We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, family pension like”
Review of Bushwise Safaris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bushwise Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

2 Swedish ladies of some age spent 4 nights at Bushwise; the rooms were lovely and immaculate with aircondition which we appreciated a lot. Dinner in the garden is stunning (would be very romantic for a couple). Food very good and a lot - both breakfast and dinner. All the staff were extremely service minded, friendly and professional. A very special thanks to Donald for the very good guiding tours into Kruger!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharina_Sweden_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hello again,
We have conveyed your thanks to Donald. We here at Bushwise are very fortunate to have such a well mannered and knowledgeable guide in our employment, he is definitely an asset to Bushwise.
We shared a view anxious moments on our return trip to the airport, with the time delay at the road works.
When you're in Africa again it would be great if you could come for a return visit.
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Very nice and calm "resort" with good views over Crocodile River. Though the lodge is situated just outside the park it is som driving when you will go inside the area. On the other side the location has an advantage in that you can walk around in the neighborhood without being eaten by cats because you are outside the gated community.

Good food and kind and serviceminded owners and crew.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claes1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hi Claes,
Thank you for coming to stay at Bushwise and for giving us the opportunity to share our amazing bird life with such a keen bird watcher as yourself.
Luckily the drive to the nearest gate (Crocodile gate) now only takes 15 minutes, it took much longer before, as they only recently paved the road.
Hope you enjoyed the other part of your trip in our beautiful country as well.
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Me and my family took their 3 nights package and we enjoyed the stay very much. We actually came back after are a visit last year. Tim is a magnific host and the guided tours are very exciting. I especially appriciate the dinner out in the garden which are magic. For christmas they had made decorations and extra for us to celebrate and enjoy with the other guests at the lodge. A swim to cool down in the pool or having a chat in the bar is a good way to spend the hours when you are not in the park. Their new building with to double rooms are nicely designed especially the bath and shower. A bit nicer to stay in the old rooms as they are on the first floor giving a nice view. The morning walk is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gugge100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Manager at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Hello again,
Thanks for your return visit, was great to meet your two sons as well this time. Most of our clients also find the morning walk the highlight of their trip. One get to experience the Kruger Park in a complete different way - on foot, up close and personal with the animals.
Until next year then, we hope...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed four nights at Bushwise. The rooms are lovely and it is in a great location. I found the service to be quite unprofessional and disrespectful. Upon picking us up in Nelspruit, the owners then told us we would have to change rooms on the last night but because we were 'so understanding they were sure we wouldn't mind'. This would still have been okay if the room they changed us to didn't flood. When returning from dinner and letting them know our room had flooded, the owner did not apologise and expected us to still sleep in it with no water supply for the night. He was quite rude and unprofessional. Bushwise has a lot of potential but the owners did not treat us well. Donald, the tour guide was really knowledgeable though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1989shaye1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi Shaye,
Thank you for your constructive criticism. We sincerely apologise if you found our attitude to be rude, which was not our intention at all. I was disappointed and annoyed as we had the plumber in that same day and he had obviously not done a satisfactory job. We had no intention of expecting you to sleep in that room, and it took us a while to had another room made up for you.
We are very pleased that you find the location, sleep quality and cleanliness to your satisfaction. Also glad that Donald, our guide. lived up to your expectations in showing you all the wonders that the African Bush and the Kruger Park have to offer.
Hope you had a pleasant trip home.
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Me and my family stayed 5 nights and had Bushwise as the base for Kruger ssfaris. Perferct place to relax after a good day in the park. Donald was an excellent guide in the park. We even saw lions in KNP from Marloth Park. Nice to have KNP views from your room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Solvenas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi Roger,
You were here at a time that our lodge is usually surrounded by little baby animals - too cute! And you are right, we are very fortunate to have such a lovely view over the Kruger Park from our balconies. Nice to see the elephants playing in the Crocodile river in front of the lodge on a daily basis as well, but to see the lions from your balcony was very special, you were so lucky! Our game viewing safaris are our speciality, that is why we employed such a knowledgeable and experienced guide. Donald has a passion for the African bush - glad you had the chance to share that with him, it makes it so much better than just driving inside the Kruger in your own car.
Back in cold cold Sweden already I suppose? Hope you miss the sunny skies of Africa....
Annette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had a wonderful time, staff very well trained, food was very good, very nice atmosphere... and not to forget we had a very warm welcome... humid and very hot but after all the swimming pool on the deck made it all worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Esterhuizen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BushwiseSafaris, Owner at Bushwise Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi again,
The swimming pool definitely gets well used during the summer months, especially in the evenings when the elephants also come down to the river in front of the lodge to have a drink and cool down.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and meals.
Hope you had a save trip home.
Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Bushwise Safaris was great. You could sit and have a beer while watching giraffes and buffalos over the river in Kruger Park. The safaris in Kruger were absolutely amazing and you should definitely do the full day safari. The owners were very nice people and the accommodation was also of a really good standard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
18.2 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
415 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#4 of 37 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Phumula Kruger Lodge
Phumula Kruger Lodge
#8 of 37 in Marloth Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 37 in Marloth Park
258 reviews
4 mi away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 37 in Marloth Park
454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#7 of 37 in Marloth Park
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushwise Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushwise Safaris

Address: PO Box 909 | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: £110 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bushwise Safaris 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of Africa distilled into one lodge - Bushwise Safaris. Situated on the banks of the Crocodile River overlooking the Kruger Park, Bushwise Safari Lodge combines the real Kruger Safari experience with accommodation boasting a unique ambiance true to the safari adventure you are seeking. Watch the animals by the river from our big open balcony or swimming pool. Become part of the African night, hear the roar of lions, the call of hyenas and the grunting of hippos coming from the dark. Become part of Africa! We specialize in open vehicle safaris, sunset drives and morning walks inside the Kruger Park. Other activities include Tiger fishing, elephant back safaris, micro light flights, quad biking, horse riding and historical tours to Maputo and Swaziland as well as a day trip on the Panorama route ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bushwise Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushwise Safaris South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing