave a bit less in service. Otherwise rooms where great and clean, and alo the breakfast and dinner I had where well catered for. A great tetras with a magnificent view on the Gergovie plateau, where Vercintorix concquered Julius Cesar ... Guess that counts as a view ...

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MobileJarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perignat-les-Sarlieve
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Litteraire Alexandre Vialatte
Best Western Plus Hotel Litterai...
#12 of 58 in Clermont-Ferrand
371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Sud - Aubiere
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Clermont Ferrand sud Aubiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#3 of 58 in Clermont-Ferrand
839 reviews
4.1 mi away
Novotel Suites Clermont Ferrand Polydome
Novotel Suites Clermont Ferrand ...
#6 of 58 in Clermont-Ferrand
664 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Hotel CLERMONT-FERRAND Sud Aubiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie

Address: 25 allee du petit Puy, 63170 Perignat-les-Sarlieve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Perignat-les-Sarlieve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perignat-les-Sarlieve
Price Range: £63 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and quiet in the heart of the AuvergneOpened in summer 2007, the Best Western Hotel Gergovie welcomes you in a warm and restful atmosphere. Everything here has been designed to ensure that your stay is a success, whether you are travelling on business or on holiday.At the foot of the Gergovie Plateau, scene of the famous battle in which Vercingétorix defeated Julius Caesar in 52 BC, you can discover the most beautiful sites in the Massif Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
pérignat-lès-Sarliève Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing