We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service”
Review of Kitley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kitley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Many great things to say in relation to our 4th family stay at Kitley House.
The food continues to be of an exceptionally high standard under the new ownership. The service levels an friendliness of staff require greatest praise and particularly in relation to the care of our 2 young children. One evening after a long day the children grew tired during our evening meal and one of the kind staff offered to bring our meal through to our room.
A high recommendation from a grateful family.

Room Tip: The state rooms are huge and great value
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Kitley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great Sunday lunch, lovely setting, staff are very attentive but not overly so. The food was lovely and served hot. Always enjoy the freshly baked bread rolls, the prawn starter was delicious. The pork was very good as was the risotto and the chicken mains. All good value too.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bwgrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is a gorgeous bijou hotel. We stayed in one of the state rooms, the Rodney suite which was lovely, with a huge window overlooking the gardens. It was very beautifully furnished in pale blue and white/cream. Four poster bed and interesting period furniture. The bathroom was huge and you really felt like a lord and lady in their country residence.
We ate a fabulous meal in the restaurant. I had venison, my partner beef. Great flavours and not tiny pretty portions either. Most wonderful chocolate concoction for dessert. This is a lovely retreat, small and perfect. The staff gave just the right mix of attentive, but not too much, friendly, but not too familiar. This is a great place for a treat and the grounds and surrounding area is really beautiful for walking.

Room Tip: Rodney suite, newly refurbished, giant window, giant bathroom.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have stayed at Kitley before but since then it has been renovated and become even better. We stayed in the Ruben Suite which had an extremely comfortable 4 poster and pleasant views across the open fields. The meals were very good and value for money, the service outstanding.
The only worry we have visiting Kitley is the narrow, winding approach to the hotel but the stay is well worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlymouthDevondreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Kitley is the perfect place to get away to relax, eat ,sleep, take a walk in the grounds and connect with the beautiful surroundings and house.
The really helpfull staff and fantastic food make kitley a place everyone must stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morrisontraciechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Historically it's a great old house going back to the late 1400's but it's still got a way to go to be refurbished into the present... In fairness the Secret Escapes deal was a cheap one and value for money was okay, but there is some issues which makes even that modest sum questionable. On arriving we were directed to room 16 (which was also room 17...) it was gloomy beyond belief, it turned out that the only window was 100% obscured by a large stone chimney on the roof outside! The receptionist was able to offer us room 15 as an alternative which we took. The 'teen' rooms aren't the best in terms of size, lightness, and can be a tad chilly unless auxiliary heaters are added, which they willingly did. Bathroom compact and bijou... When you leave the first floor to ascend to the 2nd floor upper rooms it is a chilly and poorly decorated experience, but then they were servants quarters in a previous life... The restaurant was great the first night with nice lighting and a warm atmosphere, food was fine, second night however the lights were much dimmer (no wall lights for some reason) and the ambience not great, food was fine but service was extremely slow. No residents lounge, just the bar which had seating for only 11 folk.... Summary: old and having much needed re decorating being done but a long way to go...

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor rooms......
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 598chrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My partner and I went to kitley for 1 night (christmas present from son). A beautiful long drive to the hotel with horses,sheep, pheasants and geese. It was a shame it didn't stop raining the whole time we were there. Nathan greeted us at reception and took us to our room, the stair case was beautiful. Any way we were shown our suite not room. Lovely reminded me of jane Austin except there was a tv in there. Very clean bed comfy. Food was out of this world. If you want a quiet weekend away or venue for a wedding, it's for you. Would go again and very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOOPYLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda A, Front Office Manager at Kitley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Loopyles
Thank you for choosing to stay at Kitley House Hotel and leaving such a lovely review,
we are delighted you had a great stay, shame about the weather!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards
Lynda Adams

Reception Manager
Kitley House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
4.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.8 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
13.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitley House Hotel

Address: Yealmpton | Nr Plymouth, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Price Range: £64 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitley House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Kitley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitley Hotel Yealmpton
Kitley House Hotel Devon/Yealmpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing