We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas in the bush!”
Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas in the bush!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our family stayed at Maqueda lodge over Christmas last year (my review is late, finally have the time to write it!) It is a wonderful, small family run lodge. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food is amazing and the service and the personal attention from the hosts really make you feel welcome! Its really in the middle of the bush with Kruger park right on your doorstep! We had such a relaxing time at the lodge and we hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justin kuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois v, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks a lot for your review Justin - It is almost Christmas again - so you guys must come and visit - I appreciate you taking the time to write the review and that you have enjoyed your visit
Thank you kindly Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
199
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We felt really welcome at the lodge and the location is great for getting to Kruger and cycling and walking along the Crocodile River.
The room was small, dark with nowhere to unpack our things. We were a little disappointed with the food after the reviews that we had read. We paid 250 rand per person for dinner and were not so happy with chicken drumstick and bacon or pork rasher as our main course. The setting is great and the food was beautifully served. You will be made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RosT20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois v, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you kindly for your review on TripAdvisor Ros we appreciate your comments - It is a bit difficult to have a different menu every evening and not have chicken or pork somewhere in the menu, that is why we give guests a 4 course dinner when we serve chicken and we give you quite an substantial starter when we serve pork - Dinner is normally included in our packages it was just on the Groupon special that guests had an option to eat at the lodge if guests wanted to but could also eat out in one of the nearby restaurants. We will however re - look at those two menu's again thanks. Unfortunately room 2 is a bit dark, but in summer it is lovely and cool. We took your advice though and added a brighter light in the roof and added another chest of drawers in the room for more space to unpack, you must come and have a look
Kind regards
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The logde is comfortable, the food is divine, the management is very friendly and really make you feel at home.
The kind of place that we were lucky to find, and we felt sorry to leave behind.
Strongly recommend this place... and maybe next time we will have the opportunity to listen to the "cook" singing Verdi,Wagner or Mozart...!
Paula and Eduardo, Portugal

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EGomes1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BARCELONA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Maqueda lodge is an amazing place. If you are looking to desconnect enjoy life and make new friends this is your place to stay. The owners and all staff are just amazing, making you feel comfortable and ensuring you take the most out of your trip. The ambiance at the lodge is really nice' quiet and relax; Francois makes sure all guests get to know each other and guides the conversation at the fire place and at dinner. Dinner is a perfect moment to share the experiences of the day with the other guests at the lodge while enjoying the excellent food cooked by Etienne.
The most difficult thing f my trip... Having to leave the maqueda logde and all the wonderful people I've met there.
Will come back shortly :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSER3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely small-scale lodge with very friendly owners. The brothers Francois & Etienne take care of each and every detail. Etienne is an excellent cook (and excellent opera singer too!) while Francois ensures all guests feel at ease. Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Yolande H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Maqueda Lodge blows you away when you first arrive with their common area right in amongst the African scrub with beutiful rustic and comfortable decor. The service and management from owner Francois is the best. He and his team go above and beyond for each single guest. His brother is the chef, Etiene really knows how to cook and is also a trained opera singer (ask him for a performance!). Terrific food in a beautiful friendly setting just outside the Kruger national park. I will be back and couldn't recommend it any more! Make sure you ask for Dylan as your tour guide in the Kruger. He won't stop until he finds you a cat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belllly89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great food! Nice, rustic and cosy ambience. We really enjoyed our stay. It's a pity we didn't spot any animals coming near to the lodge during our stay. The staff were really friendly and tried to accommodate to our needs. Our little girl really enjoyed herself and the warm fireplace set up every night was a cosy place to spend the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Teck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
409 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
215 reviews
7.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Property: Maqueda Lodge
Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqueda Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing