We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch!!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic 3 night stay, awesome top notch food and excellent service. Mr Doctor went all the way to make our stay as homely as possible. No flaws & even when there were hardly any guests outdoors at night on weekday, the bonfire was always lit!! Recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Marloth Park. Will definetely go back! Keep it up!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hedotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Good day

Thank-you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We very much enjoy reading your positive feedback, and we are happy you enjoyed your safari holiday with us.

We also appreciate your helpful tips and are sure that other travelers will find this insightful as well.

Hoping we will be able to welcome you back for another stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards
Grand Kruger Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    67
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
89
86
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed as a party of 5 adults and three children in two bush chalets which were very satisfactory though not perfectly maintained - in one the heater was not working (and it was cold when we arrived in early June) and the door in the other would not close without locking which, despite efforts, was not fixed before we left. Apart from that we were very pleased with the friendly staff and the quality of the early morning game drives in the Park. Meals were very good but allow time for service.
One cavil was that there was considerable noise from people and maintenance activities in the afternoon when those who had been on the dawn drives would normally expect to take a rest.
On reviewing our bill after leaving,we found that we had been overcharged Rand 730 for one person on a morning drive. Despite five emails between June 19 and July 18 asking for a refund
nothing has been received at the time of writing - August 1st.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Tish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Good day

Thank-you for your comments during your stay here with us.

We value comments from our clients, thus helping us to improve our service.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding the maintenance issues you had encountered. We assure you that this is not the standard of Grand Kruger Lodge.

We shall also investigate the overcharge for the morning drive and revert back to you as soon as we can.

We also appreciate your helpful comments and tips and are sure that other travelers will find this insightful as well.

Hoping we will be able to welcome you back for another stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards
Grand Kruger Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Staff friendly apart from one waiter, unfriendly, coughing and sniffing while serving, sorry but unacceptable!
Some dishes were excellent while others were below standard for star rating!
Lodge nice but lack of storage space, sewerage smell from septic tank, not pleasant ( lodge 4 )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Good day

Thank-you for your comments during your stay.

We value comments from our clients, thus helping us to improve our service.

Regarding your comments during your stay.

It is a pity that you did not report the problem of the odour in the vicinity of your chalet. It would have made it easier for us if you had reported the matter so that we could sort it out whilst on your stay with us.

Regarding the unprofessional behaviour of the staff member in question. The matter was thoroughly investigated, and it has been found that the staff member in question did not act unprofessional, but patiently.

I hope that this clarifies the matter. Should you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact or email us.

Grand Kruger Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

4 nights and 3 full days were a genuinely great experience, including 2 days of safari.

Lenkford and France were excellent guides - many thanks. Viewing 40+ animal species including the big five and a leopard hunt was simply amazing.

Meals were outstanding and all the Kruger staff were flexible accommodating the 12 of us. Doctor runs a tight ship.

We did the panorama tour. It's great country to view but as a day trip a little bit of stretch when the next day is a 0530 start. Would suggest other travelers stay closer to eg Sabie, to get the chance to spend quality time in that area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Experience Seekers,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We very much enjoy reading your positive feedback, and we are happy that you enjoyed your safari holiday with us!

We also appreciate your helpful tips and are sure that other travelers will find this insightful as well.

Hoping we will be able to welcome you back for another stay with us in the future!

Kindest regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trani, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I spent several days at the Grand Kruger Lodge in late May and took ourselves on a self-drive Safari in Kruger National Park. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lodge and were very pleased with it's proximity to the Crocodile Bridge Gate of KNP. Unfortunately, we had a very short stay so we did not book any extras, but the room was comfortable and clean and I loved the African décor. Because we woke up very early every morning to maximize time inside the park, the staff prepared us a to-go breakfast that was big enough we actually ended up munching on it for lunch too! When we returned from our long days driving through KNP, a campfire was set up for us and dinner was made to order. We really enjoyed the food and the company of the staff, everyone was so kind. My favorite meal was the Kudu stew!! We are so happy we choose Grand Kruger Lodge for our safari accommodations and if we are ever lucky enough to go again, we will definitely stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jessie,

Thank you for your wonderful and inspiring review of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge!

It is always a thrill to receive such positive feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your visit so much.

It is definitely a must to have a taste of the local food of the country you are in, and Kudu is a delicious option which we are happy you enjoyed.

We do indeed hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another safari holiday at Grand Kruger Lodge in the future, and next time a longer stay! :)

Kindest regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here with 2 other families. Each family had their own bush cabin. Highly recommend the facilities, tours (dawn safari, panaromic and dusk safari) and the dining facilities. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. We would come back again just to see the staff. Great stay. the kids even tried the pool. thank you for the birthday cake!

Room Tip: bush cabin 8 very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenofHaberfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Helenof,

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We love to receive positive feedback, and the staff all aim to ensure that our guests have a wonderful holiday in the bush!

It was a pleasure to be a part of the birthday celebrations and we are happy that the children were able to enjoy the swimming pool despite it being winter here in the bush. :)

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you and your family for a return visit one day!

Kindest regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights from 16:06 to 19/06/2014 in Grand Kruger Lodge, we can always know about!
We have Chalet No.3 had, very nice rooms, very clean and very private.
That food was very good and staff very friendly in Special Rose (Piri Piri in salad) :-)
Spa is also very good and very professionally!!

We want to go next year for two weeks and look forward to this Magnificent Lodge.

Greetings from Switzerland
Alicia & Michel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Front Office Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Alicia & Michel,

Thank you for your delightful review of your stay at Grand Kruger Lodge.

It was a pleasure to host your for your holiday in the bush, and we appreciate the positive feedback on the accommodation and the SPA.

We pride ourselves that the staff at the Lodge always aim to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable holiday and know that they take pleasure of our guest's excitement and appreciation.

We look forward to seeing you next year for another stay with the Grand Kruger family! :)

Kindest regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marloth Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 31 in Marloth Park
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
392 reviews
3.0 mi away
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge
#13 of 31 in Marloth Park
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Property: Grand Kruger Lodge
Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park
Grand Kruger Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing