We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MacNeil's Motel(North Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kow's Inn(Little Bras d'Or)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clansman Motel(North Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel North(North Sydney)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
360
136
46
32
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
360
136
46
32
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgehot tubcape bretonwood stoveunique experienceindian brookpuffin tournova scotiathanksgiving weekendfull moonwilderness resortbald eaglesnatural beautycabot shorefire pitbeautiful locationmain room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
377 - 382 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you're looking for Club Med in Nova Scotia, you're looking at the wrong place. If you're looking for a lovely, laid-back setting for seasoned travelers, you've got the right place.

The main lodge is a fine place to dine and relax with fascinating people, including Paul and Barbara, the owners, while your chalet, yurt, tepee, or campsite give you privacy when needed. Wandering about on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean and the Indian River provide a serene respite, as well.

Our yurt was a delightful break from more pedestrian accommodations. The yurt was made in Mongolia using traditional materials and methods. The sound of the rain on the roof, the cocoon-like softness, and the traditional decoration evoked a palpable sense of comfort and security.

We fired up the Japanese cedar tub near the yurt and had a fine hot soak before dinner. The view from the tub and from the yurt is to the Atlantic, and the sound of waves breaking on the cobble beach added to the ambiance.

The place is also a nexus for local musicians, and Paul can provide some Celtic trombone licks that you may not hear elsewhere in Atlantic Canada. He also plays a mean blues harp. If you're lucky, some of the locals will be gathered for a jam in the main lodge.

Cabot Shores is unique enough to defy ratings based on the standard star system. It's fun, it's accommodating, it's relaxed, and it's memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejw_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Cabot Shore is a lovely property with charm, quirkiness and an amazing view. We stayed in the blue yurt which was clean, cute and cozy. It had a comfy bed , nice pine floors and a deck with a fire pit and an amazing view. The main lodge is the way you picture a lodge. Lots of wood and windows and a big stone area with a wood stove. Our meal was very good and breakfast was nice as well. The feel of the place was rustic but the grounds could use a little work just to take it up a notch or two. Barbara was a very nice hostess and her chick pea curry is fantastic. I appreciate the effort in accommodating my special request.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Called the hotel from the road and was told that a room was available at C$149 per night. Arrived and was told we were being put into a C$169/night room. When I protested, we were told we could have a "free" breakfast the next day. We should have moved on but it was getting late. The room was sparse with few amenities. Not what we had experienced for $149 elsewhere in Cape Breton and breakfast was minimal. Cabot Shores also offers "dinner" in its bistro. This too was an overpriced meal.

Cannot believe that this rates 4 stars. It certainly is not value for money. Unless you are dying to stay in a yurt, I would avoid this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Owner at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

We're sad you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Making our guests happy is our priority, and if we failed, we apologize! We usually work with any concern a guest may have - as long as we know about it. We're sorry we didn't get a chance to with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our first visit to the Maritime provinces, and after careful investigation felt that Cape Breton was where we wanted to spend the most time as it fulfilled what we normally look for in a vacation, outdoor activity with great scenery and some interesting history as well. We are so glad we chose to stay at this resort - our host Dr. Paul could not have been more accommodating and helpful, giving us plenty of background information on the area, steering us to good hiking areas along the Cabot Trail (particularly challenging as I was recovering from a broken ankle, but he sent us to one that was just perfect!), and arranging for some excellent meals there during our stay. The resort is located right on the Cabot Trail, so made an ideal base location for our day trips. We stayed in a lodge room, quite comfortable, and enjoyed the main lodge for meals/conversation with our host and other guests. Organic vegetables from their garden were featured in all of our meals, which we enjoyed immensely, especially our last dinner of fresh halibut and our omelets on the morning of our departure made for us by Dr. Paul with fresh greens and herbs. We wish we could have stayed longer and done more water sports as it was rainy a lot of our time there, but that did not dampen our enthusiasm for this great spot or our desire to make a return visit.

Room Tip: All of the lodge rooms looked fairly similar, very comfortable with spacious bathrooms, the room we were in, room 2, felt just a bit cramped as far as room to set down and open suitcases, etc. But a very minor inconvenience.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I first found Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort online (www.cabotshores.com), and immediately fell in love with the place! Offering broad range of accommodation options including camping, yurts, a tipi, rooms in the main lodge, and even private chalets, Cabot Shores has something for every taste and budget!

Upon arrival at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, we were greeted by the friendly host, Dr. Paul. He proceeded to give us a tour of the property and told us about all of the different types of adventures that we could embark upon during our stay at Cabot Shores.

We unpacked into the authentic Mongolian yurt - it was beautiful! From the intricate paintings on the inside and out, to the precise craftsmanship and the decor inside, this was truly a unique experience. See pictures attached! Exploring the property, we meandered through the beautiful apple orchard, and took the small ferry across to the ocean beach to watch the sunset.

The next morning, we participated in a Qi Gong session -- a perfect way to start the day. Although time did not allow on this particular occasion, I look forward to taking advantage of other healing arts provided by Cabot Shores, such as meditation, massage and acupressure, acupuncture, infrared sauna and the ofuro soaking tub.

We proceeded to take advantage of the hiking and kayaking activities available to us (see photos!). Our adventures were fueled by the deliciously fresh and healthy selection of food at the Cabot Shores bistro. Most of the food is local, serving original recipes - and they offer a great vegetarian and vegan menu! Cabot Shores is also very involved in the local music and culture scene, with a full stage located inside the main lodge. You may very well be serenaded by local talent as you dine on delicious cuisine.

PS - Cabot Shores is also going green: organic gardening, off-grid energy, recycle, compost! http://www.cabotshores.com/sustainability :)

Room Tip: Offering broad range of accommodation options including camping, yurts, a tipi, rooms in the main lodge, and even private chalets, Cabot Shores has something for every taste and budget!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritneyElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews