We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, fantastic hosts”
Review of Needles Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Needles Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Needles Lodge is a fantastic place to stay. The rooms are OK, internet could be better, but the fantastic hosts and the great food makes this a unique place. Every evening we were amazed by the dishes served from the kitchen. Good looking and even better tasting. Since the meals are served with all guests and the management with Dennis, Wesley and Gayle around one large table, there are lots of interesting discussions and new friendships made around the table.
Wesley met us at the airport in Nelspruit and after some days he took us through the border control to Mosambique and to the airport in Maputo.With some challenges at the border, it was nice to have Wesley there.
Needles Lodge is a parfect place to stay if you are going to Krüger Park. We encountered the Big Five and a lot more during our visit and were very satisfied with everything. Thanks to Dennis, Wesley, Gayle and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagnarfromOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Ragnar & Dora,
Good to hear that you got back home safely. I hope your work in Mozambique went well. Thank you for choosing Needles for your stay and a zillion thanks for the great review. We hope you'll come back for another visit to see that leopard soon. Best regards, Denis, Gail, Wesley and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed with my family in July 2014. We had a fantastic time. Dennis, Wesley and Gayle were brilliant. We felt that we were at home. They gave personal attention to my family. We are vegeterian and they made all the effort to cook lovely vegeterian meal every night.
We had lovely time at the Needle
Needle is so place that we had number of animals visiting us at the door step..this was amazing
A memorable holiday for my family..Shah family,London

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Arvind & family,
What a wonderful family you have, we really enjoyed your company and are very happy that you had a great time at Needles. Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review and the very kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon. All the best, Denis Gail, Wesley and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Travelling in South Africa, as a group 7 Canadian friends we stopped at Needles Lodge where we were warmly welcomed after a long drive by refreshing warm towels and orange juice. We were fascinated by the wild zebras, wildebeest and wart hogs as well as Kudu that come so close to the Needles Lodge dining deck.
The food is excellent and the various safaris in Kruger Park and beyond (ie Panorama Route, Mozambique) are memorable. Worth a detour!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello Canada,
Thank you so much for the very kind words Mary. We loved having you guys here and still talk about your visit with other Canadians passing through. We really look forward to seeing you all again in the future. Very best regards, Denis, Gail & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From the moment you arrive at Needles, you have the impression of being welcomed by old friends. You can't help but relax in this very pleasant setting with wild animals visiting from morning to night - Zebra, Kudu, Wildebeest, monkeys, warthogs, bush babies.....

The food is also surprisingly good. It's also a great base to organise trips to Krueger park of course:

Many thanks to Denis, Gail, Wesley and the whole team!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zuruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hello Zuruk, Not missing Scotland yet? Hope you enjoyed the pics on Dropbox. Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review and the wonderful words of praise. We are flattered. We look forward to your next visit and will do our best to make it even better than the first but please stay a little longer next time. All the best, Denis, Gail, Wesley and the team. PS, Mario says hi too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This review is months overdue but I promised myself I would get it done. Needles is a fantastic lodge with wonderful people. Denis, Wesley, Gail and the rest of the staff always made us feel right at home. The lodge is beautifully kept & the rooms are gorgeous. Dinner was amazing every night! Many animals come around to the lodge which is a lot of fun to be able to sit on the deck while drinking a Savannah and taking in the zebras, giraffes, warthogs or whoever decides to show up that day. Our two safaris were fantastic with our driver, Denis. You can tell he cares about all the animals and has a passion for what he does. My only complaint is that our stay was too short! Thank you for all the hospitality and we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Stephanie & Larry,

Better late than never! Thank you very much for choosing Needles for your safari holiday and a zillion thanks for the fantastic review. We are very pleased that you had a great stay and enjoyed the game drives and our hospitality. we enjoyed your company too. Next time you'll have to come for longer. All the best to you both from Denis, Gail, Wesley and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Needles Lodge. A stay includes breakfast and diner. And I must say: the food is really good. We booked the "Adventurer - 4 Night Safari Package". if you go in SA winter time (July, August), it can be very cold in the morning and evening, so make sure you take some warm layered clothing with you. But in winter time, Kruger Park is the best, because you can see a lot. We saw the whole Big 5 and more special animals! Pls. notice, the KNP is about 25 min. drive. But when you book a package, they will bring you and pick you up.
The only minus is about the room: when you stay with 3 persons in one room (2 adults and 1 child), the room is a bit tight. There is space, but it feels a bit "full" with your luggage.
But the rooms and the whole lodge is very very nice. And when the animals are watching over the fence when you are at the pool or having your breakfast, is really nice and special! Denis, Gail and the rest, thanks a lot for our wonderful stay. Our whole family loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Castlenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hello, hello,

Very nice review, thank you very much & baie dankie! It was great having you at Needles for your safari adventure. Yes it does get very cold in the morning on the drives. We just had fleece linned ponchos delivered that guests can now use while on game drives. Sorry they had not arrived while you were here! You'll have to come back to test them! Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and for the very kind words. Best regards, Denis, Gail & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Needles Lodge is quite simply the most perfect place to stay if you want luxury, a great location, outstanding food and quite possibly the best hosts we have ever experienced (and we have travelled extensively around the world)
Upon arrival we were greeted by name and offered a refreshing towel and glass of juice. It was then we saw the zebras outside. Denis and Wesley took us out to our room but we got waylaid by not just the zebras but wildebeest, warthogs and monkeys. Having wanted to go on safari since childhood, I was in my element and hadn't even got to my room yet!!
The lodge is small, having just 7 rooms but that is what we like and there is plenty of outdoor space to sit and even a small pool. Dinner is eaten outside with all guests and the owners and manager. It was superb - not just the food but sitting around like family which is how we were treated. They couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome and relaxed.
The game drive was well organised and our guide was Dylan who works closely with the lodge. He was incredible and very knowledgeable. Passionate about the wildlife and he managed to find the Big 5 all before lunchtime!! What a star he was and again felt like one of the family.
Our evenings were spent in the BOMA ( British Officers Mess Area - thanks for educating us Denis ) round a fire chatting with fabulous wine and later on port and brandy!
I could go on for pages but the truth is...you must try it for yourself. You will not be disappointed. From the helpfulness of Wesley during our booking to the warm welcome and the most perfect stay we have to say a huge thank you. We left a piece of us there and Needles Lodge certainly has a piece of our hearts. Outstanding on every level. The rest of our 6 week trip has a lot to live up to.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Val & Steve,

We are so lucky to always get fabulous guests like yourselves. It makes our hosting so much fun. Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review and of course your flattering comments about Needles Lodge & our staff. We really look forward to having you come back and visit soon! All the very best, Denis, Gail, Wesley & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
4.1 mi away
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
Mvuradona Safari Lodge
#6 of 33 in Marloth Park
199 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#5 of 33 in Marloth Park
331 reviews
3.3 mi away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 33 in Marloth Park
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
348 reviews
17.3 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#32 of 175 in Kruger National Park
582 reviews
8.2 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 175 in Kruger National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range: £108 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Needles Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing