We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khaya Umdani Guest Houses
Ranked #1 of 9 Marloth Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

As always an absolute pleasure to return to this little piece of paradise in the bush!!
Khaya Romantica is without doubt one of the most relaxing and romantic getaways that will rejuvenate your soul and help you get back that loving feeling :) The King size bed was oh so comfortable and luxurious along with the bath and the amenities provided.
The highlight was sitting on the veranda upstairs watching the lightening storms over the Kruger with only the sounds of the animals and the bush drinking in the serenity with a cold glass of wine while waiting for the braii! Oh how hard it was to leave........
Louise and Danie Thiart are the most hospitable and welcoming couples that you will find who will only be too happy to help in anyway they can with anything you may need on your holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wbrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

The best place to relax. clean, bedrooms with all that you need.Mozzie nets baby cot with moznet well planned kitchen. Outside area is what makes the place for me.I would recommend Umdani to all.Just go and relax

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

No words can describe our two week stay in this exquisite property. From the gorgeous master suite on the main floor to the well stocked kitchen with the finest of dinnerware, to the creative design and decor utilizing a tasteful African theme, to the endless hours we spent lounging on the fabulous veranda and using the pool, to a wide array of wildlife, stopping to visit frequently...it couldn't have been more perfect.

Nothing was spared by our accommodating hosts in ensuring our stay was stress free and enriching. If we so much as mentioned a possible need or desire, it was made available to us within a short period, often astounding us both. One day, when the owners stopped by to see how we were doing, always a welcomed delight, we casually mentioned that a different light fixture would be ideal in the master suite for reading at night, saying that we didn't need it for ourselves. We didn't want to inconvenience them. Within an hour, when I happened to go into the bedroom, a new lamp was in place in the reading area of the bedroom. Amazing!

The service staff was flawless, respectful and pleasant when cleaning and doing our laundry. Without a doubt, we will return to Marloth Park again, hopefully staying in this same property during a time it is available, even to the point of accommodating our travel dates to coincide with Khaya Umdani's availability.

As world travelers, we can honestly say that we've never had a comparable experience in location, quality of home, amenities and service. Plus, the wildlife visitors only added to the memorable experience.

Room Tip: Private home. We booked the entire house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwidewaftage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We (3 adults and 2 small kids) stayed at the Khaya Romantica for a long weekend and it was magnificant. This has been the best place I have visited in a long time. The house is incredible, very spacious and tastefully decorated in Africa style. Then, what is better than having a swim in the swimming pool under the watchful eyes of a mama warthog with her 4 babies and some velvet monkeys in the trees? And greet some giraffes that are nibbling on some leaves at the back of the house? Marloth Park is a very nice place to stay, particularly with the kids as they can walk around and look at the animals. Then Kruger was only at a 20 minute drive away.

This place was great for family but would also be really nice for a romantic get away. Actually, the long weekend was too short, we spend two long days at Kruger Park that we didn´t have much time to actually enjoy the house and its surroundings. I am definitely hoping to visit Khaya Romantica again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Silvie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

10 of us from South Africa, the UK and Australia spent one glorious week at Khaya Umdani, from 25 August 2012, in order to celebrate with three friends who were turning 60. Khaya Umdani is a beautifully decorated and very welcoming house which felt like home. Pumi was excellent considering what she had to do to tidy up after 10 of us every day. We saw game daily from the verandah of the house and from the road next to the fence between Marloth Park and the Kruger. It was amazing to be so close to wild animals. What a superb setting. Anzelle was the most unfazed driver and took us on trips every day. Laurika provided us with a decadent meal and snacks on the day of our arrival and all was well. Louise went out of her way to arrange outings for us while we were there. Fantastic service all round! We would return in a jiffy.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The Honeymoon Suite is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirkie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay in Khaya Umdani for 7 days!
Everything was perfect!
The house is wonderful!!!!
Louise and Dani do all they can to make your vacation outstanding and
with a little bit of luck you can see the wild life while sitting on the terrace!
Best place ever been.

Mario Van Gucht and family
Belgium

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My family recently stayed at Khaya Romantica and it was more than we could have hoped for. The house is beautiful and all of the food wonderful. Our first morning we were greeted at the front door by a hedgehog and her two babies. We saw giraffe, monkeys, zebras and water buffalo on a short walk by the house. Louise and Donie went out of their way to organize outings for us - including a jeep ride througth Kruger, a morning walk in the Park with an incredibly knowledgable guide, and a fantastic braii dinner complete with elephants! They are truly wonderful hosts. It was all very reasonable as well. I don't hesitate to highly recommend this house to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marloth Park hotels
3.9 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 37 in Marloth Park
454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kruger Riverside Lodge
Kruger Riverside Lodge
#2 of 9 in Marloth Park
9 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tusk Bush Lodge
Tusk Bush Lodge
#4 of 9 in Marloth Park
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 37 in Marloth Park
394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#4 of 37 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Umdani Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Umdani Guest Houses

Address: Korhaan 2907, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Marloth Park
Price Range: £144 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation on the doorstep of Kruger National Park. You choose between self catering or a fully inclusive package. 10 luxury appointed en suite bedrooms with either king size or 2 single beds, white 100 % cotton linen, high standard of comfort and luxury. Here animals still roam free and daily visits from warthog, zebra, giraffe, blue wildebeest, impala, etc are common. Come and experience a true South African Bushveld hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Khaya Umdani Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaya Umdani Guest Houses South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing