We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG Kids Making A Difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
“OMG Kids Making A Difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at Royal Kruger Lodge as part of our 3-week visit to South Africa where our kids (founders of the nonprofit organization called One More Generation) were being accompanied by a LA based film crew shooting a documentary about the plight of rhinos. Vic and his entire team were absolutely amazing and helped assure everyones needs were attended to.

The goal of our trip was to document the efforts for youth around the world and how they were all trying to help raise awareness to the increase in poaching of rhinos. When Vic heard of our efforts he quickly sprang to action and offered every assistance possible to ensure our entire team was well taken care of. From the time we arrived, up until the day we reluctantly had to leave, Vic and his staff made all of us feel like family.

From first thing in the morning until all hours of the night, everyone at Royal Kruger Lodge was always available to help ensure our stay was perfect. From the amazing food to the fabulous entertainment and hospitality, everything was perfect. Vic not only ensured our entire team felt at home, he actually even got involved with our efforts to try and save rhinos.

We will definitely be returning to Royal Kruger Lodge and not just for the great accommodations and food, but also for the sincere friendship Vic and his team extended to us all. Impeccable service in South Africa can be as elusive as trying to spot the Big-5, but not when you stay at Royal Kruger Lodge.

Stay tuned to our website for more information regarding the documentary being produced about our two young founders and their efforts to save rhinos, you are sure to see Vic and his team as they were definitely one of our highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Zebra and rhino rooms and they afforded us the best opportunity to see wildlife pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
It was fantastic meeting you guys and an absolute privilege being a small part in the wonderful work you are doing internationally to bring the plight of the Rhinos to the attention of the world.

I just wish our own Government did a lot more than they are doing in the current war against the Rhino poachers......a war, sadly to say, we are losing at the moment. However, through your efforts and dedication and those of Rhino SA, hopefully we can reverse that situation and preserve the Rhinos for future generations to enjoy.

We are truly blessed to having organisations like yourselves fighting to protect endangered species and the enviroment as a whole.

I and all the team at RKL look forward to working with you. We look forward to seeing the documentary in the New Year and wish you every success for the future. Needless to say, we can't wait for your next visit.

Keep up the great work and God bless.

Vic and the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
138
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Lodge in September and had a brilliant time, Vic and his team were true professionals and nothing was too much trouble for them. The Service was exceptional the lodge was spotless and the food was delicious. The game drives were absolutely fantastic Robert was very knowledgeable and made the drives fun and exciting. We celebrated our Wedding Anniversary at the lodge and everyone went out of their way to make it a very special occasion for us and for that we are truly grateful. We will not forget this holiday in a hurry! We would like to thank Vic and his team for a truly memorable experience. We would recommend Royal Kruger Lodge to any one looking for a brilliant safari, great game drives and a friendly relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
So sorry for the delay in responding to your review. I actually did write a review but I saw the one for the OMG kids was posted against yours. Blame it on me being Irish.... ha ha.

Anyway so glad you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to make your anniversary and little something special. Please be sure to let your friends know about us and ask them to look for specials on Trip Advisor or to contact me direct.

Hopefully we will see you back in these parts again. In the meantime keep well and we will have the Champagne on ice for your next celebration.

All the very best,

Vic and the RKL Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trentham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We loved every minute of our stay. The game drives were phenomenal & Robert has eyes like an eagle. He saw animals that none of us would have seen without him.

Julia - absolutely beautiful lady & a fabulous chef. The care & consideration shown by both Julia & Emily was exceptional. The quality & servings of our meals was outstanding.

We met some wonderful new friends and totally enjoyed the entire experience. Vic, we are planning our next visit already. We can't wait to go back.

Colleen & Wylie

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Great meeting you guys and glad you are planning you trip back. Don't forget to look for specials on Trip Advisor and be sure to tell all your friends.

I am still trying to find the manufacturer of the doors for you and I wll let you know as soon as I have some news.

Thanks for the great review and keep well.

See you soon.

Vic & the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic 5 night stay with Vic and his team at Royal Kruger Lodge. You don't just go to the lodge for accommodation, you go to the lodge for an amazing experience. His team of safari and hotel staff were very professional and had the place running like clock work. The lodge is clean and comfortable, while the beer is always cold. I would recommend the Royal Kruger Lodge to anyway wanting a relaxing and fun vacation in a peaceful environment.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_W_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. Hope to see you back in the parts again. In the meantime please tell all your friends and look out for our specials on Trip Advisor.

Thanks again and keep well.

Vic and the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have travelled all over the world but i have NEVER experienced such service from my pick up at Nelspruit airport until my return.
Food and presentation excellent
Rooms superbly comfortable with wonderful amenities
The ambience overall fantastic.
Nothing is too much bother for any one of the staff and always with smiles!
The game drives with the incredibly knowledged guides were the icing on the many cakes having stayed 7 nights
I cannot list all the names of everybody so I just wish to say THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE and I will be back

Room Tip: All 10 rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review. I will be sure to let the team know. By the way we found your camera charger cable and will be sending that to you.

We look forward to your next visit and please tell your friends to look at our specials on Trip Advisor.

Many thanks again and keep well.

Vic and the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Royal Kruger Lodge provides such a warm, clean, friendly, welcoming and homely atmosphere. Our room was immaculate and the staff were helpful in every aspect. We would definitely stay here again and look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Vic & RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Astonished by the number of visiting animals. Yes
Impressed by the quality of the in house guides. Yes
Pleased by the quality of meals. Yes
Encouraged by the social interaction. Yes
Loved all the game drives and walks. Yes
Would recommend RKL to anyone seeking a great escape. Yes
Tim and Kathy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katheryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Many thanks for your kind feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope we see you and your friends at RKL again in the not too distant future.

All the very best and keep well.

Vic and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
2.2 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
8.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kruger Lodge

Property: Royal Kruger Lodge
Address: 1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Kruger Lodge ensures guests relaxation, adventure and a oneness with nature. This 4-star, privately owned game lodge is renowned for its exceptional personal service and intimate atmosphere. Situated in the Mpumalanga Province in the Wild Frontier region, the Royal Kruger Lodge is just beyond the Crocodile River and borders the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Royal Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kruger Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing