We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers”
Review of Rose and Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nympsfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose and Crown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Nympsfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I booked a table for 8 with plenty of notice for this Good Friday. We arrived on time and were dissapointed to be told most of the menu had sold out (goodness knows what they were able to serve by the end of Easter weekend. The food then took over 90 minutes to arrive, some of it cold. The staff were few and far between and the lady I took to be the manager harried to the point of rudeness. When a nearby table asked where the remaining food was for thier party they were told it would be 15 minutes. When they complained they were told they should have booked (apparently we were getting preferencial treatment) and if they didn't want to wait they could cancel the order. The general view what like it or lump it and 'wehat do you want me to do about it'. Total shambles. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank hazel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We hadn't been to the Rose and Crown for years, and thought we would stop and see if they could fit all five plus dog, for a meal. Busy, so a very good sign! As there weren't any roast meals left, we had homemade burgers, and gammon. It was fantastic! Cooked to perfection. After visiting jamies in Cheltenham at New Year, and having one of the worst experiences we've had in a long time, the Rose and Crown lifted my spirits, and gave me confidence that there are restaurants that take a pride in the fare they produce. Will definately go again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Good food, excellent service, brilliant entertainment, fantastic night...well done and thank you

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Went in pre Christmas just as snow was falling for dinner. We were one of only two tables in the restaurant that was taken. Pre dinner champagne was provided free of charge which was a nice touch... However the measures were small and one of our guests did not get any as the bottle ran out... With no sign of any replacement.

On the plus side food was good, although we were asked to go to our table from the bar as our starters were nearly ready, then sat for 20 mins before they arrived.

Service was poor at best

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthernMonkeyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Where to start?...

On arrival at the Rose and Crown we were immediately taken back by it's quaint and charming character. The building is beautiful and it gets only more impressive as you enter through the door. We were greeted by Rebecca and Craig with open arms and shown to our room which we had booked for the night.

The room had all the usual refinements and the bed turned out to be one of the most comfortable beds I have ever (over!)slept in.

The bar area is great. So much warm country character. Beautiful oak everywhere and the roaring open fire is just the icing on the cake.

The restaurant at the back of the building is simply stunning. The restaurant is cosy and very intimate with the most amazing open roof, exposing all the original beams.

The food, cooked by Craig and his team, was beautiful. The service from the rest of the staff was also fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and they even came armed with a smile.

All in all the setting, the food and most of all the hospitality was 1st class. Good hospitality is increasingly hard to come by but these guys take it to a new level. Old school service with a smile and nothing but 100% customer satisfaction!

Well done guys, keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We decided to join Rebecca for New years Eve with our friends. As always welcome was warm and we had a beer at the bar before going for dinner. The highlight of the evening was the Ultimate Buble tribute act. We did not know what to expect but Mark Daniels was brilliant and put on a great show. We enjoyed the evening immensly and ended the night dancing to Rebeccas Ipod music!!! Brilliant evening thanks to the team at the Rose and Crown for a great fun evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank traveller123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We visited for dinner and it was so cold we could not keep warm. The food was good as it always is but the atmosphere was as frosty as the weather . We have visited before and it was good but this was very bad and made my guests uncomfortable

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubedoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nympsfield
3.6 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
695 reviews
8.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
36 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown Inn

Address: 3 The Cross, Nympsfield GL10 3TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Nympsfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nympsfield
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Inn Nympsfield, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing