We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”

Mountain View Barbeque
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Walker
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lucky for us we were hungry when this place showed up on Rt 395! Casual, laid back and very welcoming. The food was excellent. We had pulled pork and the chicken sandwich. Take a walk around and check out the art works!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean_likes_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Driving the Sonora Pass today going through Walker and needing to have lunch I saw Mtn View BBQ. The owner was very nice & the food was great. Being from the South I've had plenty of BBQ and this was excellent. Very tasty, generous portion and wonderful November afternoon meal at the outdoor table with just the right portion of sunshine!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HopeTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really good BBQ, somewhat pricey”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I ate here for the first time recently and I was really surprised at how good the BBQ is. Fairly extensive menu and a nice beer selection, although the food prices seem a bit high. I would definitely eat here again and am looking forward to trying more of the BBQ options!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bibndum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“surprisingly good food between Tahoe and Yosemite!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We recently drove from Yosemite to Lake Tahoe, taking the scenic route on 395 (to SR 89).
Along the way we got hungry and happened to stop at this small roadside restaurant in the small town of Walker. We had a variety of food -- but the BBQ was super. I'm not a big meat eater so I had the BBQ turkey sandwich which was great and a friend had the pork tenderloin sandwich which he also liked. Rounded off by a chicken salad and a great looking burger and we were all happy. Wonderful service, great food. Who can ask for more! I strongly recommend stopping in on your way north or south on 395.. Note they only take cash.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good All the Way Around”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This restaurant offers a fairly large menu of café type food and a wide assortment of barbeque. The BBQ is very good, generous and is served with generous sides. The pulled pork sandwich and chicken dinner are both delicious. You can even get bulk BBQ to go ! The French fries are a café type that are often hard to find anymore - narrow hand cut and real potatoes. You French fry lovers will know the type I mean. The menu also offers choices for the non-BBQ person in the family. You can order beer and wine with your lunch. The décor is western, there is a nice patio with a cover. There is also other outdoor seating under trees. Although this café is on a main highway, the other side of the street is the eastern side of the Sierra Nevada mountains. The Antelope Valley where this restaurant is located is really beautiful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiefool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mountain View Barbeque also viewed

Been to Mountain View Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing