We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

What can I say. From the moment Tim greeted us till we painfully tore ourselves away at the end of the stay we were in love with Bushwise, which is right on the border of Kruger National Park. The rooms we very well appointed and super comfy, the full english breakfasts were divine and the dinner in the boma was the most amazing experience sitting out under the stars sharing bush stories. My favorite place was the bar upstairs with the infinity pool on the deck, but the most special thing about this area is the comfy seating facing the river below and while we were there a family of lion were lying out on the rocks. Magic!!!!! Another thing we enjoyed was the warthogs visiting the lodge as well as the family of mongoose. You absolutely feel as one with nature at Bushwise. Although they do their own safaris from their lodge, we had rented our own vehicle and Tim was more than happy to give us suggestions of where to go and what to do. We certainly will stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room downstairs and the warthogs would come right up to our patio to visit!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zebra949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

Our stay at Bushwise was a most enjoyable and pleasurable experience. Tim and Annette accommodated each and every one of our needs and requests. Their inter relationships and stories were truly superb and exceptionally valued. Without doubt my wife Katya and I would highly recommend Bushwise to anyone.
Thanks Tim and Annette for a treasured stay to be always remembered especially for our Canadian visitors.
Katya and Wayne

Room Tip: Upstair rooms by the bar and pool facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This was our third time in Bushwise Safari Lodge and this time we had treated ourselves to a fantastic two weeks stay and again we enjoyed every minute of it.
Almost every day we saw big herds of elephant, buffalo and sometimes rhino as well as fish eagle and waterbuck while walking along the fence to the Kruger Park or relaxing on the deck.
Already at breakfast baby warthogs were wrestling with each other or chasing francolins.
And then of course the visits to Kruger Park... marvellous.

Thank you so much - We can't wait to come back again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We found Bushwise saw the pics and we knew from the beginning this will be a place where my friends and I want to stay for our safari.Everything was perfect,you already get wildlife in the Marloth Park around the lodge.You can really relax and switch off.The dinner at night in bush was faboulos great experience.The service from Tim and Annette and the staff is excelent also their food.The rooms are comfortable and the right thing what you need after a safari.
Bushwise location is perfect,close to the Crocodile Bridge gate to start the safari.
Tim gave us very good advises to which places we should go.
I will recommend Bushwise to anybody and for us it´s sure that we will come back soon.
Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Georg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My girlfriend and I had booked Bushwise Safari Lodge based on the tripadvisor reviews we had seen and the 3 night package deal that was advertised. We were certainly not disappointed from start to finish. The owner, Tim, picked us up from the airport and we had roughly an hour drive drive to the Marloth Park area. We had a great chat along the way about what we could expect to see over the next few days.

The safari activities are well organised and I recommend sticking roughly to their suggested itinerary to get the most out of the few days you are likely to be there. Our guide for the full day safari, Vernon, was a wealth of knowledge and very handy on the cooked breakfast pitstop. I was quite amazed at how much we would have missed were he not there to point so much out to us.

A definite highlight was the morning walk in the Kruger Park with armed guards. It's an experience you should definitely take up if given the opportunity.

The lodge itself is fantastic and an example of open planned living. The outside deck, complete with bar and a deck pool, overlooks the Crocodile River boundary of the Kruger Park. It was fantastic to take a dip in the pool and have a beer in hand whilst watching Elephants, Buffalo and Hippos roam the riverside, with the only noises heard coming from the animals. It's also a great place to just take some time out and read a book if you have the time. Very relaxing!

The room was very comfortable and clean, with our own balcony and the only possible small mark against the lodge I could give is that the bathroom was carpeted. Hardly a big negative at all! The home cooked dinners were always plentiful and delicious and good examples of local fare.

I have nothing but good things to say about the lodge owners, Tim and Annette. They were extremely friendly and helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending this lodge to anyone who wants to get into the safari adventure and yet stay in comfortable surrounds. I would definitely stay at Bushwise again. It was a fantastic experience!

Room Tip: A room on the top floor with balcony gives a great view over the river from the privacy of your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Seeing wild life from the patio of the lodge is amazing. We saw Elephant, Buffelo, and crocodiles whilst relaxing on the deck. The staff were friendly and the lodge was clean. Thank you very much for making my stay with you amazing.

Room Tip: Room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was my second visit to Bushwise Safaris and made no hesitation in making my choice of where to stay. Again, it was the perfect experience. Nothing quite like relaxing in the balcony pool while watching elephants during the day, or the sound of hippos while enjoying one of Tim's fantastic braais at night. Kruger itself is stunning and the day safari was well worth the return. This time we decided to go on the walking safari one morning and being at ground level with no vehicle around you really gives you an entirely different perspective. I can't imagine a better base to explore this special part of the world from. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geology_Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
416 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#4 of 37 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phumula Kruger Lodge
Phumula Kruger Lodge
#8 of 37 in Marloth Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 37 in Marloth Park
258 reviews
4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 37 in Marloth Park
454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: £110 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwise Safaris South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing