We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience. Nice house”
Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. Relaxing atmosphere.
Anette was also very helpful with the planning of the rest of our trip, back to Johannesburg. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hakan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2011

We visited Bushwise for 5 days and were very happy with the hospitality shown by Annette and Tim during our stay. The lodge is conveniently located next to Kruger and we were able to see elephants, buffalo, rhino and many other animals while taking nice morning and evening walks along the fence just 50 meters from the door. Not to mention the zebras, monkeys and the warthog family that were seen in the garden every now and then. The room was good standard and was made up perfectly every day. Breakfast was good and dinner was excellent. The latter was served outdoors and felt quite exotic. The tours were all very rewarding and even if didn´t see a leopard we are fully satisfied and would love to visit here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My schedule mas very tight but I decided to squeeze a trip to Kruger during my Mozambique vacations. I contacted many Lodges but Tim and Annette were the friendliest and also the ones that offered me more value for my money, as they picked us up in Nespruit airport, dropped us off at Maputo airport, offered us 2 breakfasts and Lunch on the first day, plus one night safari and one full day safari. I enjoyed the safaris and the experience but 2 nights is just not enough to see the big 5 if you are not lucky. According to Werner, our guide, he sees cats once every three safaris, so... stay for at least three nights. Nonetheless, despite not seeing cats, you get to see all the other great animals out there. I am already considering another safari experience in the near future and a Cape Town visit, just loved South Africa. The lodge is great, and so is the room with a private balcony and amazing view. There was just one little detail that I disliked hence the 4 out of 5: I felt I was a bit rushed after dinner to go upstairs so that they could clean up. Although I do understand everyone is tired I felt they could be a little more "diplomatic". A very little detail considering perfection in every other way.

Room Tip: Just stay longer than me to enjoy more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcfialho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

If you are looking for comfortable accommodation with a stunning outlook into the Kruger Park over the Crocodile River, the chance to dine under the stars within a romantic enclosure with the flickering flames of the boma fire bringing a close to a long but exhilarating day in one of the greatest parks in African the company of an excellent guide, with Mozambique, Swaziland and Nelspruit on your doorstep, Bushwise Safaris Lodge is the right place to be.
We experienced good, honest, sincere personal attention, had a wonderful and relaxing weekend. I have been back several times and will be back again....and again.
Well done and thank you Tim and Annette, first class experience yet again.

Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had a wonderful time when we visited Bushwise Safaris especially whilst sitting in the upstairs swimming pool and bar overlooking the Crocodile River into the Kruger Park. We were pleasantly suprised when we saw the head and shoulders of a giraffe as it walked past the pool.There is such a serene and relaxing atmosphere at the Lodge whilst listening to all the sounds of birds and watching the game walking around the vicinity with all the sounds of the city shut out. The traditonal South African supper outside in the boma under the african skies was brilliant. The accomodation was excellent and we saw quite a bit of wildlife from the room too. Tim and Anette were excellent hosts and also took us on an interesting game drive into the Kruger Park. All in all this was a truly wonderful experience and we can't wait to go there again and spend a bit more time exploring the area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnWheelwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

On arriving at Bushwise Safaris we were warmly welcomed by Tim and Annette just in time for a divine supper under a star strewn sky. Early the next morning it was off to the Kruger( some 30 minutes away) with Werner our excellent guide.Werner who more than loves Africa and the bush managed to entice the Kruger to open the curtains for us in a special way. What a splendid day long to be remembered.

On returning to the lodge in the late afternoon it became obvious that Tim had consulted with the original Custodians ( partners) on the location and size of the Lodge. With the limited number of guests the atmosphere was tranquil, the view of the Crocodile River with the elephant and buffalo is unequalled. Added to this we watched Tim's partners the Impala, Warthog and Zebra patrol their joint venture, unfortunately the Giraffe were not there to inspect the balcony as they were busy elsewhere.

The following day, during breakfast, the Baboons swept the surrounds to no avail. Then Werner and the bush mobile were ready for us to explore a different part of Kruger. Another great day in a different geological area, then back to the Lodge, by now we were part of the family. Thank you Tim and Annettte, see you soon.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the balcony and can recommend it for the beautiful vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I chose Bushwise Safaris' "3 night / 4 day safari special" for the last days of the three week honeymoon I had planned, and was certainly not disappointed. The lodging, outside Kruger in Marloth Park, but only a short drive to the Crocodile River gate, is beautiful, in our room and out on the verandah. Meals were pleasantly served outdoors under the stars in their own Boma. We were met at the airport in Nelspuit and returned there after our stay. Selected a nice mix of activities: full-day safari (conducted by Werner, who was good at it), sunset drive, and a particularly memorable early-morning bushwalk on our last day before flying home, where we tracked a rhino and got uneasily close to it without its being aware of our presence. We had also signed up for a visit to a Swazi Cultural Village, but this had to be canceled through no fault of the Bushwise people. Instead we just walked more on the Marloth Park side of the river -- even here, not actually inside Kruger, we were able to see plenty of wildlife: elephants, hippos in the river, a lionness on the other side, warthogs, giraffe, a colorful array of African birds, and so forth. We were amazed at the loud frog serenade we got every evening in the Boma - amazed that so small an animal can be so very noisy! In short, we were entirely satisfied, and happy to recommend Bushwise to others.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EandC_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
422 reviews
4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 38 in Marloth Park
459 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#3 of 38 in Marloth Park
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Phumula Kruger Lodge
Phumula Kruger Lodge
#8 of 38 in Marloth Park
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 38 in Marloth Park
262 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 38 in Marloth Park
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: £110 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwise Safaris South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing