We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little lodge!”
Review of Turaco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turaco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My young sons and I had a wonderful stay with Tony and Danielle in mid-February. Everything about our stay was excellent--room, food, pricing, and hospitality. Their little lodge is a labor of love, and their delight at being able to live so close to nature shows. I thoroughly recommend Turaco Lodge and their wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi Bob. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge - much appreciated! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, as did we enjoy having you and the boys with us. We trust that your journey home was uneventful. We really hope to see you all again sometime soon. Kindest regards, Tony & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

This beautiful lodge has 3 rooms and a plunge pool. Being in Marloth Park is great as there are so many animals within the area including giraffes, zebras, kudus, impalas, warthogs etc. The gate to Kruger Park is around 25 minutes from the lodge. Tony and Danielle were brilliant! It was really interesting to hear all their stories. They both have so much knowledge on Kruger and where to find the animals and bird life. As well as the day trip to Kruger, I can recommend doing the sundowner trip. Both trips were really enjoyable thanks to Tony. Danielle's food is delicious, don't miss out on her muffins! She made sure we were well fed throughout our stay. They were really flexible on our last night when we requested a South African BBQ, which was one of the highlights of our trip. They really went above and beyond to ensure we had a pleasant stay.There is no wifi but who needs it while you are in the bush!?! Danielle has a laptop which we used for hotel bookings for our next destination. I have taken home so many nice memories from our 3 night stay. Having no idea where to stay before arriving into South Africa, I'm really happy with our choice and will definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sona_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hi Sona. Thank you so much for the positive review - we really appreciate you taking the time out to post this for Turaco Lodge. We really enjoyed having you and Martin stay with us; the opportunity to share our little piece of the African bush with you both was our pleasure. We look forward to the possibility of you staying at Turaco Lodge again in the future. All the best, Tony & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

From arrival to sad departure, our experiences at this lodge far exceeded our already high expectations. The staff were amazing and the guided game drives between delicious meals and relaxing swims changed our view of the bush forever. Rooms were truly luxurious and atmosphere was warm and homey.

Thanks a lot and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadebird140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Hi Jade. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge, we really appreciate it. We loved having you guys here, and little Kaydon is the cutest baby! Hope to have you stay with us again in the not too distant future. All the best, Tony & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My spouse and a friend, working in Maputo for a few months, needed a weekend getaway to Kruger in July. We loved Turaco Lodge! From the initial booking to the transfers to the game drives, meals, accommodation, and good-byes ... Danielle and Tony were fabulous. From animals to birds to politics, Tony was a knowledgable and good-humored guide. Danielle's food was delicious. Thanks for trademark South African hospitality ... it was a return visit for David and me, a first visit for Heather; all of us look forward to many more to come!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

HI Matthew. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge, and for the very kind words. It really was our pleasure to have you all stay with us. We would love to have you stay with us again, should you ever travel this way in the future. All the best, Tony & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It is our first time in South Africa. We decided to stay out of the Kruger which turned out to be a great decision. This place has all the animals by the fence which gives a great safari experience. During our walk in Marloth, we saw lions! And also lots of Elephants, giraffes, fed the Zebras and more, all thanks to Tony's great knowledge of the area. The drive to the Kruger gate is short and comfortable. But the greatest value is the amazing and friendly owners who made our stay memorable, comfortable and extremely pleasant. We had the greatest time, beyond what we could imagine! Thank you Tony and Danielle, our South African friends will definitely come visit you as well!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yardeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Hello Yardeny family! We really enjoyed having you stay at Turaco Lodge and the opportunity to show you our wonderful wildlife! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for the Lodge, we really appreciate it. We trust you had a safe journey home. All the best, Tony & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

There are hotels. Then there are Boutique Hotels (which Turaco defines themselves as), then there's this place, which is far beyond either of those two. Let me explain.

Even before I stayed, I had questions and wanted to set up bookings. Tony and Danielle were always prompt in their response, and had no problem setting things up. Upon arrival, Tony was waiting at the airport for us (as we ordered a pick-up), and was incredibly friendly. Even from the start, they go out of their way to make your stay incredible. For example, Tony explained they were holding the dinner for us until we got there the evening. On the note of food. Its absolutely delicious. I don't think I've eaten that well in a long time. Dinner was a 3 course meal, and breakfast was big too!

Not that there will ever be a lot of guests staying there, but we were fortunate enough that we had the lodge all to ourselves for the majority of our stay. That meant during our Safari Tony took us on, we were the only ones in the vehicle. Tony (and Danielle) were both great guides through Kruger. They knew loads of places to go to see tons of wildlife. Additionally, they were very knowledgeable about the animals, plants, wildlife, and park itself. We had troubles seeing Lions during our stay, and I know they went above and beyond to try to find some!

The lodge itself is beautiful. The rooms are spacious enough and very clean. There is a wonderful back area with a small fire pit, where you can watch animals like Zebras just wander up to you. The location is perfect too. Only about a 20 minute drive to one of the Kruger gates.

What made the stay special wasn't the lodge, the food, location, etc... It was Tony and Danielle themselves. They truly enjoy what they do, and it clearly shows. I didn't feel like a guest staying at a hotel, I really about felt like I was spending time at home during college break. That's how well taken care of we felt. While a lot of times, reviews can be relative based on others in the area, I have no problem saying that this is one of the best places I've stayed at ever, in any country. Absolutely stay here if you have the opportunity. I don't doubt they will do everything they can to make your time there incredible.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefg1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Stefan! Wow, what an awesome review! Thank you so much for all the great things you said about us and Turaco Lodge. It makes everything we do and the passion we feel so worth it! Tony & I really hope that we will see you again someday. Take care and give our regards to Sue. Season's Greetings too. All the best, Tony & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and me have been staying at Turaco Lodge for two nights last August. We loved this place: several times we have seen giraffes and kudus right in our garden and we had the chance to feed them! Danielle and Tony are amazing and very kind, rooms are spacious and well furnished, we really felt like being home. They pay a lot of attentions to details, they created an elegant and unique place! Danielle is a gourmet: she usually prepares very particular meals. We strongly suggest to go there!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aribuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Hello Arianna. Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to post this for Turaco Lodge. We enjoyed your stay here, and hope that we will see you both again one day! Take care and Season's Greetings to you Davide. Kindest regards, Tony & Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marloth Park hotels
0.4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 39 in Marloth Park
459 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 39 in Marloth Park
262 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 39 in Marloth Park
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Phumula Kruger Lodge
Phumula Kruger Lodge
#8 of 39 in Marloth Park
144 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 39 in Marloth Park
214 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 39 in Marloth Park
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turaco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turaco Lodge

Address: 171 Kudu Street, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: £95 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turaco Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turaco Lodge offers the traveller an exclusive, tailor-made bush experience. Availability is limited with only 6 guests at a time in the lodge. Situated in Marloth Park on the southern boundary of Kruger National Park, in the heart of a wildlife conservancy with free roaming wildlife. Personal service, good food, friendly atmosphere. Best place for a breakaway from stressful city living. Experience The Kruger National Park and the South African bush in a whole new way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Turaco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turaco Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing