We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Entrance side. Video lounge upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Entrance side.
Video lounge upstairs
Downstairs terrace and splash pool
Shall we join?
Kudu
Rural Africa bedroom
Guest bathroom, toilet and shower
Bird Lovers' bedroom, en suite
Vervet monkeys appreciating the fresh water
Warthog family
Our garden brings shade
At the fence, playing elephants
At the fence, rhino breakfast meeting
Buffalo herd at river
Lion kill buffalo
Fish eagles, 2 mins from our house
Visiting giraffes
Safari at your doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Neha P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this house over the Easter period and truly enjoyed the space and the relaxing environment. When not going into Kruger we saw abundant game by the river just around the corner or in the garden. Seeing the animals so close by was a new and wonderful experience. The neighbour who had handed over the keys helped us out when we had a problem with the door. The pool man came around to ask whether we wanted the cover on or off. The cleaning lady came at our convenience so as not to disturb. We felt pampered without being disturbed. Thank you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Thank you for your feedback.We are truly happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We are indeed lucky to be assisted by friendly and helpful people and we are grateful that the guests appreciate that.
We hope to see you again,
Gerda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked for three nights and ended up staying a whole week as we decided to do day trips from there and come back to a relaxing familiar place in the evening.

Rafiki’s Resthouse was exactly what we were looking for : a place where we could unwind, watch animals without having to drive and listen to the sounds of nature while relaxing on the terrace.

The house is clean and stylish, the rooms large and the surrounding garden offers privacy. The first night we came back from the restaurant and there was a huge kudu male lying at the carport. It was other experiences like that that made us decide to stay. Although we have been going to Kruger for years and hardly ever miss a very early morning drive there, we only did that once from here. We preferred to walk to the river (just at the back of the large garden) and look for animals there. Hardly a day passed by that we did not see a herd of elephant, rhino, waterbuck and other animals. One morning, we got up at five to drive to Kruger (entrance is less than 15 mins away), but then we saw kudu, bushbuck and other animals in the garden and we stayed as we concluded we had had our safari. We did feed the animals with pellets from the shop and they seem to know that very quickly.

When we went to Kruger for an afternoon drive, we saw the big five in less than 2 hours … a nice reward for little effort.

As the house is self catering, it was also great that restaurants are close by, although when having a braai with friends, we heard so many sounds that we made a quiz out of it to identify the sounds. One was, according to a friend who used to be a guide for tourists in Namibia, definitely the kill of a buffalo by lions.

Another positive point : we like our place clean but we do not like staff around us. The cleaning is optional and to be paid directly by the guest, so we could agree with the cleaner that she came when we were not there.

I am not fond of using the expression ‘ a home away from home’ as we do not go on holiday to feel at home again, but I understood it here : we had everything we needed and in that environment we could enjoy what we like so much : privacy, comfort and nature. We fell in love with the place and will be back.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Gerda Sonck, Rafiki's Resthouse
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klausstah...
Itzehoe, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Many thanks for your feedback. Es ist schön zu hören das es Euch gut gefallen hat. Kommt bald wieder! Gerda (und Betty :) ).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gudrun g
Sandakan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Thank you Gudrun and family for experiencing our bush retreat in the relaxed way that we do. Even life without a car is possible here as there are delivery services but I would not recommend it either. On the way to the shops and restaurants one can also often see game although it is only a few mins away. Thank you for being such fantastic guests and spoiling the animals so much. They will remember you and so will Betty who loves you and enjoyed cooking for you. Come again! Gerda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klausstah...
Itzehoe, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the animals in the garden
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed Rafiki's Resthouse. You were very nice guests, very respectful of everything : the environment, the house, the garden, the nature and in particular the animals. The pool and the animals will miss you! We hope to welcome you again,
Gerda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Nous sommes très heureux que votre séjour à Rafiki's Resthouse vous a plu. Vous êtes une famille superbe et c'était un vrai plaisir de vous rencontrer et de vous acceuillir dans notre maison safari. On garde un précieux souvenir. Nous espèrons vous revoir un jour....
Gerda et Arno
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing