We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* Experience!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Needles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Needles Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5* Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at Needles as a family with our 3 young children and our parents for a party of 7. We had two comfortable rooms between us and although a last minute booking and limited availability, the staff managed to fit an extra bed and travel cot in our room to accommodate all 3 children. The highlights: the wonderful service from the owners Denis and Gail, to manager Wesley and all the other staff that kept everything running smoothly. Guest comfort and satisfaction is a top priority here! Second only to the service was the amazing food! We had spent a week in St. Lucia and couldn't find fresh local seafood anywhere. Our first dinner at Needles included fresh clams picked up in Mozambique that morning. Every meal we had was fantastic with tempting choices, lovely desserts, fine wines and good coffee! Family style dining with Denis, Gail, Wesley and the other guests was full of stimulating conversation and fun international banter. One must not overlook the unique wildlife encounters. We fed zebras before breakfast on the verandah and watched the bush babies while we ate dinner. The garden and pool are smallish but well-appointed and our kids had a fab time! They were made to feel welcome with their noise and exuberance. Finally, the excursions offered are diverse and include shopping & seaside trips to Mozambique (about 120kms away), guided safaris in Kruger Park, bike rides and walks in Martloth Park and a variety of custom trips you can plan with Denis. We would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling in the area.

Room Tip: If you don't want the pool noise you can request a room in the west wing of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Cheryl, John & family.
Your surprise stay was fantastic, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your amazing review. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to perhaps seeing you at Needles again. Best regards, Denis, Gail & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
172
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I rarely write reviews for some reasons. Yes, I am lazy, yes, it is a challange to find right words for unforgettable experience. Especially if you're not a native speaker. But I have to write it because this place really deserves to be noted and praised.

The lodge is situated in the middle of a conservation area, surrounded by a green vastness of bushes and a peacful silence interrupted only by indigenous animals residing in the wildness arround you. So you will hear and see, at day and night, wild fauna approaching you while having a cup of tea on the amazing terrace (don't worry, it is safe).

The lodge is more impressive. It has been designed to pamper you with a comfortable common area where you can find lots of interesting books about the park and Afrika itself while waiting for your dinner. The interior design, up to each detail, is carefully chosen, of high quality and good taste. The rooms are specious, neatly established, with comfortable beds, always fresh and home-like sheets. And very clean!

The food is part of the incredible value you get for your money. You will be spoilt each night with signature dishes cooked and served by the home cook. A fine dining experience in the middle of the wildness. Do not forget to ask for one or two of the wonderful bottle of wine from Denis and Gail collection.

And so I have reached the point: the owners. You will be smashed by their hospitality. They are always their to make sure you enjoy every minute of your stay. Don't worry, they will give you enough space for your privacy whenever you need it. But I'd like to encourage you to socialize with this interesting couple (spouses meanwhile, congrats guys!). Gail will always read in your mind when you need a glass of wine or a cocktail while Denis will share with you fascinating stories about the life in the park and South Africa. You will be shocked (literally) how big is this guy's knowledge and how much you can learn about flora and fauna without even opening a book.

At last but not least Dylan: a passionate ranger who will drive 100 extra miles around the park to make sure that you will spot the big five. I can recommend a full day safari, although be ready, it is a bit tiring, so recharge your batteries while sitting on the terrace and talking to the zebras or kudus around you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcinJ219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello Marcin,

Long time no hear but better late than never they say! Thank you very much for the fantastic review. It was great having you guys here and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the food. We hope to see you again in the future, when you feel like a break from work and some time in the bush. All the best, Denis, Gail and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We are just back from a flying visit to my old homeland! Staying at Needles Lodge for 3 nights with my wife & kids was the highlight of our trip...Dennis and Gail and all the Needles staff were absolutely brilliant ... The lodge itself is fantastic and the intimacy of only 6 guest rooms made it even more special. The food was home cooking at its very best and sitting at the communal dining table to enjoy it with the other guests and staff was most enjoyable. For the short time we spent there; the Early morning walk & Full day game drive to Kruger as well as cycling in Marloth park along the banks of the Olifants river were really special. And enjoying all the animals that visited Needles was the cherry on top of our "Out of Africa experience"
I guess the only question is when we will return...for at least a week and combine it with an expedition to Mozambique... Thanks again, Warren, Karen, Blair & Kate
Edinburgh, Scotland

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenKaren63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hi Warren & Karen,

Thanks a million for your wonderful review! We had a fun time with you and your family and missed you for days when you left. Always good to have South African living abroad visiting the homeland and enjoying the experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you back and arranging the Mozambique adventure for you! Warm regards, Denis, Gail, Wesley & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We are just back from 4 nights of first class service and hospitality at Needles Lodge. Denis, Gail and Wesley (wee man) make you feel at home as soon as you walk in the door. We had some great conversations over dinner (the food is very good) and more than a few glasses of inexpensive wine.

We took the safari package with Dylan, the duracell bunny who is passioante about Kruger and his job. A full day safari means a full day safari, tiring but worth it as you see so much more with a professional guide

An amazing experience, thanks guys

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear I&E,
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much for the kind words and for choosing Needles for your Safari break. We look forward to seeing you back here in the future or perhaps visiting you in Scotland! Wee Man sends his best regards as do the zebra & warthogs. Thank you again and all the very best. Warm regards, Denis, Gail, Wee Man & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Wonderful experience. The managers and employees are very kind. The environment very nice. The food - compliments to the cooker - and services are nice. The proximity to Maputo in geographic distance and the exciting environment are quite good for relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Momade,

Muito obrigado, it was great to meet you and your lovely family. We had some very interesting talks and we enjoyed your company. We look forward to seeing you here again in the future. Warm regards, Denis, Gail and the Needles team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I visited Needles for 4 days through New Years 2014. Upon our arrival we were received extremely well by the staff and the innkeeper, Wesley. and were immediately made to feel at home. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Arriving for dinner we were seated with the other guests at a long table which was unexpected. At first we were a little taken back but after our first dinner we came to cherish the nighty communal dining ritual and also the excellent food that was served. We met some wonderful people. Needles had a very good wine-list with very reasonable prices and though they could have charged much more due to their remoteness of their property they never capitalized on overcharging for drinks or wine. Prices were very reasonable. The nicest part of our experience was the personal touch of the owners of the property who dined with us nightly and looked after us as if we were their most special guests. They personanly took care of our daily activities ensuring the best excursions were made available to us ensuring prices were reasonable as well. My wife and I travel extensively and it has been many many years since we have been treated to such great, professional and warm hospitality. Denis, Wesley, Gail and staff you made our holiday most pleasurable and will most certainly come back again. We congratulate you on creating such a unique, professional and warm experience for unsuspecting travellers like us. Thank you and best wishes.

Lionel and Eustina (Vancouver, Canada)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Lionel & Eustina,
Thank you for such a kind and flattering review! It makes our job worthwhile when we get such kind and positive feedback from guests. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at Needles again! All the best, Denis, Gail, Wesley & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have had a fabulous stay at Needles Lodge. We were there from 10/01/2014 until 23/01/2014 on our honeymoon with our 5 year old daughter.

Denis, Gail and their entire staff who gave us a great welcoming and accommodation!
We would in particular like to emphasize the high quality of the food and wines served, which were absolutely delicious (including the morning special omelets from the great cook, Vusi!). Ask one and you will experience an omelet you have never eaten before in your life!
The rooms and facilities are beautiful and very nicely decorated with a genuine African style.
All comfort guaranteed (air-conditioning, fans, instant coffee or tea in the room, tissues, etc.)
What you see on the Needles Lodge website is nowhere near of what you can expect in real! Although the website is very well done, the reality at Needles is breath taking. You are really in the middle of the African bush! The animals in Marloth Park are free to run everywhere they want, wich brings some nice surprises.

You can really see all kinds of animals (bush babies at night, genets, gnus, warthogs, zebras, impalas, kudus and so much more) coming very close to the main deck, offering the guests an unforgettable spectacle during evening dinner!
Needles Lodge offers a very flexible and creative menu with lots of different activities, including a whole day safari drive in Kruger Park in an open vehicle (absolutely recommended and "must do" - you see and experience so much more than with a self-drive).

We also did a fantastic sunset cocktail with a view on the Crocodile River. Also we went in the Highveld escarpment on the Panorama Tour, during which we saw the “Blyde River Canyon”, world’s third biggest and green canyon in the world. Breathtaking! On the way back to Needles, a bit further it is almost mandatory to stop at the Mac Mac Falls.

At Needles Lodge, you are very close to the Mozambican border (+- 20km). We highly recommend you to visit Mozambique. Different possibilities here, such as a daytrip to Maputo (city with a lot of the old Portuguese historical heritage) or short journey in Xai Xai.
We stayed for a couple of days in a nice villa with sea view, at Xai Xai Eco Estate and Reef Resort, offering a 5 star accommodation, not even mentioning the “Café Pescador”, the beautiful restaurant directly attached to the resort. Scot and Judy (partnering with Needles Lodge) will reserve you a warm welcome. The food (especially the fish of the day) is highly recommended. Again, you face a breathtaking view on the unspoiled dunes and magnificent sea behind. Ask Denis for a personalized program and offer.
We would more than highly recommend staying at Needles Lodge if you are looking for a varied, cosy, very personalized and amazing holiday with a hospitality that will offer you an unforgettable experience! Also absolutely recommended with little children (as from 4 or 5 years old).

Jean-Philippe & Dionne Van Aelst in Brussels (Belgium)

Room Tip: For special requirements do not hesitate to address your request to the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Philippe2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear JP, Dionne & Olivia,

We had a very special time with you guys and really enjoyed sharing our bit of Africa with you! Thank you very much for the fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you here again in the future. Best regards, Denis, Gail and the Needles team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
4.0 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 30 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 30 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
8.2 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 30 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 30 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 30 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Property: Needles Lodge
Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Needles Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing