We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Royal Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I dont know where to begin with our recent trip to Royal Kruger. It was beyond our expectations, all the staff are amazing and go out of there way to ensure your stay is perfect and all your needs are met. Julia's food is sensational! Robert and Chase (the tour guides) have eyes of an eagle and can spot everything! Everyone is so warm and you feel like you know everyone for ages. We were lucky to be greeted by Zebra, Kudu, Baboons and Warthogs on all days whilst we were at the lodge and feed them as well. The rooms are serviced twice daily as well.

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend doing the Kruger Bush Walk as it is an experience of a life time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. It was our pleasure hosting you and hope to see you back in these parts again in the not too distant future.

Do get all your friends to look us up on Trip Advisor and see the specials on offer or, they can email me direct.

Don't leave it too long before your next visit.

All the best from me and all the team.

Vic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    42
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
144
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Wonderful and knowledgable staff who treat you like family. Robert and Rick will lead you on game drives to see not only the Big 5 but animals you've never seen or heard of. Jules and the beautiful girls will treat you daily with delectable food. And don't forget to have a relaxing massage in your room from Megan. Perfect ending to a Magical day riding through Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Great to hear you had a good time and thanks for the review. Please let all your friends know and hopefully we will see you again.

Drop me an email sometime and keep well.

Vic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medowie, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

One of my most memorable African experiences was my stay at Royal Kruger Lodge. Vic & Julie (the owner and the head of the household staff) were like long lost relatives - their hospitality and warmth amazing.

Game drives and our guide who founds us the Big 5, Zebras virtually in the kitchen, warthogs in the back garden and baboons who tried to steal food if they could!!

Would love to do it again - dinner under the stars and beautiful memories. Vic, you are a fabulous host, just keep doing what you and those with you do best. Loved it all

Susann Sinclair

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
It was great meeting you and so glad you had a great time. Hope you enjoyed the private safari also.

Do ask you colleagues to view is on Trip Advisor and see the specials on offer or email me direct.

Drop me an email and I will send on the video of the singing and dancing.

Keep well and hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Vic and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This was by far the best holiday I have had. It exceeded all my expectations. The Lodge was beautiful and to be able to relax outside while watching the zebras eating just 5 feet from you is an experience that I will never forget. The guides, Chase and Rick, were amazing and they made sure that the tours were wonderful. I even saw the big five three times! They had so much knowledge that they were able to share. The staff at the Lodge were beautiful people with such kind hearts and they make the place so warm and welcoming, especially Sean and Julia who always made sure I had everything I needed. I also had the pleasure of meeting Vic and Leanne who helped me tremendously in planning this holiday. I will definitely be going back and I was sad to leave. Thank you everyone!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review. It was so great to meet you and having you here at the Lodge. I do hope we get to see you again in the future.

Thanks again and keep well.

Vic and the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Fantastic lodge, amazing staff and a great host in Vic. The seven days I spent at the lodge along with the activities I did made that week one of the best week's of my life. Can't speak highly enough of this holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Staying at the Lodge was excellent we can not fault anything about it. Vic, Leanne the guides and the entire staff were so good we would have to say everything about our stay including the safari's the sundowners the meals and additional tours that could be organised were great, we can not fault the hospitality which was excellent. We have no hestations in reccommending the Royal Kruger Lodge to any fellow travellers and we met alot of very nice people and are keeping in contact with people we met at the lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a wonderful holiday in South Africa. The Royal Kruger Lodge was a highlight and like a home away from home - the most friendly and helpful staff, Julie's home-cooked meals each day and the safaris you only dream about.
The atmosphere at the lodge was so relaxed where we were visited by the regular locals of zebras, warthogs, giraffes and baboons each evening. What an experience. Thank you to all the dedicated staff who were only too happy to help with anything at all. ( Vic, we're missing those shots before dinner.) We loved the idea of sitting with our guests in the outdoor setting and chatting about our day. Thank you Rob for your skilful guiding throughout the game drive - eyes like a hawk and we saw the Big 5 on the first day. Rick our driver/guide is such an experienced and knowledgeable staff member. I would highly recommend staying at The Royal Kruger Lodge not only for the value but for the true African experience. It was sad to leave the lodge, but we're coming back and with all our friends! Thanks again. - Sam & Marisa

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hi guys,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is guests like yourselves that make everything worthwhile and the whole team really appreciate it. Great to have shared a few wonderful day with you.

I hope everything went well on your the your overall trip to SA and that all your travels were safe.

Please tell all your friends about your trip and ask them to contact me direct or see Trip Advisor for specials.

Again, thank you so much and keep well.

All the best from me and the RKL Team.

Vic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
2.2 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
366 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
409 reviews
8.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 172 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kruger Lodge

Property: Royal Kruger Lodge
Address: 1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Kruger Lodge ensures guests relaxation, adventure and a oneness with nature. This 4-star, privately owned game lodge is renowned for its exceptional personal service and intimate atmosphere. Situated in the Mpumalanga Province in the Wild Frontier region, the Royal Kruger Lodge is just beyond the Crocodile River and borders the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Royal Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kruger Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing