We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turaco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turaco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

It was the most fun safari in my life.
Host is very kind, I was easy to contact.
And meal was delicious.
In the garden, I was able to spend the holiday very enjoyable and wild boar, zebra, such as beautiful birds visited one after another.
I think a lot of people live a fun vacation here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YN6389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you so very much for taking time to post a review for Turaco Lodge - we really appreciate it! We enjoyed your visit here very much and sharing the wildlife with you was a special experience. We really hope you will return next year with your friends. Kindest regards, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

For a stay in Marloth Park, Turaco Lodge was the right choice.
The classy accommodation ensured that we enjoyed a more than comfortable stay with big beds and lots of extra space for all our stuff in the room.
Access to the Kruger Park is easy and the yummy packed breakfast meant we could be there early.
To come back and relax after a hot shower on the patio overlooking the bush was such a treat.

Thank you Tony and Danielle for the delicious food and great company.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank African-Forest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello you wonderful family! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge, and for your very kind words - we really appreciate it! We certainly enjoyed your stay here - please pop in for a visit anytime you find yourselves in this part of the world. Thank you so much for choosing Turaco Lodge as part of your bush experience! All the best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a lovely 3 night stay at Turaco, enjoying the warm hospitality, humor, and extensive environmental knowledge of Danielle and Tony. It was great to sit outside by the fire talking about the day's wildlife sightings, the amazing ecology of Kruger and Marloth Park, and a variety of amusing stories as the warthogs and wildebeests visited, a nearby lion--incongruously named "Fluffy"--grumbled, and the stars twinkled brighter than bright. We arose each morning before dawn to find hot coffee and home-baked treats waiting, along with a delicious and varied breakfast Danielle had packed for us to picnic on later in the morning. All our dinners were great, the rooms big and carefully thought through, and the common areas were comfortable and welcoming. Turaco is a great place to stay for easy access to the Crocodile Gate of Kruger (that's if you can find your way out of the driveway, which much to Tony and Danielle's amusement, we had a hard time managing that first dawn…). We highly recommend Turaco Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNL1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge - thank you! The four of you were indeed great company and we enjoyed your visit as much as you did. Thank you all for being so understanding about the small changes to your itinerary - sometimes things really are beyond our control. But we are very pleased that you enjoyed the morning walk in Marloth Park, and Chase is certainly a fantastic guide. We do hope that, should you ever venture this way again, you will choose to stay at Turaco Lodge! All the very best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

From the moment we first contacted them they were always responsive, helpful, and made us feel comfortable. Once we arrived in the airport we realized how truly marvelous they are. Tony and Danielle have built a spectacular "lodge" based right by the Crocodile River. I say "lodge" because once you arrive and you meet these friendly super attentive people it stops feeling like a lodge and more like you are a guest in their home. Tony is so knowledgeable and was always spotting all kinds of animals even when we only saw bush until he pointed them out. Danielle's cooking is AMAZING! The property is beautiful and feels like there is no one else around. We had bush fires in Kruger that made some of the cats skiddish and while we did not get to see the Zebra on the property we did get lots of warthogs. We also got to see 2 big bull elephants facing off and clashing then running across the street infront of our car. The bush walk we had intended to do was changed because of the fires, but the guide they got for us (Chase) for the Marloth Park walk was GREAT! We then got a massage by his significant other and she was not only extremely friendly and a great masseuse, but after 2 days of travelling and 2 days of safari's and walks she was a godsend!

We had such an amazing time and were sad to leave.

You can't go wrong with this property!!

Room Tip: While it was too cold to use, the honeymoon suite has it's own little private outdoor area and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking time out to post a review for Turaco Lodge - it is much appreciated! We so enjoyed your company and are really happy to have been able to add to the wonderful memories you have of your honeymoon in South Africa. We are sure that you will visit South Africa again and really hope that you will choose to spend some more time with us then. All the very best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Turaco is a real gem !!! Based in Marloth Park ( just on the outskirts of Crocodile Gate - Kruger) it just adds a new dimension to your exciting journey of getting in touch with nature. Turaco is a smashing property, very clean, private & full of positive energy. You can literally have your own safari on the property with Zebras , Giraffes,Warthogs,Kudu and Bushbaby freely walking in and around the property. Having said so it is also very safe !!! Tony and Danielle ( still very much in love with each other) will make you feel at home. Ask Danielle for the muffins and almost everything that she cooks is smashing. Tony can take you on safaris in the legendary land rover and you also have the option of asking for Chase ( best tracker/guide I ve been with) for a open top safari vehicle. The rooms are impeccable and they also have satellite tv if the kids get bored. Tony and Danielle have very extensive knowledge of Kruger and Marloth and it is very refreshing to interact with them from time to time !!! Turaco also has a vast no of books and pictures which one must read before and after the safaris. In short Turaco is an exquisite boutique home stay and is a fab option if Kruger Park is what you seek.

Room Tip: If traveling with a family, opt for the deluxe room it is very large and can easily fit in extra bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineet301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge - we really appreciate it! We enjoyed your visit with us as much as you did - the girls kept us on our toes and were very entertaining! We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Take care and all the best. Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This lodge is a labor of love with wonderful hosts Tony and Danielle. Tony's knowledge of the bush and animals is amazing (walking encyclopaedia :). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Turaco Lodge. We will be back!!!!! PS could not forget Danielle's wonderful food

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge and for your very kind words - we really appreciate it. We are super pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next time you visit South Africa. Keep well. Kindest regards, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Turaco Lodge - a phenomenal experience - made possible by the wonderful hospitality of Tony and Danielle. I was pleasantly surprised by the Lodge location being in an animal park and my already being "in the Bush". This was particularly beneficial on my first evening as Tony provided a game tour immediately upon my arrival.

Danielle organized gorgeous meals each day and a delightful lunch for my full day safari in Kruger Park. I very much looked forward to our evening visits around the fire and the dinner was always the highlight!

Without a doubt, the service and administrative support (Tony booked my game drives on my behalf) provided is the key to the success of Turaco Lodge. The personalized service is outstanding! I do plan on returning to Marloth Park and I will only stay at one location - with Tony and Danielle.

Room Tip: This facility has three guest rooms; all are spacious, clean and most importantly, quiet. The intim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apokefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge - we really appreciate it! It was an absolute pleasure to host your stay here and we really look forward to your next visit. We hope that your wife will be able to accompany you next time! All the very best, Tony & Danielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
0.5 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
8.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.7 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 31 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turaco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turaco Lodge

Property: Turaco Lodge
Address: 171 Kudu Street, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Turaco Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turaco Lodge offers the traveller an exclusive, tailor-made bush experience. Availability is limited with only 6 guests at a time in the lodge. Situated in Marloth Park on the southern boundary of Kruger National Park, in the heart of a wildlife conservancy with free roaming wildlife. Personal service, good food, friendly atmosphere. Best place for a breakaway from stressful city living. Experience The Kruger National Park and the South African bush in a whole new way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Turaco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turaco Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing