We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Captain Caper's Fish & Chips
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just ate there after taking a puffin/eagle/seal watching tour and the food was delicious. The owner, who was extremely friendly ran through the whole menu with great detail for us. We decided on the fish and chips, obviously. He told us about his process for aging the potatoes, the fish was very fresh, battered right in front of us and he threw in a couple of pieces for himself (so you know it must be good), he topped it wish fresh sea salt that he said he made himself and finished it off with a curry infused tarter sauce which I thought was great but my girlfriend didn't care for too much. For the $14 cost of a 2pc fish&chips I thought the portions were a bit small but let me tell you it's all about quality not quantity! We ended up both leaving full and satisfied so it was very well worth it. It wasn't just the food though, the eclectic collection of lobster traps, wooden stump seating, hand painted rocks (perfect for weighing down my napkin's in the wind ) and the pleasant conversation with the owner, all added to this wonderful, small town chip truck experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific place!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We saw this place right after we finished a boat tour with Donelda (an amazing experience), and had a memorable dinner here. The fish and chips were delicious, especially with a spray of malt vinegar and homemade tartar sauce. It's run by Mo, who is so friendly, charming, and funny, and we would love to go back for another wonderful dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JES97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with a welcome surprise!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We happened upon Captain Capers Fish & Chips completely by surprise on our way to Donelda's Puffin Tours, which we thought was amazing, in Englishtown, Nova Scotia. It definitely exceeded our expectations, with fresh ingredients, homemade condiments, and great service. One person in our party was gluten-free, and Captain Capers was exceptionally helpful and accommodating. We got the fish and chips which were outstanding! The homemade tartar sauce is a must add! It was a great stop, which we are glad that we took!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 4AZ-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best fish and chips”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

You should try this place the fish and chips is really good and Moe is the best guy on island!!!
We just finished the Cabot Trail which it was an amazing driving scenery,we got really hungry and there it was Captain Capers Fish&Chips and Moe the guy that owns it served us like we were his family. You really need to stop by and try it ... You will receive a very funny and most original flyer with Captain Capers's naked legs :)))

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish, Fun & Friendly”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Before you drive on to the Englishtown Cable Ferry, grab a bite to eat at Captain Capers take out. The red painted tables and tree stump chairs add a festive feel to this delicious fresh fish restaurant. The chef and owner, Mo, creates his own secret batter that makes his fried fish and seafood hard to beat. When he asks you if you want his special tarter sauce, kissed with a touch of curry, be sure to say. "Yes!" You can spray on your own malt vinegar and have Mo throw a handful of sea salt on top of your order to round out the flavours of the food at this " must do" Cabot Trail eating experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CBYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Caper's Fish & Chips also viewed

North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
Pleasant Bay, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Captain Caper's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing