We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally spoilt!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Totally spoilt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We felt like royalty staying here. The food was just awesome, all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and our rooms were immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, and there were special touches like the pillows were arranged a different way each night (well, I'm a girl and I appreciate those type of things). The whole setting of the Lodge overlooking the bush, with it's enormous deck where we gathered and met some wonderful guests, was the perfect place to imagine what wonders we would encounter when our expert guides took us into Kruger.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    66
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
88
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 and loved it. The lodge is beautiful, rooms are very well presented. The rooms were cleaned every day and every night when we returned from the fire pit our beds were turned down with a goodnight chocolate on our pillows.

The staff were incredible! They spent time with the guests and provided an excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble at all.

We also did the safari and we were very fortunate to see lions and leopards. I know with safaris it is literally pot luck so we felt very blessed.

The food was amazing. We had so much choice and again they would make anything for you. We particularly enjoyed the braai night when Doctor cooked the steak on the hot coals. He certainly changed my mind on how I like steak! The cocktails were also fantastic!!

We will definitely be going back again. It is a top notch lodge with top notch service and deserves full marks! Thank you for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

It's really a wonderful place to stay and relax. The service and friendliness from the staff exceeds all expectations. You also won't beat the food, especially the braai buffet, top class. Look nowhere else for your stay around here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harpsydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights with a friend at Grand Kruger Lodge and really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the nice and friendly staff. The garden is really beautiful and they have a lovely pool as well. The best part is when they lit a fire every night and you can sit and have a cocktail around the fire while talking to the other guests about your day of safari. Grand Kruger Lodge is very convenient located just 20 minutes drive from Kruger NP - but there are also lots of animals to be seen in Marloth Park where Grand Kruger Lodge is placed. The room was quite small but very clean and they do everything they can to make you try and feel at home. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ZigZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We love to go to Grand Kruger Lodge. The location is awesome, a beautiful garden with a nice pool to relax.. Friendly Staff and good food, the service is great and child friendly. The rooms are comfortable and cozy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fufenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Small hotel located only 10 kms from Crocodile Gate entrance to Kruger National Park in Marloth Park. The garden and pool were lovely, as was taking meals on the deck, particularly in the evenings with the fire burning. The Lodge had a very homely feel, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We arranged 2 game drives with the Lodge, one in Kruger Park and one in Marloth Park and fully enjoyed both. Our room was quite small, but overlooked the deck and garden, which made up for it. And the internet access was quite expensive (we wanted to load photo’s) but all in all we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

What an experience. From the Owner downwards the friendliness and comfort was second to none. Superb Lodges, excellent food and service combined with a Safari setting with marvellous Game Drives. We will return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
0.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Property: Grand Kruger Lodge
Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park
Grand Kruger Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing