We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just can't get enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just can't get enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

It's taken a while but it's worth the review! My wife and I traveled to sa in January 2013, we started our tour of sa with my wife's parents at the GKL and wow what a start! They never fail to impress! It's Chloe's and my second time but first time Chloe's parents got to experience the South African bush! We were treated like royals from the second we arrived through our entire stay! The safari trips were priceless and the guide was great, 28 years of guiding experience! The food was great and accomidation faultless! We will be returning!! Thanks for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Make sure you do h 8 hour games drives! 4 days and 3 nights or longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    68
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
89
88
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Close to Kruger. We were visited by warthogs and impalas in our garden which was wonderful. Hotel very accommodating in terms of ensuring halal option being made available for us. Would be useful to have had phones in the lodges to communicate with main reception

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tariq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Leon and his staff have done an amazing job with this place! Our chalet was beautiful and very comfortable and well maintained. The food was unbelievable, especially the dinners prepared outdoors. We especially loved sitting around the fire pit on the deck with other residents having refreshments and talking. A very peaceful and beautiful place.
I highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We felt like royalty staying here. The food was just awesome, all the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and our rooms were immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, and there were special touches like the pillows were arranged a different way each night (well, I'm a girl and I appreciate those type of things). The whole setting of the Lodge overlooking the bush, with it's enormous deck where we gathered and met some wonderful guests, was the perfect place to imagine what wonders we would encounter when our expert guides took us into Kruger.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 and loved it. The lodge is beautiful, rooms are very well presented. The rooms were cleaned every day and every night when we returned from the fire pit our beds were turned down with a goodnight chocolate on our pillows.

The staff were incredible! They spent time with the guests and provided an excellent service. Nothing was too much trouble at all.

We also did the safari and we were very fortunate to see lions and leopards. I know with safaris it is literally pot luck so we felt very blessed.

The food was amazing. We had so much choice and again they would make anything for you. We particularly enjoyed the braai night when Doctor cooked the steak on the hot coals. He certainly changed my mind on how I like steak! The cocktails were also fantastic!!

We will definitely be going back again. It is a top notch lodge with top notch service and deserves full marks! Thank you for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

It's really a wonderful place to stay and relax. The service and friendliness from the staff exceeds all expectations. You also won't beat the food, especially the braai buffet, top class. Look nowhere else for your stay around here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harpsydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights with a friend at Grand Kruger Lodge and really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the nice and friendly staff. The garden is really beautiful and they have a lovely pool as well. The best part is when they lit a fire every night and you can sit and have a cocktail around the fire while talking to the other guests about your day of safari. Grand Kruger Lodge is very convenient located just 20 minutes drive from Kruger NP - but there are also lots of animals to be seen in Marloth Park where Grand Kruger Lodge is placed. The room was quite small but very clean and they do everything they can to make you try and feel at home. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ZigZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
0.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phumula Kruger Lodge
Phumula Kruger Lodge
#8 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Property: Grand Kruger Lodge
Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park
Grand Kruger Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing