We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“at one with nature”
other travellers have booked this property
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Entrance side. Video lounge upstairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Breakfast at Rafiki's Resthouse. Back verandah. Private.
Entrance side.
Video lounge upstairs
Downstairs terrace and splash pool
Shall we join?
Kudu
Rural Africa bedroom
Guest bathroom, toilet and shower
Bird Lovers' bedroom, en suite
Vervet monkeys appreciating the fresh water
Warthog family
Our garden brings shade
At the fence, playing elephants
At the fence, rhino breakfast meeting
Buffalo herd at river
Lion kill buffalo
Fish eagles, 2 mins from our house
Visiting giraffes
Safari at your doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Karen27_1...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“at one with nature”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I was over from the UK for three weeks and as with every trip, have to go on safari, my sister-in-law found Rafiki and we booked it. It was five and adults and two children. Short car journey to The Kruger which was ideal. We even stayed "at home" one day after a morning drive, and it was so relaxing with birds and animals visiting. During of five night stay we had kudo, bush baby, monitor lizard, warthogs, civet and of course baboons come to the veranda, the only "regulars" that didn't come was the leopard and zebra, but we did see the zebra in the village at a neighbour's house. Would definitely stay here again, we all loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are particularly happy when experienced safari goers appreciate the house and garden. You probably did not see the zebras because the herd that regularly visits had a new born calf during your stay. Unfortunately, it had been attacked by a predator, had difficulty walking, and died a few days later. That is (wild)life as well. Nature took its course.
The picture of the wounded calf was put on our Facebookpage.
We hope to welcome you again one day, who knows .....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neha P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently amazing!”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here last year when Rafiki's Resthouse had only just opened. We were blown away by living so close to nature so we decided to come again. Rafiki's Resthouse is even better now! If that was even possible. Every room has aircon. Some remaining little fences and gnomes have been removed so you really feel like you are in the middle of the bush. My favourite bedroom has an extra nightstand and the entrance has a beautiful new sign! Anyways... Rafiki's Resthouse does an incredible job of putting you at one with nature while at the same time providing you the comforts of home (or in our case, better than home!).
When we came last time, we did not feel the need to swim but now it was a hot week and the pool was sooo refreshing.The zebra's even passed by to come and look at that strange creature in the water.

Betty not only does an amazing job cleaning, but she now cooks traditional dishes! As always, the owner is extremely helpful and knowledgeable (a good combination!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for the time you have put into telling us that you had a great stay. That makes us and Betty and the animals visiting the garden very happy. We love returnees and hope to welcome you again with open arms. Gerda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarenceT...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly 'Safari at Your Doorstep'”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It was an amazing and incredible safari experience staying in Rafiki’s Resthouse.

During our 1-week stay there I stood two meters from a giraffe, stepped aside for a herd of five male kudus galloping across the road and marched alongside a herd of zebra at sunset.

The stay in Marloth Park made my complete Safari experience perfect because it allowed me to get out of the car and had a close encounter with the animals ,unlike Kruger National Park where you could only view the animals from inside the car. It is perfectly safe to get out of the car because Marloth Park doesn’t have the “Big Five” and other dangerous predators. It enabled me to take photos with the animals which was pretty awesome. It gave me the perspective of how big the animals actually were.

During the day zebra and other animals came to graze in our backyard. At night we saw the rare thick-tailed bush babies came all the way to the veranda. Even people we met who have been living in Marloth Park for years said they had never seen one.

The Crocodile River, which is part of Kruger National Park and where even more game can be seen is only 3 mins walk from the house. Rafiki's Resthouse is also very close to gate 2, from where the entrance to Kruger National Park is only 15mins by car. The people who live in Marloth Park said that from some houses on the other side of Marloth Park you have to drive more than twice that distance to get to Kruger.

The interior of the house is beautifully decorated and homely. Rafiki's Resthouse also does an amazing job of giving you the feeling that you are in the middle of nature while at the same time providing all the comforts of home. Oven, stove, fridge, freezer, aircon, boiler, etc. are all present. The fan in my room didn't work very well but luckily there was aircon and a mosquito-netted window as a backup. The fan was repaired the same day.

Betty, the helper and cleaning lady, was very friendly and had an incredible smile. She’s always there when we needed help.

The website has a wealth of information. Gerda (the owner) is always quick to reply with detailed information about my queries.

Overall, I would highly recommend Rafiki's Resthouse. Sitting on the veranda and watching the animals pass by your backyard is a truly serene and awesome experience.

Thank you Gerda and Betty for the most pleasant experience and stay in Rafiki's Resthouse.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience when staying at our house. We are truly happy that you enjoyed it so much, particularly since you were guests from so far away. You were wonderful and very respectful people. I think that even the animals miss your kindness and respect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinaborms
Hoedspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adventure, and fun.”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very nice, first time, in South Afrika, Rafiki guesthouse!
All kind of animals, coming up to the lovely terras, while we where playing bridge.
Our hostess, Gerda, showed us the Kruger Park, on his best, we saw the Big Five in one day!
Amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location , animals
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
So that future guests do not misunderstand : I am usually not around and therefore cannot take guests into Kruger. But I happened to be in Marloth Park and was willing to give an introduction to Kruger and wildlife in general.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amigolucy
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We haven't been there yet...”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I have NEVER written a review BEFORE a visit... but can't resist. We have booked month of March at Gerda's Resthouse. It took weeks of research and countless other tempting spots. However - Gerda's sincerity and efforts to answer countless questions won me over. She is DELIGHTFUL. Aside from the smiles I get reading her emails - this lady is a WEALTH of informative tips. We have three months in SA - and aside from Kruger she throws out ideas galore for us to research. We dreamed of a Safari all our lives... and we are getting that with her backyard - plus three months in SA for the price of many "official Safaris" that last but days. We can't wait to start....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Humour is the sauce of life :) .
Thank you so much for appreciating the help offered. I will do everything I can to make your stay in South Africa (and Rafiki's Resthouse :) ) not only unforgettable but I do hope it will make you wish to return :). There is sooooo much to do and to see.
Gerda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrik C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was our first time in South Africa. Our goal was to see as much of Kruger as possible in 12 days. We had 3 houses. 1 in Phalaborwa, 1 in Sabie and this amazing house in Marloth Park. This was our favourite one. The location was amazing (12 minutes away from Kruger gate). But we also spent 1 1/2 day out of 3 in Marloth and had amazing animals sightings.
We were lucky to have the owner (Gerda) to greet us at our arrivals. She explained everything to us, and then wam, 3 zebras came in the yards. Gerda gave us some pellets (special food for the animals) and they ate out of our hands. My 11 years old son and 16 years old daughter were so happy (so was my wife and I). I saw zebras in Kruger, but none ate from my hands. This was so cool. We went (in Marloth park) walking with giraffes, that was so neat (can't do that in Kruger). By the way those are wild animals, not a zoo. And to finish with a bang, on our last nite, 3 kudus came by the house and they also ate from our hands. But that was more intense as those animals are quite big and have huge horns. We also had bush babies (big ones), monkeys, baboons and duikers. When we went to the fence that separate Marloth parc and Kruger (2 minutes walk from the house), we saw 5 hyenas, a lioness with her 2 cubs, 2 rhinos, 3 hippos, 2 elephants, a herd of buffalos, vultures eating a carcass, marabou stork, impalas, duikers, kudus. We only missed the leopard out of the big five, and that's without going in Kruger.

Now for the house, wow, it's so nice, great beds, really good water pressure in the showers, 3 bathrooms... The list goes on. The only negative is that it's not my house.

Now for the cleaning lady (Bethy), she's a pearl. She will adapt to your schedule, clean the house, the dishes and the yard, and all that with a great smile. I wish I could have taken her back with us.

I would recommend to all.

Patrik

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for having taken the time to write about our house. Renting out is new for us and it is heartwarming that people appreciate the house, the garden and the environment as much as we do.
I had to laugh reading this because who wrote before they arrived that they might not meet me as they would probably always be in Kruger from morning till evening?
There is so much to see from the veranda or by the river here and I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed that.
It was a real pleasure to have you here, so said Bethy as well.
Maybe, who knows, we will see you again.
Take care,
Gerda (and Bethy)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bubba1990
Keller, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marloth Park Refuge”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

After modifying our travel plans enroute form St Lucia to the Timbaviti Game Reserve we stumbled upon Marloth Park and Gerda Snock's Rafiki's Resthouse. A great little community nestled up next to Kruger National Park's southern border Marloth Park is its own little game reserve and Rafiki's Resthouse a great little retreat near the front gate. A nicely apportioned home, it is nestled in the trees and gives the allusion of being all alone even though there is a home to either side of the property. While relaxing outside on the front porch we were privy to the sites of small monkeys, a naughty baboon, bush babies, a three legged bush bok doe and a friendly neighborhood warthog. The home is a comfortable and homey. We enjoyed the amenities although not the pool since it was a bit of cold outside and the owner Gerda Snock was a wonderful ambassador and host even though we never met in person. She was a wealth of knowledge and an eager to help whenever called upon. We would recommend Rafiki's to anyone looking for a quaint quiet retreat in Marloth Park at a bargain price!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded comfort nestled in the woods of Marloth Park.
Liked least: No WiFi available on the property.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you so much. I am delighted when travellers are happy at our home and enjoy the peace and the animals in the garden.
Two corrections: it is not Snock but Sonck, lol, and there is WiFi available but guests just have to ask for it and then they receive the small device in exchange for a deposit.
We also appreciate that you liked our trees as much as we do.
We do hope to welcome you again or your friends. Warm regards.
Gerda Sonck, Rafikisresthouse
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing