We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to do it again!”

Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours is one of the 100 Must-See Destinations in Unforgettable Atlantic Canada! On the 2 1/2 - 3 hour boat tour you'll be amazed at the beautiful rock formations on the way to the Islands , a stop to look at an old sea cave as well as a stop or two to feed some Bald Eagles. The Bird Islands are home to Grey Seals, Bald Eagles ,Atlantic Puffins and other sea birds. Our vessel, Highland Lass has all removable windows down both sides (refit 2012) for easy viewing and taking pictures from the comfort of your seat.Our tour spends over an hour at the Islands viewing birds (more if necessary) this does not include the time spent feeding Bald Eagles on the way to and from the Islands or stopping for anything else of interest, whales dolphins, gannets etc. The tour is offered in English , however there are written transcripts ( limited numbers of each ) of the whole tour available on the boat in English, French and German to make your experience more enjoyable. Please note that tours can be cancelled due to unsafe sailing conditions.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to do it again!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have visited Cape Breton 5 out of the past 6 years, and this is the only tour I have done 5 times. I am not a "birder", but for 3 hours on the boat I become one. The 3 hour boat ride around bird island is an unforgettable experience as you see the eagles, puffins, seals, gulls, and many other birds up close. Donelda has an eye for spotting the eagles and puffins and explains where on the rocks they are sitting to make sure that everyone can get a look or snap a picture. Donelda and her Husband (the captain of the boat) are very friendly and knowledgeable. It's always a great experience and I am excited to go back again next summer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimmyh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don123, Owner at Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for the review. When I have people return year after year then I know that I'm doing something right . Hope to see you again.
Regards,
Donelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    17
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

While we are 'birders' that is not a requirement for enjoying this experience. Every one with an appreciation of wildlife would enjoyed it. We saw all the birds that we had hoped to see, up close and more. Bring your camera for close-ups of the eagles. Seals, razorbacks, murre, puffins of course, kittiwakes.
The hosts are hard-working lobster fisherman, but also very knowledgeable about the bird life.
Great opportunity to support a family run business.
Don't let the little ticket shack or the roadside parking dissuade you from a trip highlight.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don123, Owner at Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you enjoyed all the wildlife. The ticket booth that I rent from one of the fishermen is small but it does the job .
Regards,
Donelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reviews sounded great - experience was even better”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Everything about this tour was fantastic. Having Donalda as the tour guide is itself worth the experience. She is incredibly knowledgeable and approachable. We learned so much about so many different kinds of ocean birds, and while puffins are the focus, bald eagles made themselves part of the adventure, and Donalda and her husband welcomed them to join us. When we saw an eagle overhead on the way to or from the puffins, Donalda tossed a fish overboard. She taught us to "watch the fish", and we had the most amazing experiences of close up viewing of bald eagles. The trip was the right length, but I wouldn't hesitate to go again, and soon. The boat was comfortable and spacious, the safety features were terrific, but not intrusive. It was wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don123, Owner at Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your time with us . We do enjoy sharing the experience with so many wonderful people. We're so glad that you appreciate the length of the tour as well as the way the boat is laid out with the large windows that open to allow glass free viewing and picture taking.
Regards,
Donelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Great morning adventure”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Brilliant 3 hours. A truly memorable occasion. Donelda shared her knowledge of the different bird species and also informed us of life as a lobster farmer. The feeding of the eagles was something I will never forget and to see so many puffins and seals was a thrill

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don123, Owner at Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. The Bald Eagles are truly amazing and I'm happy that you enjoyed seeing them as well as the other birds and seals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario, canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Eagles Everywhere!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

As the poster said below, the Eagles stole the show. The puffins were so sweet and so small and we enjoyed watching them bobbing around in the water. Loved watching all of the birds and the seals but really it was the Eagles that made the trip for us. Donelda is very lovely and her husband, the captain, is very hospitable. You can't go wrong with their tour. I took two teenage girls with me who enjoyed it thoroughly. I would not hesitate to come back with younger or older kids. Bring a good camera and a jacket.

Helpful?
1 Thank chrsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don123, Owner at Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for including our tour in your vacation. I'm so happy that it gave you some special memories. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.
Donelda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours also viewed

Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
Big Bras d'Or, Cape Breton Island
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Donelda's Puffin Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing