We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”
Review of Royal Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After a very friendly welcome, by both my Hosts Vic & Leanne, together with the zebras & wart hogs wandering through the yard, I was settled in to a beautiful room with en suite & then whisked off to sundowners on the river. I got to meet & chat with fellow guests, we all saw giraffes, hippos, crocs, zebra & enjoyed a magnificent sunset together. Great icebreaker for the rest of the week.The Lodge has top class service, lovely meals & staff & nothing is too much trouble. Vic & Leanne offer different activities in the local area & cater for all types of guests. The early morning adventurous game drives, to an elephant Sanctuary, to a restful & indulgent Spa Experience. My highlight was a 3 course dinner in the Kruger Park at night after a 2 hr game drive. On the way home we were so lucky to see 5 lionesses by the side of the road resting & sleeping. Hello to all the locals in Marloth Park who also made us very welcome. I would recommend this very personal & unique experience to anyone thinking of heading to Kruger. All, in all - warm, welcoming, friendly, versatile - this descibes the Hosts, the Staff & the Guides. I can't wait to go back!! Hi to Jacqui, Ferdie, Beverley, Johann, Frances, Joe, Tang & Phillip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88Sharon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hi Sharon,

Thank you for the wonderful review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great meeting you and the rest of the gang and it was fantastic to have guests like you all. We certainly enjoyed all the laughs.

Hope the rest of your trip in South Africa went well and that you will bring back some fond memories with you. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future and please don't forget to tell all your friends about the Lodge. Please see our special on Trip Advisor.

Keep well and stay in touch.

Vic and the RKL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a great weekend! Ours started with sundowners and snacks down at the river, where, with the unbelievable talents of Robert the guide we saw lion, elephant, hippo, giraffe, crocs, zebra and a host of antelope. Back to the lodge for an amazing boma supper and so went the weekend,we even got to see a leopard kill. We were not dissapointed!!
Zebra, warthog giraffe and meerkat are frequent visitors to the lodge premises and the rooms are all airconditioned, spacious with en suite bathrooms and spotlessly clean.The greatest thing about this lodge, however, is the incredible personilised service given by Vic and his team. The food is delicious and the activities are structured to encourage the guests to interact by sharing the events of their day.
We left this weekend with great memories and new friends - Sharon, Fran and Joe we hope to see you in Oz and Belinda and Johan the quest for the great pancake is on!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JacquiC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi Jacqui,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great meeting you and the other guests at the Lodge. It's really nice when all the guests interact and get on so well together. I will remember the fun times had by all with fond memories.

You are so lucky seeing the leopard kill......I am still waiting after all these years. The trip to the local pub was also great even though the Boks could have been better :).

Hope to see you at the Lodge again.

Best to all,

Vic and the RKL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great place to stay. We were made very welcome by Staff-Julia and
especially robert who was a great guide for sundowner and dawn safari .Marloth Park is beside Kruger. Highly recommended.
We hope to return someday.

Room Tip: Dont worry about Mosquitos in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintage066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Sorry I didnt get to meet you myself as I had to go to Johannesburg during you stay with us. Anyway the staff assured me you really enjoyed yourselves. Sounds like a missed quite a party. Would have loved to have celebrated your great occasion with you and hope the wedding went well.

Give my best to Ireland and hope to see you back in these parts again.

Slainte Beatha,

Vic and the RKL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We never felt so at home ever before in a foreign land. The staffs were very friendly and hospitable.

The journey started with Rick and Leanne picking us up at the airport. Rick helped us with the luggage and along the trip back Leanne talk us thru on the activities available and I must say that they are very flexible in accommodating to our needs.

Julia, the head Chef and her team make very delicious meals. We always look forward to the 'boma' dinners and they always say "as usual, the dessert is a..." SURPRISE!

Our guide/driver for the game drives is Robert. He has the sight of an eagle, he can spot buffalos hundreds of meters away or the buttock of a rhino which looked like a rock to us.

not to forget Chase who took us for the Bush orientation walk. He is very knowledgeable and passionate about the wild life.

Big thank you to Vic for making it a special and enjoyable honeymoon for us. We'll be back for more Springbokkie!

Room Tip: All the rooms are close so not much difference. However the hippo room is recommended as we had seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

It was so great meeting you and thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed the Lodge and your honeymoon and hopefully we helped create some precious memories that you will treasure forever.

We will definitely have the Springboks waiting :)

Hopefully we will see you again before too long. In the meantime may we wish you a wonderful and happy life together.

Thanks again.

Vic and the RKL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a fantastic holiday. I stayed at the lodge last year with a friend and had such a great time that I have gone back with my partner and another couple. The staff could not be nicer. We all had a great time at the lodge. I must admit we were treated like royalty. Sitting around the boma each night eating our meal, everyone get's to share the days adventures. All meals were catered for. The safari drives are a must. Robert our guide has eyes like a hawk. A great way to spend the end of the day was a drive down to the crocodile river having a couple of drinks watching the sunset. I fully recommend the Royal Kruger Lodge. We are all going back. In making enquiries Vic is very helpful and prompt with replies. You feel as if you know him before you arrive. Rick gave us a very informative bush walk. It was wonderful having the zebras and warthogs roaming the grounds. The rooms are kept spotless. A laundry service is available if needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cruiser903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and so glad you enjoyed your second visit. Hopefully we will make it three in a row before too long.

Don't forget to tell all your friends and please contact me direct so I can customise a very special holiday for you.

All the best,

Vic and the RKL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The boma dinner was well prepared. Dinner at local restaurant was excellent. Breakfast fantastic. Staff was very friendly & accommodating. Julia, Emily & Robert were fantastic! Only complaint was no Coca-Cola or good red wine available.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We hope we see you again.

I will look into the fact we had no coke.......this has never happened before and is unacceptable.

Re the Red wines, unfortunately we only carry a limited range as we are not open to the public. We try to carry a range which is acceptable to most guests.....please accept my apologies they were not to your taste.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Vic and the RKL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My friends and I recently concluded our 4 nights stay at Royal Kruger Lodge.
When it comes to booking, we had great assistance from the liaison personnel, Vic, who promptly replied us with a very informative email which includes key information that covered methods of travel from airport, time taken, routes to avoid if going by self drive etc.

Upon reaching the lodge, we were greeted with warmth and hospitality. Meals were included and to our delightful surprise, it's quite a spread! They were served in an outdoor setting (loved the ambience!) unless weather/situation suggests otherwise. During breakfasts, you will be able to see cute animals like warthogs, which we feel were pretty interesting(don't worry, they won't come near your food as they were separately fed).

The rooms were beautiful for a safari stay. Ammenities were well equipped and housekeeping was done daily, so cleanliness is ensured. I think laundry service is available too if you need.

One commendable part was the dedication displayed by the staff. Emily, the janitor, was very warm and amiable. She's easily reached if you needed to enquire about issues in the lodge. Julia and her team of chefs were humorous in their menu introductory and constantly ensured we were satisfied with the food.
The tour guides, Robert and Rick, were enthusiastically informative and made sure we are comfortable and safe. They had sharp eyes when it comes to identifying animals during the game drive, haha! Leanne, the person in charge of activities, was very helpful as well.

One thing to note though, is that payment is done via credit card or ZAR only. Also, if you have dietary restrictions, do inform the staff early so they can prepare.

On the whole, what sets Royal Kruger Lodge apart was they way they take pride in hosting the guests. The staff displayed a personal touch in their service. We felt well taken care of and will definitely recommend this to our friends and colleagues!! =D

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan_TohTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Allan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to write one for us on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it and I will be sure to let the team know. They love to read these, especially when their sincere efforts are recognized.

We will certainly have a little chuckle when Emily, one of our administrators, is referred to as 'the janitor'. Hope she doesn't want a pay rise.....lol.

Thank you also for referring us to your friends and colleagues. We hope we see many of them at the Lodge and we also hope you will return again before too long.

All the very best to you and keep well,

Vic and the RKL Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
16 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 37 in Marloth Park
453 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 37 in Marloth Park
394 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 37 in Marloth Park
258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 37 in Marloth Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kruger Lodge

Address: 1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: £154 - £690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Kruger Lodge ensures guests relaxation, adventure and a oneness with nature. This 4-star, privately owned game lodge is renowned for its exceptional personal service and intimate atmosphere. Situated in the Mpumalanga Province in the Wild Frontier region, the Royal Kruger Lodge is just beyond the Crocodile River and borders the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kruger Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing