We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari experience of a Lifetime!”
Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just a short 10 mins drive away from the main gate of Kruger National Park, this property is absolutely fabulous! A dream come true. Very comfortable 5 star lodging with excellent food and service. Owners of the property are always around meeting guests which is fantastic. Wildlife (not the threatening kind) is always roaming around on the property itself. All the tours into Kruger are professionally carried out in total comfort.

Room Tip: Book one of the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShujaHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, General Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Good Day

Thank-you for your lovely review. We very much enjoy receiving positive feedback from our guests and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We always want to ensure that our guests have a memorable safari holiday with the Grand Kruger Lodge Team. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit.

Kindest Regards
Grand Kruger Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just by the fact that before arriving to the lodge you have already entered in Marloth Park, and few meters far from the lodge we saw already two beautiful giraffes, says a lot about the fantastic location we were in.
After check in and being arrived a bit late, we went for a self - drive visit to the Marloth park, back on time for good dinner with variety of salads, main dishes and dessert. The day after early wake up for a full day drive that was good except that our driver / guide looked in a hurry, but in any case we had the chance to see the big five and many other animals. Lunch with not too many options but all dishes well prepared and tasty. Back for the sunset safari and again good variety of dinner options and good wine selection.
Staff really friendly, bush chalets nice, clean and really favoring a good night rest
For sure we will go back to Grand Kruger lodge for our next Kruger visit

Room Tip: Go for any of the bush chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AbelardoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, General Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Good day

Thank-you for your lovely review of Grand Kruger Lodge. We very much enjoy receiving positive feedback from our guests and are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We always want to ensure that our guests have a memorable safari holiday with the Grand Kruger Lodge Team.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit.

Kindest Regards
Grand Kruger Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me & Gerald had the most awesome weekend there - Leon and all the staff treated us like royalty, the chalet is beautiful and the food was marvelous - it was perfect! If you want to experience the bush in a 5 star lodge with royal treatment this is absolutely the place to go

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Good Afternoon Daniene & Gerald,

Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback after your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge!

We always appreciate our guests views of their stay and are delighted when they leave our establishment with good memories and knowing that they have enjoyed their holiday in the bush.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another visit to Grand Kruger Lodge in the future! :)

Have a wonderful day.

Kindest regards,

Anneke

Grand Kruger Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our family truly enjoyed our stay at Grand Kruger Lodge. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting by the fire pit on the deck overlooking the brush. The buffet dinner and breakfast had a delicious variety to suit the pickiest of eaters. I even got pampered in the spa salon after a long day on safari. Most of all the price was within our budget.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Good Afternoon Shuja,

Thank you for your lovely feedback of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We very much appreciate receiving positive feedback form our guests and we derive great pleasure when our guests have enjoyed their holiday at the Lodge!

Experiencing the ambiance of the bush surrounding the Lodge and boma area while enjoying the fire is definitely a memorable occasion as well as being enthralled by the magnificence of the African Night sky!

A massage in our SPA is a wonderful way to end off a great day of spotting animals in the Kruger Park. We are delighted that you enjoyed this experience.

Thank you for your wonderful review and we do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Lodge again in the future! :)

Kindest regards,

Anneke

Grand Kruger Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We needed a place to stop just outside Kruger Park so we could get an early start. We didn't want just anything, but we wanted to keep the whole "safari" experience alive with anything we did or places we stayed. This place fits the bill.

After trasfering our bags to our rooms (upstairs), we went out onto the back deck for dinner. WOW!!! They set up chairs for our whole group of 12 from the USA around a large fire so we could talk and enjoy the outside air. The chef then demonstarted a unique way of grilling right in the coals of the fire. After 30 minutes, they took us to our table where they served a fabulous meal, outside under the stars, to the sounds of the bush. I'm not sure it can get any better than that.

Anneke is the person who had been communicating to me over the months before our group came. She was always very gracious and detailed in her answers, often adding interesting thoughts, like what animals had been seen that day.

We needed to get an early start, so they packed a picnic breakfast for us. It was ready by the time of our departure, so we greatly appreciated that.

What we liked:
1. The atmosphere is very safari-like - exactly what we wanted.
2. Ther dinner experience was amazing!
3. The communication prior to arrival was always complete and accurate.
4. The rooms also reflected the safari look, with thatched roofs, decorations, etc.

What we didn't like:
1. Two of our rooms had no hot water at all that night or in the morning. In the evening, they had gone to report the issue, but didn't find anyone in management, so they reported the problem to another employee who got hold of some folks from the maintenance department. They worked on the problem for 45 minutes, but it went unresolved. The next morning, none of the rooms had hot water. Again, because it was very early, it was only reported to whoever seemecd in charge or at least available at that time. We never found out a reason why this happened, and after communication since we were there, we still don't know! Having said that, however, I'm sure this was a freak thing, because a hotel like this can't survive too long if issues like this keep happeneing. so, to their credit, I'm sure it has now been resolved.
2. Like most lodges, the lighting seems to be normally dim, reflecting a mood that is very relaxing. However, beware the lobby area in this place. There is light, of course, but it's dim. Two of our people missed steps that are in this area and fell. They are not as clearly marked a they could be.
3. Several times, some of our folks went to ask a question at the front desk, but nobody was there. Perhaps just a coincidence.
4. Several people found it difficult to figure out the fan AC system. They were trying to get some heat in the room apparently. For our part personally, we had no problem with it. The AC unit is operated with a remote, but there is a "hidden" compartment on the remote that you have to open to see all the controls. These folks apparently didn't see this compartment.

All-in-all, a fabulous place! With some slight modifications, it would be perfect! Wonderful, friendly staff, and a great overnight "safari" experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We always appreciate a guest's review after their stay, whether the feedback is positive or helpful for the improvement of our services.

We have taken your comments into consideration and are taking the correct steps in order to ensure that this does not occur again in the future as well as improving the overall service provided by the Grand Kruger Lodge Team.

With regards to the dim lighting you have made mention of, we are investigating this matter and will aim to make improvements where required to avoid future recurrences as well as ensuring the safety of our guests. We have to date not received any complaints regarding the lighting in this area, however, we do appreciate your bringing this to our attention as a possible area due for improvement.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused with the water and the circumstances at the time. We have rectified the problem accordingly after your departure from the Lodge.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Boma Braai during the evening and relaxing around the fire. It definitely is a memorable occasion and an experience to be enjoyed by all. The chef does have a few tricks up his sleeve and delights in entertaining the guests with his skills.

We always appreciate to hear that the service received in the the build-up to a guests stay was prompt and efficient. Thank you for your positive feedback and lovely comments.

We take pride in having a good team of staff at our Establishment, who go out of their way to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your support and wonderful feedback.

We do hope that we will one day have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another visit!

Kindest regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic 3 night stay, awesome top notch food and excellent service. Mr Doctor went all the way to make our stay as homely as possible. No flaws & even when there were hardly any guests outdoors at night on weekday, the bonfire was always lit!! Recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Marloth Park. Will definetely go back! Keep it up!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hedotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Good day

Thank-you for your lovely review of your stay with us at Grand Kruger Lodge.

We very much enjoy reading your positive feedback, and we are happy you enjoyed your safari holiday with us.

We also appreciate your helpful tips and are sure that other travelers will find this insightful as well.

Hoping we will be able to welcome you back for another stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards
Grand Kruger Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed as a party of 5 adults and three children in two bush chalets which were very satisfactory though not perfectly maintained - in one the heater was not working (and it was cold when we arrived in early June) and the door in the other would not close without locking which, despite efforts, was not fixed before we left. Apart from that we were very pleased with the friendly staff and the quality of the early morning game drives in the Park. Meals were very good but allow time for service.
One cavil was that there was considerable noise from people and maintenance activities in the afternoon when those who had been on the dawn drives would normally expect to take a rest.
On reviewing our bill after leaving,we found that we had been overcharged Rand 730 for one person on a morning drive. Despite five emails between June 19 and July 18 asking for a refund
nothing has been received at the time of writing - August 1st.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John and Tish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Good day

Thank-you for your comments during your stay here with us.

We value comments from our clients, thus helping us to improve our service.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding the maintenance issues you had encountered. We assure you that this is not the standard of Grand Kruger Lodge.

We shall also investigate the overcharge for the morning drive and revert back to you as soon as we can.

We also appreciate your helpful comments and tips and are sure that other travelers will find this insightful as well.

Hoping we will be able to welcome you back for another stay with us in the future.

Kindest regards
Grand Kruger Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
17.7 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 37 in Marloth Park
336 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#4 of 37 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 37 in Marloth Park
256 reviews
3.4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 37 in Marloth Park
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: £107 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park
Grand Kruger Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing