We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place for Kruger Safaris and great Relaxation”
Review of Needles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Needles Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal place for Kruger Safaris and great Relaxation”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our stay at Needles Lodge in December 2013 was a fantastic start to our Southafrica vacation. Denis, Gail and their team made our stay warm and comfortable, always providing a family-like atmosphere. The place is a treat, with beautiful rooms, great food and good wine. There are always wild animals around the lodge, giving a special flair to the environment. We enjoyed the game drives and walks tremendously, especially because of the competent and committed guides. Really hope to come back one day! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phaidros04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Hello, hello. good to hear you got back to Europe safely. Thank you very much for such a kind review. We are very happy that we can create that homely atmosphere at Needles, it makes our work so much fun! We hope to see you back soon! All the best, Denis, Gail, and the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
187
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for two nights on the way back from a visit in Mozambique. Having found the lodge on tripadvisor I had been communicating directly with Denis before arriving and he had made sure that we had two rooms (one of me and my wife and one for our two daughters). Always trying to save a little we had only requested one room but Denis had insisted that it would be better to stay in two rooms and had only charged children rates (half) for the second room.This is very much in the spirit of the Needles Lodge which feels not so much a stay in a lodge as a visit to the home of good friends. This carries over to sun-down drinks on the deck after a long day in Kruger and dinning at a communal table at night (on the first day we were at Needles with friends and therefore had our own table which is also possible should you prefer). The food is a whole other experience and the menu seems to be determined to fit the clientele staying at the lodge.

We managed to visit Kruger twice while staying at Needles Lodge. The first time was a sunset safari in the car of our friends on the day of our arrival (should you come in a car this is definitely a good option) and the second was a full day safari arranged by Needles Lodge. Should you arrange a full day safari it is a FULL day safari. You will be woken up at 4.30 so you can leave at 5.00 and will get breakfast in the park cooked over gas stove (South African Brai style) and will only be back again around 5,30PM. On both safaris we saw lots of animals and ended up only missing one (leopard) of the big five.. Should we have missed out on some of the animals we could always catch up at night where many of the wild Warthogs, Wilder Beasts and Zebras will come all the way up to the deck in front of the hotel (Marloth park has quite a lot of animals and as they are not allowed to fence in the single estates, the animals roam freely)

We had order transfer to Nelspruit Airport at the end of our stay as we needed to pick up a car to drive to Johannesburg. As it turned out the transfer was Denis and Gail driving us in their own car which only reinforced the feeling of staying at the house of good friends. All in all a perfect stay...

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 and 2 which are alone side by side on one side of the reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henriksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Henrik,
Wow, what a detailed and very kind review. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It was fun having you, your family and friends spend some quality time with us at Needles, who knows perhaps you can have another reunion here some time in the future. We hope you had a great New Year and wish you the very best for 2014. Warm regards, Denis. Gail and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My friend and I visited Needles Lodge a couple of weeks back. We randomly came across it online and were impressed by their amazing pictures. The pictures by no way did the lodge the justice it deserves and definitely does not express how welcoming and accommodating both Denis, Gail and their staff were. As we were only staying for one night on our way to Mozambique, we did not have time to book a full safari package, however to ensure that we managed to see some of the Kruger's beauty Gail and Denis took us out to watch the sunset, where we managed to view a vast array of animals (which was a beautiful gesture). The accommodation was beautiful and the grounds stunning, it was amazing to see so many wild animals wondering around freely. The family style dinner was also fabulous as it also meant we had the opportunity to interact with other guests. The food provided by the chef was beautiful and it was hands down the best butternut soup I have ever tasted. I would recommend Needles Lodge to friends and will definitely book the Lodge the next time I visit South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Chantelle,
Happy New Year and all the best for a fantastic 2014. Thank you so much for the lovely review. We also love the bush and having sun-downer drinks at the river so it was our pleasure. We hope you stay a little longer next time! All the best, Denis, Gail and the Needles team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My friend and I visited Needles lodge about a week ago, and we both loved it! I choose this place based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews it had received, and having now visited Needles, I can only agree with all the wonderful things others have written before me! The food was exquisite, the lodge decor was stunning and the location first class - in the African bush only a short drive from the Kruger National Park! Denis, Gail and Wesley were so friendly and we enjoyed immensely our conversations with them about life in Africa and other things! We also found the tariffs reasonable and the lodge to provide excellent value for money. We truly recommend Needles Lodge, it's a perfect place for experiencing african safari, bush life, excellent dining and true South African hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Joanna,

I'm writing this response and you're actually back at Needles a week later to join us for Christmas Eve! It is so nice to have you back so soon! Thank you very much for such a lovely review. Our lodge is our passion and having guests like you appreciate what we do makes it so much better. Thank you! Merry Christmas!
Denis, Gail, Wesley, Vusi, Thandi, Thabi, Thriphinah & Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I enjoyed the service and personal touch received from Denis and Gail and especially the early morning mountain bike ride that takes you along the Crocodile river with excellent game watching opportunities in the river and in the park itself. I would definitely recommend Needles Lodge and return on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Aisie,
The bike ride with you was great! Nothing better than an early morning ride along the Crocodile River to start the day! Thank you very much for choosing Needles Lodge and taking the time to do a great review for us. We look forward to seeing you in January.
Best regards
Denis & Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We chose to stay at Needles based on Tripadvisor reviews and its location close to Kruger as well as Swaziland and Mozambique.

The lodge is located in Marloth Park near the Crocodile Bridge entrance to Kruger. It’s about a 30 minute drive to the park. The lodge itself is very comfortable and somewhat secluded ,allowing the animals to literally be just outside your doorstep. Every morning we would wake up wondering what animals would be waiting for us. We had zebra, kudu, warthogs and even a giraffe one morning across the road. You can pay ten times more for some lodges near Kruger and never get that experience.

Denis and Gail were wonderful hosts and could not have been any nicer. We felt more like family than guests at their lodge. The staff was also very courteous and the meals were all delicious. The bush babies provide the entertainment during dinner.

All the trips Denis arranged for us-including Kruger twice, Swaziland and Mozambique- were excellent and I would recommend all of them if you are in the area. Denis arranged a private game drive into Kruger and the guide (Dylan) was great as well.
Overall, we couldn’t find any faults. We have been all over southern Africa many times and have never been so close to the wildlife or felt so welcomed. In our opinion, this is the best value safari you’ll find in Africa. Thank you Denis and Gail.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tws1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello Team USA! Glad to hear you guys are still good after your overland adventure up North in Mozambique. We had great fun with you guys here, it makes this job worthwhile when we get lovely reviews from our guests. Thank you all very much for the review and your visit. We hope to welcome you back some day. All the best, Denis, Gail & the Needles Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We really enjoyed our experience at needles.
the food, the host, the location,.. everything was great.
We were very satisfied with everything.
The best was the dinner:
Denis (the owner) always put multiple pieces of banana on the rail of the patio. After a few minutes we seen some bushbabys grabbing those banana pieces, lovely!
We had two great nights at needles!
thank you Denis!

Daniel & Kerstin

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingdrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Daniel & Kerstin,
What can I say? You really flatter us with your very kind comments. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, Denis, Gail and the Needles Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
4.1 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
185 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
366 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
215 reviews
8.2 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 172 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Property: Needles Lodge
Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Needles Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing