We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
175 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful Break”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had gone down to Maputo for business and decided to take a short break in South Africa. Stayed for 2 nights at Bushwise Safaris and had a most relaxing and wonderful break. The lodge though small is very comfortable with an interesting bar and nice rooms. We were picked up from Maputo by Werner and Duane who took good care of us during our stay. The safaris organised by the lodge were absolutely marvelous. Duane is an expert ranger and knows Kruger National Park well. We were able to spot the Big 5 on our first day itself. Having left early in the morning for the safari, we stopped at one of the picnic spots in the park for a tasty breakfast cooked by Duane.
An excellent Dinner at the lodge was served outside in a fenced in area with a bonfire.
The lodge is conveniently located and is an easy 20 minutes drive to the Kruger National Park

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pravine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi Pravine
Thank you for the positive review it is all ways good to hear that our clients enjoyed their stay and that you had a very productive safari and that we were able to show you the big 5 on your first day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    60
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
86
130
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

After having flights delayed by a day and travelling for 48 hours it was a welcome relief to arrive at Bushwise. They made us feel right at home and made sure we didn't miss out on of the activities we had booked. I would highly recommend the walking tour. It is an early start but a great experience seeing the animals at ground level. Tim was kind enough to give us a very early morning lift to the Mozambique border (which for any travellers is only a few km down the road) so we could continue our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigalz12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Pity about the flight delay but pleased we were ably to make up the time to ensure that you had the Kruger experence. Thanks for recomending the walking safari most of our guests have thoroughly enjoyed the walk on the wild side to smell feel see the bush and game up close is an awesome experence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Beautiful lodge, ideal for that great bush experience. It's ideally situated along the crocodile River, attracting a great deal of wildlife who come to drink and bath at sunrise and sunset, even more amazing giraffes, zebra, and ostrich roam freely around the lodge. The lodge offers an amazing range of activities, game drives, elephant interaction, animal rides through the bushveld. Staff were amazing and went out of their way to ensure we an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor, for great views over the crocodile river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narissa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bushwise and have passed on your complimentary comments to the staff. Good to have the game around the lodge but the zebra have destroyed the lawn given up chasing them away, when I do they have that look in their eyes WE WILL BE BACK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Bushwise Safaris was a great choice for our last night in the Kruger Park area. After 4 nights inside the park, staying at bare minimum rest camps with basic amenities, Bushwise was a refreshing change with its wonderful traditional dinner and knowledgeable owners. The room was beautiful and entire place had loads of charm; we especially enjoyed the second story outdoor bar and pool overlooking the Crocodile River. Tim was a wealth of information and it was great have the answers to so many of the questions we gathered all week. The walk alongside the river was an added bonus after all the places in the park you could not get out of your vehicle and take a stroll.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for the review it was great meeting the two of you pity you could not have stayed with us for longer so I could have shown you what Kruger is all about and what it has to offer. Hope you had a good trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryn mawr
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My husband and I were to excited to see the animals in their natural habitat....we encountered everything!! Bushwise offered morning walks, sunset drives, full day and half day drives. We went on one full day, two morning walks and two night drives plus a visit to the Swazi cultural center and an elephant sanctuary. Our very first night ride we saw the Big 5!!

Our trip was really wonderful, Verner, Duane, and Annette did their absolute best to help us with every accommodation. We really enjoyed our time at the lodge just walking the fence and seeing the animals in the park just on the other side. In Moloth Park we encountered giraffe, zebra, impala, warthog, mongoose, beautiful birds....everything except for something that could potentially eat us traveled along the roads on our side of the fence.

We would absolutely stay at Bushwise when we return to South Africa!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneschwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Hi Lynne & Rich,
I'm really pleased that we could share your first anniversary with you and that you were lucky to have such wonderful sightings on your morning walk. Glad the elephants behaved themselves during your elephant back safari. Hopefully you will make us your yearly anniversary destination.
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Thanks Anette and Tim for exellent 2 days stay. We loved to be there. The lodge is probebely not a 4star accomandation, but we really like the lodge and the service. We think the guide is fantastic and a real enthusiast . He will do all for us and we drive 240 km Saturday. In the end of the day, after sundown we saw 5 lions walking on the road, just 1,5 m from the car.
And we think that compared to low prices , this is great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeifAlta_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at Bushwise for three nights, not encountering any other guest for the whole stay. We felt at home, being really good taken care of by our knowledgeable guide.
We had some fantastic trips to Kruger with our guide from Bushwise, the highlight was the "morning walk" that we highly recommend!
Rooms are nice, though there are lots of ants in the bathroom. The patio is idyllic, so is the fenced-in area in the back where we had three really romantic dinners in front of the bonfire.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smfuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
366 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 31 in Marloth Park
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 31 in Marloth Park
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 31 in Marloth Park
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Property: Bushwise Safaris
Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwise Safaris South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing