We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“677 Hornbill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khaya Umdani Guest Houses
Ranked #1 of 9 Marloth Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“677 Hornbill”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had an awesome breakaway as a family. A quick an easy drive to the Kruger, we manage to see plenty of some wildlife. The kids 7 & 3 has loads of fun, seeing animals right at our door step.

Louise was very welcoming. The staff kept the place neat and tidy during our stay.

Thank You Umdani.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Senele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Unparalleled self catering lodging in the South African bush bordering Kruger National park. The Khaya Umdani house has all the home comforts you want and is everything is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Surrounded by indigenous bush with wildlife walking by all the time gives you a real intimate and up close encounter. The owners go out their way to make you comfortable and are very responsive to any special needs

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A great house in the middle of Marloth Park, not far from the river. We had company with some visitors: zebras, wildpork, etc... At night, around a nice fire we could leastining lion! Certainly
to get back...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank André P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers thoroughly enjoyed our stay in July 2014 at this excellent accommodation in Marloth Park, which was very conveniently situated for our many trips into the Kruger Park. The house has everything you could wish for and is very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the animals who visited throughout the day (giraffe, warthogs, zebra and especially the bushbabies at night).Louise was the perfect hostess booking all our trips - the bush braii was absolutely fantastic - and providing food to attract the animals and much needed wifi for our teenagers! We enjoyed having our own braii on the traditional fire-pit (with some valuable assistance from Jandre!) Can't wait to plan our next trip to this wonderful place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our family, parents, 3 adult children with spouses, visited Khaya Umdani for 10 nights in June /July 2014. It was a perfect home base for us. Louise was a wonderful host and made sure we had everything we needed and more! Before we arrived, she booked all our tours and stocked the kitchen. She prepared several meals for us, which were all excellent! We changed our itinerary a couple of times and it was no problem at all. If you are fortunate enough to stay in this house, make sure you walk down to the Crocodile River, just a ten minute walk from the house. Along the river walk, you will see many animals! This is a wonderful place and I hope to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LisaRO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It’s hard to put into words what an amazing trip we had in February and how much Louise and Danie at Khaya Umdani Guest Houses made our trip so special. We visited the Kaya Umdani at the start of a two week trip around South Africa. What was so special about this part of the trip was that I proposed to my fiancé while we were staying in Louise and Danie’s 5 star lodge for 4 nights. If it wasn’t for Louise and Danie’s perfect planning, attention to detail and thoughtful ideas, the engagement wouldn’t have been half as special as it was.

Louise was great to deal with before our trip and was so helpful when we were making the booking as I was making secret arrangements with her for the engagement evening. When we arrived in Kruger at the Guest House we were greeted with the most breath-taking lodge I have seen. Stunning inside, all rooms 5 star finish, with a pool on the balcony we could sip champagne and wine in while listening to the animals in the background.

Danie is an amazing cook and every night he’d prepare the most incredible meal for us which we enjoyed in the lodge. Each meal was amazing and used authentic local ingredients.

Unfortunately the weather wasn’t great for a few days we were there with some heavy rain fall. Louise and Danie went out of their way to make sure we still had a great trip, bringing us plenty of supplies and wine while the rain fell! Normally we’d be so upset at that much rain on holiday, but the setting of the lodge meant it hardly made a difference on our enjoyment and relaxation. Luckily the rain let up enough for us to make our day safari in Kruger which was the most amazing thing I’ve ever done, seeing the big five. We also went for a morning bush walk in Kruger which was brilliant too, being taken around the park on foot with two armed guards. It was such an experience.

Finally, when it came to the evening I was going to propose, Danie took us both out for a drive around the local area in Marloth Park to see some more wildlife while Louise was back at the lodge decorating a secret room with flours, candles and amazing food. We also had a hot tub with Champagne waiting for us when we got back. They simply made this very special moment possible and even more special with all their great hospitality.

We didn’t want to leave and we will be back again soon hopefully in the dry season! Louise and Danie are so friendly but also leave you to enjoy your trip in peace. They are the perfect hosts. The lodge we had to ourselves was incredible and all the food was 5 star. I can’t recommend them highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms were 5 star and you have your own lodge to yourselves. We had a 5 bedroom lodge to ourselv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griffwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Louise's home was fantastic for our family of 5! The kids loved the pool, and it was conveniently situated so that we could get to Kruger quickly. I would not hesitate to recommend this home to anyone. Louise took care of everything from booking excursions, to cooking us a homemade meal one night, to stocking the fridge with groceries before we arrived. What a perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank letsgoseemickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marloth Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 34 in Marloth Park
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
409 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#6 of 34 in Marloth Park
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Umdani Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Umdani Guest Houses

Property: Khaya Umdani Guest Houses
Address: Korhaan 2907, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation on the doorstep of Kruger National Park. You choose between self catering or a fully inclusive package. 10 luxury appointed en suite bedrooms with either king size or 2 single beds, white 100 % cotton linen, high standard of comfort and luxury. Here animals still roam free and daily visits from warthog, zebra, giraffe, blue wildebeest, impala, etc are common. Come and experience a true South African Bushveld hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Khaya Umdani Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaya Umdani Guest Houses South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing