We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a first Time Safari”
Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great for a first Time Safari”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We booked at bushwise at the last minute from our hotel the day before in Durban. When we arrived at Bushwise we were greeted by the owner who drove us to bushwise safari which was a fairly long drive away.

Once we arrived we were showed to our rooms, one thing to note that the rooms are
very basic, not luxurious, the only things luxurious is the airconditionin. As far as food, you are provided only breakfast and dinner, a basic lunch was provided to us on the first day but we highly recomend you buy snacks and lunch during your safari in Kruger Park as lunch is not provided and there is not way of ordering in anything!!! not even mr delivery will come this far!. There is a very nice soaking pool and a patio, all outdoors and the dinners at night are absolutely fantastic, we were staying along with a brazilian couple who also joined us for two safaris and were fantastic company.

The biggest downside is that the lodge is 30 minutes from Kruger Park along a very bumpy road. Hence the staff usually takes you on day long safaris (leaving at 5 am and returning at 2 pm) which can be very exhausting.

Would I use bushwise safari again, if you are on a budget most definetly yes as there is nothing that comes close to it terms of value. If you have money to splurge and need the luxuries look elsewhere but be warned kruger national park is not cheap place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdnanMir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Hi Adnan
Thanks so much for complimenting our lodge as well as the positive critic.
I am delighted to be able to tell you and all our prospective guests that they are busy to tar the road between us and the Kruger Park (about 20 km) - so no more dust and discomfort in the future! I can't wait for this project to be completed.
Although it is impossible to achieve this, I want you to know that we all here at Bushwise are trying our best to satisfy everyone at all times. Our full day drives (8 hours or more) starts at 5:30 am, the best time to see animals. If any client on a full day decides by mid day that they would like to go back to the lodge it can be arranged without a problem.
We do offer half day safaris and we can fit in one in the morning and one in the afternoon but as clients are normally only with us for only a couple of days we try to spend as much time in Kruger as possible as this then gives us the opportunity to show them most of what Kruger has to offer.
Most of our guests visit us exactly for the reasons you find unpleasant - the piece and tranquillity of the African Bush (and therefore no 'luxuries' as you call it, like television, shops and restaurants) We try hard to blend in with nature and the remoteness of Bushwise Safaris makes it what it is - a perfect getaway from the rat race of your every day life. We do however have some lovely bush pubs in the near vicinity, and you must remind us to take you there on your next visit!
Also, to avoid future disappointment, please refer to our website to have a look at exactly what is included in our different packages and specials. Some of our packages and specials do include all meals and others don't.
As mentioned to another guest, we only have 5 rooms at the lodge and we're keeping it small and personal to give you that 'home away from home' feeling. Because we are smaller, we have much less expenses than the bigger lodges in the area, and you - our guest - are reaping the benefit of this. You will find that our rates are one of the cheapest in the area (we have not increased our rates in 3 years!). We are therefore able to provide you with comfortable accommodation, delicious meals, outstanding safaris and excellent service at the most reasonable price available.
Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you need any further info.
Warm wishes from a sunny bushveld
Annette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    60
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
88
130
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I cannot say enough about the wonderful experience at Bushwise. The lodge is gorgeous with wildlife grazing right below the first-floor balcony. Waking up in the morning, we saw warthogs, monkeys and Zebra right outside our window. Well-appointed rooms and incredibly good food.

Ask Tim and Werner to tell stories of their experiences in the bush, as they have a wealth of tales to share. For your safari, I highly recommend "ranger Rick", who was amazingly knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic. He even knew the latin names for many of the plants and animals we saw in Kruger.

Highly recommended and would return in a heartbeat. Wish I was there now.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justgottaseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zimbabwe Harare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We have stayed there a few time and we will not go to any other lodge, Tim and Annette are very caring and help you when ever you need it. the drives are great and just taken walks around the lodge and setting in their pool and watching the Zebra and bush pigs by the lodge, just the best place to be....

Room Tip: The second floor because you can see the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We booked the 3 nights package after reading the reviews here on tripadvisor, and very happy we did. Tim and Anette are lovely people and the lodge is great. This was my first safari and it could not be better. We went to 3 drives, 1 morning walk and also, just walking along the fence looking over the river, were all a great adventure. Tim has a huge knowledge/experience of about everything and listening to his own adventures is very interesting! Thank you for a unforgettable time at Bushwise!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

My friends and I chose Bushwise Safaris as our holiday destination after reading all the other good reviews about it on tripadvisor. We were pleasantly surprised - the well-organized management and staff of Bushwise exceeded our expectations. The attention we received was personal entertaining and caring and it felt like home away from home. It was wonderful to fall asleep with the sounds of the animals in your ears instead of that of the traffic in the city.Thanks Werner for your excellent guiding! Your knowledge of and passion for the African bush made our game viewing safari one to remember for a lifetime. We saw the big five and were told that we were lucky to see a black rhino and some wild dog too. The pool upstairs is a welcome relief from the heat and one can not ask for a better view over the Crocodile river where lots of elephant came down to drink on a daily basis. The animals that visited the garden every day were also very entertaining. The traditional African food was excellent - especially the dinners that were served under the stars by candle light. It was with a sad heart that we left and all of us have already booked our return visit later this year to this magic place in the middle of the African bush.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanitadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Staying at Bushwise safaris was an amazing experience . The accommodation was fantastic the pool a life saver and the knowledgeable guides the cherry on top . I had the privilege of staying for 4 nights and cant wait to go back to experience the true African wilderness.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartocharn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We were made most welcome by all. Rooms and food were very good and we felt that we were in the African bush. Our game trips into Kruger were fantastic and it was great to return to a cool room, cool drinks at the bar and a cool dip into the pool.

Room Tip: The rooms up stairs are great as you get a good view of the river and the game from your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
187 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
4.0 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 34 in Marloth Park
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 34 in Marloth Park
236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Property: Bushwise Safaris
Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwise Safaris South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing