We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maqueda Lodge
Nearby Hotels
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge(Marloth Park)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
US$2,113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate(Skukuza)(Great Value!)
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kruger Boutique Hotel(Marloth Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveller rating
351
50
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
50
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestskruger national parkwonderful experiencemanager davidtin tingame drivesold friendscommunal dininghonesty barpersonal servicethree course meallike royaltyfantastic staystayed for nightspacked breakfastexcellent hospitalityrooms are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 403 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Words will never do enough justice to convey this amazing facility, service and atmosphere! We were very blessed to experience staying at Maqueda Lodge. Francois and his staff make you feel comfortable and welcome and like you never want to leave! The initial greeting from Francois makes you forget all about the long hours that you travelled to get there. The offer for a nice cold beer on arrival was very welcomed followed by a nice little tour of the lodge. We felt very spoilt and nothing was ever too much trouble. The lodge is very clean and lots of lounges to put your feet up and unwind listening to the sounds of nature. The food is amazing! I am a vegetarian and normally feel like I am "the odd one out" but felt really special and the meals were amazing! Top restaurant quality! While you are having dinner the wonderful staff pop into your room and turndown the bed and give you some fresh water for the night. All the little details all add up to the fantasic service. Overall the most amazing experience not only staying at Maqueda but for them to make us feel like we truly experienced the South African culture in a comfortable "family like" environment. Thank you and we cannot wait to come back and visit again one day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for your amazing review Wend,y you and Michael were such easy and comfortable guests and it was so nice to have you guys here as our guests!
Thank you once again
Warm regards from Francois and the Maqueda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a wow-experience! We had the best time at Maqueda and with its wonderful owners and staff. Everyone made us feel very welcome and comfortable and was extremely attentive. The whole place is amazingly decorated and simply stunning.
The three-course menu in the evening truly deserves a Michelin star and is a perfect ending to breathtaking days you can spend in Kruger NP. We enjoyed it at a big table with the other guests which was very pleasant.
We booked the 4 days/3 nights special which was just the right amount of time to spend in Marloth Park even though departing felt extremely difficult to us. This package is definitely recommended as it includes activities in and around the national park.
There was no wifi, which for us was actually quite a relief and helped us concentrate on the beautiful nature surrounding us.
We stayed in the honeymoon room and - misleaded by a previous comment - expected a little jacuzzi "en suite". This is not quite the case but we wouldn't have had the time to use it anyways. There are actually two jacuzzis while one is a little hidden away in the spa area so we could have privately used it anyways.
We left Maqueda with wonderful memories that will last forever and will gladly return any time! Absolute recommendation without any reservations! Thank you all again for everything!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review Eva and for the valuable advice you have given travelers
Hope to see you guys again soon
Heartfelt thank you
Francois and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I were extremely fortunate to have been accommodated at Maqueda Lodge for our five night stay at Kruger as part of a package. During our stay, the five other couples who stayed at varying times had specifically booked Maqueda - now we know why!
The Lodge is a small family-run affair with each individual, whether family or staff, being totally aware of your needs and comfort. Francois is a wonderful host, Etienne a superb chef, Cerrick and Joyce (Mum and Dad) delightful and all of the staff intent on presenting the Lodge in the most perfect way.
We were told to treat the facility as "home" and that is exactly as it was. I can say no more than, if we ever return to this fascinating part of the world, we will stay at Maqueda Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Wally and Carol you two are really very special people and an example to all of us - celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary - what a blessing, It was sad to say goodbye knowing that we live so far apart and in such remote places, but it was a privilege to have had you guys as our guests and thank you so much for you very kind review Warm regards Francois and family which includes our fantastic staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Wanted the real Africa, and got it! It appealed to all senses and was a balm for the soul. Such a great place, great service, great Food and lovely people. Hope to get back soon. In february its end of summer with amazing green forrest everywhere.



  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kaba11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, it is always so fantastic if you experienced what you were imagining it would be like in Africa We hope to see you again soon Warm regards Francois and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The lodge was beautiful with unusual rooms and lots of great communal spaces also. Francois and his family made us feel like family, we made good friends with both the staff and other guests and this was a real highlight. The trips into Kruger park organised by the lodge were also fantastic, especially in the willingness of the game driver to chase across the park because of a possible Cheetah spotting! The food and other available activities were also of high quality. A definite recommendation from us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Well you guys feel like family now Thank you so much for your kind review we really appreciate it so much and the reunion in Cape Town was a first and very special and appreciated Hope to see you guys soon Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews