We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful lodge with the most amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
The large deck overlooking Crocodile river and Kruger Park. The best view in the whole park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Relax on our deck and watch the animals of Kruger Park come down to the river. Best view in Marloth
The large deck overlooking Crocodile river and Kruger Park. The best view in the whole park
Spend the day relaxing while still game viewing. Others must drive for a look at Kruger. You don't
Probably the best breakfast bar in the world
The fold away doors from the living area open out to the great deck. Guests have seen Big 5 here
Living room
Twin bedroom
Living area downstairs leading to a fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen with everything you need.
Downstairs shower
The house in full. This is all your to rent. No sharing.
The house at night. So close to the river you hear all the great African sounds of the night.
Expect regular visitors in the garden.
You will see plenty of visitors in the garden to give you a real safari bush experience
The splash pool to cool down during the hot day
With its position, not only overlooking Kruger but in line for magnificant sunset every night
The house in the African bush
The view from the deck over Kruger Park. One of the best views in Africa.
The house surrounded by the African bush
Double bedroom.
Live like a South African and enjoy barbques at night
Sunset from the deck. An amazing experience
Every morning, grab a coffee and have a look to see whats at the river
More visitors in thew garden
More of the view from the house
Spotted from the deck regu
The garage in the park. Shops too not you are not too isolated.
You will get very close to the game. Closer than in most parks
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 1
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 2
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April - Part 3
Lion hunt photographed from the deck April 2012 - Part 4
Lion hunt photographed from deck April 2012 - Part 5
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
nielsen48...
Denmark, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful balcony with a wonderful wiew”
Reviewed 5 March 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My first thought,I will not stay here for 6 weeks,the security sign,the garbage box and the road to the house was almost cowered with high grass.The house inside was wery bad,Mike made light in the kitchen :) there was too bad light opstairs,there was olmost open between the bathrooms and olso between the bedrooms,we had some friends wisit us14 days, no private life. The photo inside and outside must be old,it did not look so to day. We miss a security light when the electricity disappear.
We have been in Africa several time and olso in Marloth Park !!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: the house inside
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2012
Thank you for your feedback and rest assured we will take everything on board however I would like to address a few issues as there are somethings outside my control and I cannot change.
1. The garbage cage outside is a special baboon proof system and the only one suitable for life in the African bush. It is used by all lodges in the park.
2. Although Marloth Park is statistically one of the safest places in South Africa we still offer 24 hour onsite security. Part of that contract is to have a small 1 foot x 1 foot sign to show this.
3. The house is in a nature conservancy and long grass is what feeds the animals in the park. Therefore it goes against the guidelines of the park to cut or manicure it. It is clear around the house for movement of people however the house sits on circa an acre and I cannot remove what feeds the animals in the park for cosmetic reasons. You are in the African bush and it is native flora.
4. You made a remark to Mike, the manager about the light in the kitchen. He addressed it by getting an electrician into the park to replace the standard bulb with a fluorescent one to make your stay more enjoyable but he said you never made any remarks about upstairs. Also houses in Africa tend to be fairly dark and not open to direct sunlight to avoid the African sun heating the house too much.
5. While you were there there was an unusual amount of rain that caused a small flood in a power station outside of the park. This caused a disruption to the electricity (which itself is part of African living) to the entire park. Mike, the manager said he called in to you, supplied you with candles and alternative lighting and said claims you said you were fine and had no complaints. I am not sure what you mean by security lighting but you did have alternative lighting, the alarm was still functual on a battery backup and you were fine when speaking to Mike when he called in to you.

I'm sorry that you had one or two issues with the house although they may relate to actual African bush living. If there was any issues with the house itself, if you had of spoken to Mike he would have addressed it immediately as with the kitchen lighting. He was quite surprised at your feedback as he said you never had other issues with the house and were even inviting him around for drinks in the evenings. We do get a lot of overseas repeat customers and if you were ever to consider visiting again I could offer you a discount on your stay.
Regards,

Derrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
Reviewed 10 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: splash pool/privacy
Liked least: does not apply
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorset UK
Reviewed 28 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to that view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shetjan
Oyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fabulous views, so relaxing no need to leave. wish we stayed longer.”
Reviewed 6 July 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in march 2011, my wife and i. The property is in a great location in a country housing development of several hundred properties on the marloth estate. the drive from joburg is very easy, about 4-5 hours in a hire car, Budget were the cheapest.and teh roads are very good and mostly almost empty.

The house is nicely fitted out, nothing fancy but clean and useable, although a new oven would probably not go amiss as i think the thermosat has had it and it got very very hot even on a low setting, however with the braii pit and local eateries we only used it once.
There is a restaurant in the local town which was okay, and a couple of shops etc for your normal supplies. there are several more eateries and bigger shops in the local towns of and which are both about 25 k from the house, so best to have a big shop on the way and then top up locally.

The property is just as you see it in the pictures, situated back from the river offering great views onto the hippo pool, the hippos are easy to spot when they come out of the river; usually its about 10am before they come for a graze and they stay out for several hours most days, often just one or two, or a mother and baby, so cute! The crocs pull out on the sandbacks in the middle of the river as well, and there are a pair of fish eagles on the far bank. We also saw water buck and impala on the far bank but no signs of cats or elephants, although i think that was just the week we stayed as others have seen them from the balcony.

we went into kruger three times for the day, its about 30 minutes to either of the south gates, and we saw loads of wildlife in the park; its worth getting up early and being there at first light when the gates open for the best viewing. Dont bother with any of the many safari operators offering trips, they just dump you at the gate and you go with the park rangers, whcih you can arrange yourself directly and much more cheaply. self driving in the park is a doddle and you will be suprised howmuch you see, its brilliant.

The adverts mention the local agent but we didnt see much of him, and he didnt think that the local park was really worth entering so we mostly travelled to Kruger for our expeditions, although when we drove ourselves around Marloth we saw plenty of wildlife without much effort.

The highlight of our time was just sitting on the balcony in the shade watching the world go by with a cold beer, just great and so relaxing, we wished we had taken two weeks as our second week in a luxury lodge elsewhere was overrated and overpriced!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollux2
Qu������bec
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tout étaient génial
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing