We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice serene lodge”
Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Nice serene lodge”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at Bushwise for three nights, not encountering any other guest for the whole stay. We felt at home, being really good taken care of by our knowledgeable guide.
We had some fantastic trips to Kruger with our guide from Bushwise, the highlight was the "morning walk" that we highly recommend!
Rooms are nice, though there are lots of ants in the bathroom. The patio is idyllic, so is the fenced-in area in the back where we had three really romantic dinners in front of the bonfire.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smfuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    60
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
86
130
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This property states they are a 4 star lodge but I would give it 2 stars. The lodge is small with very small rooms. The bathroom was tiny and smelled musty, probably due to the door mat they used for a bath mat. The carpet was dirty and stained. After taking a shower I walked over to the bed and the bottom of my feet were filthy with dirt and debris from the carpet. Needless to say I wore my flip flops for the rest of our stay! The bathroom is out dated and in serious need of a remodel. The shower would not drain while showering. The food was good and served buffet style, but no choices are given. You eat what the cook prepares for that day. The staff was very friendly and did a great job. We chose this property because it got very good reviews, but it did not meet the quality that others said it did. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi Brenda
Thank you for your review. It is a pity that you did not bring your disappointment to our attention while you were with us, then we could have given you a bigger room with new carpets. I accommodate you in the room with a private balcony and great view over Kruger Park and the Crocodile river as all our guests that previously stayed in that room had found it very pleasant and to their satisfaction. As mentioned elsewhere, we are in the process of replacing all the carpets and due to popular demand (private balcony and lovely view), the carpet in that room had to be the last one to be replaced.
Appreciate your remarks on the the good food and friendly staff, always good to hear.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in our beautiful Country.
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Arrived at Bushwise for a 4 night stay at 8pm in heavy rain after a delayed flight to nelspruit from Cape Town. We were scheduled to arrive about 3:30pm. There were 6 of us including my 2 grand children aged 9 and 13½. Tim and Annette greeted us and arranged a delicious meal of baboortie and a bottle of bubbly for my birthday.

Marloth Park is a good location to visit the KNP, Swaziland and even Mozambique.

The view of the Crocodile River from the bar, pool and lounge is spectacular. We watched a herd of 14 elephants come to drink at sunset.

The bedrooms are a little small but acceptable, there is plenty of hot water from the gas heaters in each bathroom. The meals were good and the service fun and efficient.

Werner Thom is the resident game guide and he took us on an allday drive in KNP where we saw 4 of the big five (leopards were sleeping) Werner cooked a great breakfast at one of the KNP picnic sites. His knowledge of animals, birds and plants is extensive.

Within Marloth Park there are zebra, giraffe impala warthogs roaming freely.

If we come back to the area we will stay again at Bushwise

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English_Traveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Travel- do not use the first entrance to Marloth park, but the the second entrance further along the tarred road. It is tarred all the way to Marloth Park, but cannot recall being sign posted. Not going to give the normal write-up, go and see and experience it for yourself. My son totally enjoyed the swimming pool, and the afternoon highlight for him was ride an elephant . Only had one day and two nights, which was far to short. Will stay much longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1toSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

What a stunning setting and opertunity to relax and enjoy the African Bush. Great service and good food which made for a very memorable trip to Kruger with family and friends. I would definetly recomend Bushwise Safaris lodge as a ideal location for your trip to Kruger. It gives one the option to relax at the pool and enjoy the bush after a day sightseeing in the park. The evening walks along the game fence alowed us to soak up the bush after a long day in the car. The bush in Kruger this time of year is very green and thick which limited the game viewing somewhat. The bushwise guides however helped by teaching us about the smaller insects and birds which was a welcome change from chasing the Big Five!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed with Bushwise Safaris over the long weekend and what a wonderful experience it was. Tim and Annette allowed us to experience our own African Adventure.

Bushwise Safari definetly offers fantastic service,delicious food, great staff, stunning views and overall an amazing African experience with luxurious rooms.

Can recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiancaAwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesbu
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My stay at Bushwise was not only breathtaking, but great value for money. The setting is absolutely incredible with a great lookout over the Kruger Park. The staff are friendly, and the activites enjoyable.
We will definately come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#67 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Property: Bushwise Safaris
Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwise Safaris South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing