We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Ambiance”
Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location and Ambiance”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Arrived at Bushwise for a 4 night stay at 8pm in heavy rain after a delayed flight to nelspruit from Cape Town. We were scheduled to arrive about 3:30pm. There were 6 of us including my 2 grand children aged 9 and 13½. Tim and Annette greeted us and arranged a delicious meal of baboortie and a bottle of bubbly for my birthday.

Marloth Park is a good location to visit the KNP, Swaziland and even Mozambique.

The view of the Crocodile River from the bar, pool and lounge is spectacular. We watched a herd of 14 elephants come to drink at sunset.

The bedrooms are a little small but acceptable, there is plenty of hot water from the gas heaters in each bathroom. The meals were good and the service fun and efficient.

Werner Thom is the resident game guide and he took us on an allday drive in KNP where we saw 4 of the big five (leopards were sleeping) Werner cooked a great breakfast at one of the KNP picnic sites. His knowledge of animals, birds and plants is extensive.

Within Marloth Park there are zebra, giraffe impala warthogs roaming freely.

If we come back to the area we will stay again at Bushwise

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English_Traveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    60
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
87
130
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Travel- do not use the first entrance to Marloth park, but the the second entrance further along the tarred road. It is tarred all the way to Marloth Park, but cannot recall being sign posted. Not going to give the normal write-up, go and see and experience it for yourself. My son totally enjoyed the swimming pool, and the afternoon highlight for him was ride an elephant . Only had one day and two nights, which was far to short. Will stay much longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1toSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

What a stunning setting and opertunity to relax and enjoy the African Bush. Great service and good food which made for a very memorable trip to Kruger with family and friends. I would definetly recomend Bushwise Safaris lodge as a ideal location for your trip to Kruger. It gives one the option to relax at the pool and enjoy the bush after a day sightseeing in the park. The evening walks along the game fence alowed us to soak up the bush after a long day in the car. The bush in Kruger this time of year is very green and thick which limited the game viewing somewhat. The bushwise guides however helped by teaching us about the smaller insects and birds which was a welcome change from chasing the Big Five!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed with Bushwise Safaris over the long weekend and what a wonderful experience it was. Tim and Annette allowed us to experience our own African Adventure.

Bushwise Safari definetly offers fantastic service,delicious food, great staff, stunning views and overall an amazing African experience with luxurious rooms.

Can recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaAwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesbu
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My stay at Bushwise was not only breathtaking, but great value for money. The setting is absolutely incredible with a great lookout over the Kruger Park. The staff are friendly, and the activites enjoyable.
We will definately come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

From the great service we received during the booking process to our farewell, Bushwise was a perfect choice. The entire staff makes you feel so welcome and the size of the property ensures they can give you focused attention. We especially enjoyed Tim's great stories of his many adventures in the African bush. Great food, great rooms, awesome public spaces and pool - all right across from Kruger. You can walk for miles (kilometers!) along the well groomed trail along the fence and see so much of what the park has to offer. Book now - it's a wise choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonL300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The location can't be beat - right across from Kruger. Our first sight from the balcony was a herd of elephants across the river, and we had only been there two minutes. Only a fence separates you from the preserve. However, there are animals which walk around the house regularly - monkeys, warthog families - a zebra followed me back when I took a walk. Breakfast was quite good, and though it seemed a bit large we ate everything. One time they held up our dinner for over two hours because we had gotten off track and couldn't phone them. They were exceedingly helpful and set up various tours for us, farrying us to the different functions. Their own full day safari was very good. The staff, especially the manager/naturalist was the most friendly, knowledgeable, and accomendating person you'll ever meet. The only negative we thought were the dinners. I had wanted to have wild game, but was told that other guests wanted more common fare, so that's what they provided. They did try to get us some ostrich, but there had been a problem with the ostrich that season, so no go. I would wholeheartedly recommend this lodge to anyone interested in experiencing wild animals along with excellent service and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hi Gail. Thanks for your kind comments all ways good to have Americans come and stay and give us the opportunity to show you all that Kruger has to offer. If you come again I will cook you the best wild game steaks on an open fire in the boma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#68 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Property: Bushwise Safaris
Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwise Safaris South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing