We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maqueda Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maqueda Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Very Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We got engaged at Maqueda Lodge and if I have to do it over I'll chose Maqueda Lodge over and over. Francois was so helpful with all the arrangements for the special day, as I was really stressed about everything, they just assured me to not worry about a thing.
Ettiene is a great cook and he went out of his way to make our engagement night extra romantic.
From arrival they make you feel at home and will always do anything to make your stay more pleasant.
The lodge is very romantic and secluded and is a great place to relax. The spa is also very nice.
The rooms are are extremely clean and comfy.
I recommend Maqueda Lodge to anyone.
Marcel - Johannesburg

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvanbiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Baie dankie vir jou wonderlike terugvoer Marcel
We appreciate it a lot and it is very special for us to be part of your new beginning together
We wish you all the best for your life together and hope to see you on your anniversary
Warm regards from the Maqueda Team
Francois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    45
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
194
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Maqueda Lodge was the finale to our stay in Africa. The lodge is absolutely lovely, the staff warm and wonderful, and the food sublime. I felt that my family was treated as their family. Truly perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OmkariB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Words will never do enough justice to convey this amazing facility, service and atmosphere! We were very blessed to experience staying at Maqueda Lodge. Francois and his staff make you feel comfortable and welcome and like you never want to leave! The initial greeting from Francois makes you forget all about the long hours that you travelled to get there. The offer for a nice cold beer on arrival was very welcomed followed by a nice little tour of the lodge. We felt very spoilt and nothing was ever too much trouble. The lodge is very clean and lots of lounges to put your feet up and unwind listening to the sounds of nature. The food is amazing! I am a vegetarian and normally feel like I am "the odd one out" but felt really special and the meals were amazing! Top restaurant quality! While you are having dinner the wonderful staff pop into your room and turndown the bed and give you some fresh water for the night. All the little details all add up to the fantasic service. Overall the most amazing experience not only staying at Maqueda but for them to make us feel like we truly experienced the South African culture in a comfortable "family like" environment. Thank you and we cannot wait to come back and visit again one day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review Wend,y you and Michael were such easy and comfortable guests and it was so nice to have you guys here as our guests!
Thank you once again
Warm regards from Francois and the Maqueda Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a wow-experience! We had the best time at Maqueda and with its wonderful owners and staff. Everyone made us feel very welcome and comfortable and was extremely attentive. The whole place is amazingly decorated and simply stunning.
The three-course menu in the evening truly deserves a Michelin star and is a perfect ending to breathtaking days you can spend in Kruger NP. We enjoyed it at a big table with the other guests which was very pleasant.
We booked the 4 days/3 nights special which was just the right amount of time to spend in Marloth Park even though departing felt extremely difficult to us. This package is definitely recommended as it includes activities in and around the national park.
There was no wifi, which for us was actually quite a relief and helped us concentrate on the beautiful nature surrounding us.
We stayed in the honeymoon room and - misleaded by a previous comment - expected a little jacuzzi "en suite". This is not quite the case but we wouldn't have had the time to use it anyways. There are actually two jacuzzis while one is a little hidden away in the spa area so we could have privately used it anyways.
We left Maqueda with wonderful memories that will last forever and will gladly return any time! Absolute recommendation without any reservations! Thank you all again for everything!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review Eva and for the valuable advice you have given travelers
Hope to see you guys again soon
Heartfelt thank you
Francois and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnarvon, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I were extremely fortunate to have been accommodated at Maqueda Lodge for our five night stay at Kruger as part of a package. During our stay, the five other couples who stayed at varying times had specifically booked Maqueda - now we know why!
The Lodge is a small family-run affair with each individual, whether family or staff, being totally aware of your needs and comfort. Francois is a wonderful host, Etienne a superb chef, Cerrick and Joyce (Mum and Dad) delightful and all of the staff intent on presenting the Lodge in the most perfect way.
We were told to treat the facility as "home" and that is exactly as it was. I can say no more than, if we ever return to this fascinating part of the world, we will stay at Maqueda Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Wally and Carol you two are really very special people and an example to all of us - celebrating your 50th wedding anniversary - what a blessing, It was sad to say goodbye knowing that we live so far apart and in such remote places, but it was a privilege to have had you guys as our guests and thank you so much for you very kind review Warm regards Francois and family which includes our fantastic staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Wanted the real Africa, and got it! It appealed to all senses and was a balm for the soul. Such a great place, great service, great Food and lovely people. Hope to get back soon. In february its end of summer with amazing green forrest everywhere.



  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kaba11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is always so fantastic if you experienced what you were imagining it would be like in Africa We hope to see you again soon Warm regards Francois and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The lodge was beautiful with unusual rooms and lots of great communal spaces also. Francois and his family made us feel like family, we made good friends with both the staff and other guests and this was a real highlight. The trips into Kruger park organised by the lodge were also fantastic, especially in the willingness of the game driver to chase across the park because of a possible Cheetah spotting! The food and other available activities were also of high quality. A definite recommendation from us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois-v-d-Nest, Owner at Maqueda Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Well you guys feel like family now Thank you so much for your kind review we really appreciate it so much and the reunion in Cape Town was a first and very special and appreciated Hope to see you guys soon Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maqueda Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqueda Lodge

Property: Maqueda Lodge
Address: 1791 Geelslang, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maqueda Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maqueda Lodge is a "Bare Foot" Luxury Boutique Lodge that offers the highest standard of service in a tranquil exclusive private venue. Nestled in the heart of the Wild Frontier,in Marloth Park on the southern border of the Kruger National Park, this family run lodge only accommodates twelve guests in plush and beautifully decorated interior. Enjoy our excellent cuisine that will nourish you after a long day on safari. We offer very rewarding safaris into Kruger in our open game vehicle with our guide or take one of our many tours exploring Swaziland, Maputo Mozambique or the breathtaking Panorama route tour. Maqueda Lodge offers a one stop holiday destination that you will never forget ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maqueda Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqueda Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing