We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend at Needles”
Review of Needles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Needles Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderful weekend at Needles”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Needles lodge. My wife, 10 month old baby and I stayed for a weekend. Wesley the Manager was friendly and fun to hangout with. The food here is terrific and since it is in Marloth park, there are zebra, warthogs and Giraffes that will join you during your stay. a very relaxing place near Kruger to spend a few days!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Manager at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
For Wesley Lichtenstein
Hi Daniel & Angela,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you Daniel and to see Angela back at Needles. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Wesley & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
187
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Service is top notch. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Don't come expecting to use the internet (it's tough to maintain bandwidth without it costing an arm and a leg), rather, enjoy and relax away from it all.

Transportation: Extremely convenient. Either Wesley, Gail or Dennis will literally come to pick you up and bring you to the lodge. I was transported to and from the Nelspruit airport, but my friends were picked up in Maputo.

Food: Every night you're greeted with candle light under a beautiful hard wood canopy. The three course meal was, time after time, AMAZING. Breakfast is equally as delicious. Want wine? No problem - they keep a stock for thirsty travelers (i'd recommend the pinotage)

Room Tip: All rooms are centrally located so every one of them is great. Quick tip, bathrooms are not sealed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi Colton,
Thank you very much for the fantastic review. You guys were really fun guests and kept a very busy agenda and took full advantage of the few days you spent in the African bush. We are trying to sort something out with the Wi-Fi but it's proving to be very difficult in the bush! Thank you again, we hope to see you back someday. All the best, Denis, Gail, Wesley & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wateringen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in Needles Lodge, Very beautiful, In the middle of the Marloth park at the south side of Crocodile river. 20 minutes drive to Kruger Park Crocodile Bridge Gate.
Very friendly people, delicious food!
The lodge is in the middle of the bush. Zebras and warthogs are walking in the garden. We did a full day game drive in the Kruger Park. Super!!!
The sundown trip to Crocodile river was very nice. Great views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerryJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Ferry,
Your kind words and review are greatly appreciated. Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Denis, Gail, Wesley & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent a delightful 7 nights at Needles at the beginning of February.
It is located on the edge of Kruger Park, hence ideal for game viewing as well as offering very close up viewing of locally resident Zebra, Kudu, Warthog etc . We did two full day game drives in Kruger, and were picked up from the Lodge at 5a.m. returning back at 6.30p.m. Breakfast cooked by our guide on a Brai within Kruger Park was unforgettable!
Communal breakfast and dinners at the Lodge were another highlight. Excellent quality meals were carefully prepared and beautifully presented and the menu was never repeated in our 7 days stay.
Owners Denis and Gail, helped by their manager Wesley inspire their staff and all go out of their way to make the place feel very warm and hospitable. Overall we loved our stay at Needles and felt totally rejuvenated by the time we departed. This is definitely the place to go if you want to wind down!
On return home and checking our bill, we submitted a query about some charged items. This was very quickly acknowledged and corrected by Denis which reassured us greatly.
We certainly will return to Needles when we next visit South Africa.

Room Tip: Our room spotless room was spacious and very comfortable in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Cyril & Charlotte, It was wonderful having you both spend a week a Needles. We really enjoyed our evening dinner chats. Thank you very much for the kind words and taking the time to do a review. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards, Denis, Gail, Wesley and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile


As we were traveling thru Swaziland we were on the internet looking for a place to stay in or close to Kruger Park on short notice when we found this lodge on the web. We called and amazingly they were able to accommodate our party of 4 adults and 3 children aged 2 to 8! They even called us back an hour or so later making sure we were on the right track to get there as there was some construction on the highway and we were coming from Swaziland rather than within South Africa.
When we arrived,Denise, the owner and Wesley, the manager were right there to help get the car and trailer parked, our bags unloaded and show us to our rooms. Denise's wife Gayle was there to greet us as well. We were greeted by the staff with warm wash clothes to wipe the travel from our faces and glasses of fresh squeezed juice.
This lodge far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were tastefully decorated and welcoming. The bed and linens were very comfortable.
The pool was enjoyed after a day of driving. The food was definitely 5 star and plentiful. The staff was very friendly and looked after us very well.
It was an experience that truly embodied the word safari to me! But the true success of this lodge is the owners, Denise and Gayle and the manager, Wesley! We had originally planned to stay one night and then head back to Johannesburg but after spending when night with them, we decided to stay another night. They made a great experience a once in a lifetime one! They spent time visiting with us, getting to know us and taking the time to answer our questions. We felt we were not just guests but friends. We hope to return and continue the relationship.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glendaleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Glenda,
Wow what a complete and flattering review! Thank you very much. We really enjoyed having you and your wonderful family stay with us and look forward to your return. Best regards, Denis, Gail & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at Needles as a family with our 3 young children and our parents for a party of 7. We had two comfortable rooms between us and although a last minute booking and limited availability, the staff managed to fit an extra bed and travel cot in our room to accommodate all 3 children. The highlights: the wonderful service from the owners Denis and Gail, to manager Wesley and all the other staff that kept everything running smoothly. Guest comfort and satisfaction is a top priority here! Second only to the service was the amazing food! We had spent a week in St. Lucia and couldn't find fresh local seafood anywhere. Our first dinner at Needles included fresh clams picked up in Mozambique that morning. Every meal we had was fantastic with tempting choices, lovely desserts, fine wines and good coffee! Family style dining with Denis, Gail, Wesley and the other guests was full of stimulating conversation and fun international banter. One must not overlook the unique wildlife encounters. We fed zebras before breakfast on the verandah and watched the bush babies while we ate dinner. The garden and pool are smallish but well-appointed and our kids had a fab time! They were made to feel welcome with their noise and exuberance. Finally, the excursions offered are diverse and include shopping & seaside trips to Mozambique (about 120kms away), guided safaris in Kruger Park, bike rides and walks in Martloth Park and a variety of custom trips you can plan with Denis. We would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling in the area.

Room Tip: If you don't want the pool noise you can request a room in the west wing of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Cheryl, John & family.
Your surprise stay was fantastic, thank you for staying with us and thank you for your amazing review. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to perhaps seeing you at Needles again. Best regards, Denis, Gail & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I rarely write reviews for some reasons. Yes, I am lazy, yes, it is a challange to find right words for unforgettable experience. Especially if you're not a native speaker. But I have to write it because this place really deserves to be noted and praised.

The lodge is situated in the middle of a conservation area, surrounded by a green vastness of bushes and a peacful silence interrupted only by indigenous animals residing in the wildness arround you. So you will hear and see, at day and night, wild fauna approaching you while having a cup of tea on the amazing terrace (don't worry, it is safe).

The lodge is more impressive. It has been designed to pamper you with a comfortable common area where you can find lots of interesting books about the park and Afrika itself while waiting for your dinner. The interior design, up to each detail, is carefully chosen, of high quality and good taste. The rooms are specious, neatly established, with comfortable beds, always fresh and home-like sheets. And very clean!

The food is part of the incredible value you get for your money. You will be spoilt each night with signature dishes cooked and served by the home cook. A fine dining experience in the middle of the wildness. Do not forget to ask for one or two of the wonderful bottle of wine from Denis and Gail collection.

And so I have reached the point: the owners. You will be smashed by their hospitality. They are always their to make sure you enjoy every minute of your stay. Don't worry, they will give you enough space for your privacy whenever you need it. But I'd like to encourage you to socialize with this interesting couple (spouses meanwhile, congrats guys!). Gail will always read in your mind when you need a glass of wine or a cocktail while Denis will share with you fascinating stories about the life in the park and South Africa. You will be shocked (literally) how big is this guy's knowledge and how much you can learn about flora and fauna without even opening a book.

At last but not least Dylan: a passionate ranger who will drive 100 extra miles around the park to make sure that you will spot the big five. I can recommend a full day safari, although be ready, it is a bit tiring, so recharge your batteries while sitting on the terrace and talking to the zebras or kudus around you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcinJ219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello Marcin,

Long time no hear but better late than never they say! Thank you very much for the fantastic review. It was great having you guys here and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and the food. We hope to see you again in the future, when you feel like a break from work and some time in the bush. All the best, Denis, Gail and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
4.1 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#4 of 34 in Marloth Park
185 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 34 in Marloth Park
366 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#5 of 34 in Marloth Park
215 reviews
8.2 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 172 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Property: Needles Lodge
Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Needles Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing