We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”
Review of Needles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Needles Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Needles Lodge is quite simply the most perfect place to stay if you want luxury, a great location, outstanding food and quite possibly the best hosts we have ever experienced (and we have travelled extensively around the world)
Upon arrival we were greeted by name and offered a refreshing towel and glass of juice. It was then we saw the zebras outside. Denis and Wesley took us out to our room but we got waylaid by not just the zebras but wildebeest, warthogs and monkeys. Having wanted to go on safari since childhood, I was in my element and hadn't even got to my room yet!!
The lodge is small, having just 7 rooms but that is what we like and there is plenty of outdoor space to sit and even a small pool. Dinner is eaten outside with all guests and the owners and manager. It was superb - not just the food but sitting around like family which is how we were treated. They couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome and relaxed.
The game drive was well organised and our guide was Dylan who works closely with the lodge. He was incredible and very knowledgeable. Passionate about the wildlife and he managed to find the Big 5 all before lunchtime!! What a star he was and again felt like one of the family.
Our evenings were spent in the BOMA ( British Officers Mess Area - thanks for educating us Denis ) round a fire chatting with fabulous wine and later on port and brandy!
I could go on for pages but the truth is...you must try it for yourself. You will not be disappointed. From the helpfulness of Wesley during our booking to the warm welcome and the most perfect stay we have to say a huge thank you. We left a piece of us there and Needles Lodge certainly has a piece of our hearts. Outstanding on every level. The rest of our 6 week trip has a lot to live up to.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Val & Steve,

We are so lucky to always get fabulous guests like yourselves. It makes our hosting so much fun. Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review and of course your flattering comments about Needles Lodge & our staff. We really look forward to having you come back and visit soon! All the very best, Denis, Gail, Wesley & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
185
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed four nights. It was fabulous experince. We felt like part of the family right from the pickup at the airport. The food was great and the large room was perfectly decorated, so we should not think of anything, we just enjoyed our vacation. The organized game drives in Kruger were all perfectly arranged with a talented and inspirational guide. Along with Dennis and the other staff, in particular manager Wesley contributed to our stay at the needles have been a superior experience. If we get the opportunity to visit South Africa again, - needles lodge is our absolute choice as we have already recommended to others, best wishes

Michael & Mirjana (Copenhagen, Denmark)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Michael & Mirjana,

Wow guys! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We enjoyed having you here as much as you enjoyed being here. Pleasing guests like you makes our job really worth it. We hope to see you back here soon. All the best.
Denis, Gail, Wesley and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A group of 7 Canadians decended on Denis and Gail at Needles Lodge on May 25, 2014 for a 6 night stay. We were at the end of a month long adventure that saw us begin in Cape Town, up the Garden Route, into Swaziland and on to Marloth Park. We are all adults ranging in age from 21 to 65ish.
Right from the greeting we knew that we had chosen well. Hot cloths and cold juice were just what we needed. The rest of the stay was perfect. We took advantage of the many activities that Denis had on tap. We did the Crocodile River Sunset drive, the day trip to Maputo, Kruger Night Drive, Panoramic Route drive and the all day Kruger Safari. All were excellent.

The rooms were great and the large tub was bliss! The food was incrediably well done and the staff very nice and professional. We enjoyed the visits from the Zebras, Wildebeests, Warthogs and Kudus, some of which showed up twice a day.

I cannot recommend Needles enough!!! I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the same side of the lodge and only differ by the type of beds in each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpettem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Cappy & the Canadian Crew,
What a lot of fun we had! Thank you all very very much for the visit and the great review. Your visit with us was a real treat and we just loved the relaxed Canadian style and your appreciation of what South Africa has to offer. Cheers to you all.
Best regards
Denis, Gail, Wesley & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have sampled several lodges in Marloth Park and Needles definitely shines as the brightest star in the galaxy! We came with our two kids (13 and 8) my son's 13-year-old friend, and our 20-year-old niece. It was our niece's first time in Africa and on safari and we couldn't have wished for a more amazing experience. From the beginning, Denis and Wesley were incredibly responsive over email in helping us to set up our experience. Once we got there, we really enjoyed the laid-back vibe, the fire!, the drinks and the company. Rowan actually did a bit of singing www.musicbyrowan.com (shameless plug). The game drive was spectacular and our guide Daryl incredibly knowledgeable. It was a long day but everyone in good spirits by the end. Probably the highlight for us were the zebras who came to join for breakfast -- just breathtaking! We would return to Needles in a heartbeat and enthusiastically recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank brigithelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear B & family,

Wow! Thank you very much for the very kind words and taking the time to do a review. We loved Rowan's singing around the fire and having you all with us, it was a real pleasure. We hope to see you all again here soon.
Very best regards
Denis, Gail, Wesley and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Needles with our two children (aged 9 and 2) for a few days in early May and had a great time. We've already recommended Needles to our friends!

The location is excellent - nestled away in the quiet and calm Marloth Park, with easy access to the Crocodile Bridge Gate at Kruger. Needles has a warm and friendly atmosphere, with excellent food and wine, and great conversations! Denis, Gail and Wesley do their best to make you feel at home. As you sit on the beautiful deck, you'll be visited by Zebras, Warthogs and Wildebeests, and at night the incredibly cute Bush Babies will entertain you. We also appreciated the personal service - the chef made our 2 year some cupcakes for his birthday!

We found the wireless service to be fine - good enough to facilitate keeping up with work. A tip for families - we had some munchies with us for our kids - because it's a small lodge, they understandably don't have the capacity to provide food on demand.

We'll be back - next time for some cycling along the Crocodile River!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Val & Shawn,
Thank you so much for the warm and flattering review! It is always a pleasure for us to have such nice guests who enjoy what we offer. Your children were also a pleasure to have at the lodge and fun to have with us. Thank you for choosing Needles for your stay, we hope to see you here again soon. All the best, Denis, Gail, Wesley and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manzini, Swaziland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My daughter & I stayed at this wonderful location, where we were looked after by Dennis & Gail and "Wilson" ! It was a great experience both the accommodation itself and the company. Our room was very luxurious with large twin beds and a huge bath tub which was fantastic to warm up in after the sunset safari!!

The fire pit at the end of the garden was fantastic to enjoy a few drinks and talk with other guests before dinner. it was very atmospheric to watch the 'bush fire' and be in the middle of marloth park open to the beautiful stars in the night sky! We were made to feel at home in the welcoming and friendly environment. Wesley was on top of filling up our glasses and making sure we were well looked after though which was very relaxing and made it a very enjoyable holiday!
The service was extremely personal with all staff members taking time to get to know each guest individually which in turn made great conversations over the dinner table. Dinner was a very informal affair with Gail, Denis and Wes sitting with all the guests and great fun was had by all getting to know all the different guests each night.
The food was absolutely exceptional with three courses for dinner, both the variety and quality of the dinners were better than we could have expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Joy & Alex,

We miss you guys already! Thank you so much for being such great guests and great fun! And of course a very big thank you for such a lovely review! We hope you'll get the time to come back soon. Best regards, Denis, Gail, "Wilson" & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Needles lodge. My wife, 10 month old baby and I stayed for a weekend. Wesley the Manager was friendly and fun to hangout with. The food here is terrific and since it is in Marloth park, there are zebra, warthogs and Giraffes that will join you during your stay. a very relaxing place near Kruger to spend a few days!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Manager at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
For Wesley Lichtenstein
Hi Daniel & Angela,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you Daniel and to see Angela back at Needles. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Wesley & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
3.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 33 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
8.2 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#67 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
9.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Property: Needles Lodge
Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Needles Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing