We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesbu
2 reviews
“Great Service, Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

My stay at Bushwise was not only breathtaking, but great value for money. The setting is absolutely incredible with a great lookout over the Kruger Park. The staff are friendly, and the activites enjoyable.
We will definately come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    60
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
86
130
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

From the great service we received during the booking process to our farewell, Bushwise was a perfect choice. The entire staff makes you feel so welcome and the size of the property ensures they can give you focused attention. We especially enjoyed Tim's great stories of his many adventures in the African bush. Great food, great rooms, awesome public spaces and pool - all right across from Kruger. You can walk for miles (kilometers!) along the well groomed trail along the fence and see so much of what the park has to offer. Book now - it's a wise choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonL300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The location can't be beat - right across from Kruger. Our first sight from the balcony was a herd of elephants across the river, and we had only been there two minutes. Only a fence separates you from the preserve. However, there are animals which walk around the house regularly - monkeys, warthog families - a zebra followed me back when I took a walk. Breakfast was quite good, and though it seemed a bit large we ate everything. One time they held up our dinner for over two hours because we had gotten off track and couldn't phone them. They were exceedingly helpful and set up various tours for us, farrying us to the different functions. Their own full day safari was very good. The staff, especially the manager/naturalist was the most friendly, knowledgeable, and accomendating person you'll ever meet. The only negative we thought were the dinners. I had wanted to have wild game, but was told that other guests wanted more common fare, so that's what they provided. They did try to get us some ostrich, but there had been a problem with the ostrich that season, so no go. I would wholeheartedly recommend this lodge to anyone interested in experiencing wild animals along with excellent service and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hi Gail. Thanks for your kind comments all ways good to have Americans come and stay and give us the opportunity to show you all that Kruger has to offer. If you come again I will cook you the best wild game steaks on an open fire in the boma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had an awesome time at Bushwise Safaris. Great place, friendly Staff and awesome location. The pool area is great overlooking the river bordering Kruger Park. Sunset at the lodge are breathtaking. Would recommend staying there any time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fufenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your positive review and bring to our attention that you felt that the cleanliness and rooms where not up to a five star rating. We have taken the necessary steps to improve on this and do believe our future guests will find no fault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

When we came we had no idea what to expect but on the way we saw alredy warthdogs with their cute little babies around the house.Took the same night an
evening safari and saw some cheethas ,quit exeptional! Next early morning the whole day safari with breakfast and lunch!
We saw a lot of elefants and even the other big 4!
Good accommodation to stay near the border of the river of the park.Very nice people and a good cook for staying more than 2 days.
Next time we come we want a mosquito -net in the upperroom because it was only me who was suffering but even that it was more than worth while!

Room Tip: Beware of mosquitos in the upper-room above the kitchen (only female)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiec416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hi Sophie pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the great review . The wart hogs are still running around the lodge the small ones had an encounter with a Water monitor it was quite entertaining. We do have mosquito nets available on request but usually find that if you switch the air-con on it keeps them at bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Bushwise is the best overall lodge to view the Kruger Park and the Lowveld. The staff and guides are excellent. I have visited 12 times with family and friends from the UK and USA and all have enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARLB332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent 2 nights in Bushwise and really enjoyed our stay. They are in a lovely location with great views of the crocodile river where we had buffalo, hippo and elephant come and drink. We also saw hyena, warthog, kudu and zebra in the conservancy itself. Our time spent lazing in the infinity pool and lounging on the verandah was wonderful and walking beside the river was a delight. The food was of the wholesome home cooked variety but tasty.
The lodge is an easy 20 minute drive from crocodile bridge and as they are in a conservancy we saw many animals on our way too the park!
As previous reviewers have commented the carpets in the bathroom are not ideal and are a little marked and the bedding was a little torn but overall it was a pleasant stay and we would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are ideal as they give you a view to the crocodile river. The 5th room does not afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaandGuyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Good news to all our previous and future guests, we have taken note of your comments. We are now in the process of replacing all the carpets and curtains.
Thanks again for your construcitve criticism as it helps us to improve the lodge and our customer's satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 32 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Property: Bushwise Safaris
Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwise Safaris South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing