We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best evening for a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kitley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kitley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best evening for a long time”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

turned up without booking could not have been made more welcomed if they tried asked for just a light meal and a cup of tea, the chef was so helpful said would rustle us up something, well it was an amazing light meal delicious we sat outside on the balcony and watched the sun go down over their lovely gardens and then went indoors and sat on one of their comfortable chairs listening to lovely quiet background music from musicals and drunk more tea where still there when the night staff came on didn't want to go home will be back and have recommended it to all our friends thank you very much for a lovely evening

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    168
    58
    20
    8
See reviews for
101
226
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed more than 6 times in 2 years and on my stay this time couldn't believe the transformation of the dining area and bar. I cannot fault this hotel. Even when on my first stay over 2 years ago the roof in the bay window leaked and soaked some of my clothes. The staff are attentive, the food is probably the best I have had ever and the setting is as good as many a 5 star retreat. The consistency of quality has remained throughout the years of me using this hotel. Yes the rooms are dated, but, this is character. From room 10 on the top floor to the suites it is exceptional value. I would recommend this to business travellers and families alike. Don't lose your individuality as this is one of the reasons you remain one of the best, competitively priced hotels for miles around. I am convinced the house is haunted. Maybe it's the look and feel or maybe it's the experience I had a year ago..........

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I took my family here a couple of months back for the kids half term break (one 5yr old and one 3yr old). The staff were exceptionally welcoming and really hospitable, kids had an excellent time and were well looked after. The location is charming, the house full of historical character, food was amazing and the grounds worth exploring at your leisure. We had one of the standard family rooms on the top floor - whilst it suited our needs, it could do with a little refresh. We were hoping to get one of the state rooms, however sadly they were all booked up. I would nonetheless visit again. Thank you all at Kitley house for a lovely stay. All the best, Prajay

Room Tip: Whilst the rooms are quiet, worth checking to see if they have a party/event booking just in case. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prajay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed at Kitley House twice in a couple of weeks; fabulous restful stays, with outstanding food served by keen, knowledgeable staff. Kitley House is a place of real character, yes if you look hard you may find the odd sign of tiredness but for less than the price of those "cheap" chains last week I stayed in a luxury country house hotel. And to cap my stay as I walked out in the morning, I was greeted by an escapee from a local Pig farm, I kid you not, it appears that the bacon walks to the hotel. Stay there or miss out!!

Room Tip: The suites are outstanding with brilliant views of the countryside, the standard rooms are still big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hullresidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for a friend's 40th party in May. Our room was beautiful with a huge bathroom and separate seating area. The food we had was very nice. However the hotel misses something, the night staff were grumpy and not at all accommodating to the many guests who asked for the bar to stay open after midnight, and in the morning there seemed to be a strained atmosphere to the whole hotel. Although the building is lovely it seems to lack warmth, and I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: We had the Cromwell Suite which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _AmandaK_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My partner and I spent one night here, and arrived early enough to take advantage of the glorious weather and take a walk all round the grounds, about a 3 mile round trip.
Our room (8) was fine, though a bit tired but we understand the rooms are in the process of being renovated. It was at the top of the Hotel with no lift which wasn't a problem for us but may be for anyone with limited mobility.
We had a meal in the beautiful dining room, the food was superb, I couldn't fault it, and our waitress was excellent, as were all the other staff. It is clear that they are trained to a very high standard, I don't think I've experienced better service.
We would recommend the hotel, and I'm sure once the restoration is complete it will be amazing.

Room Tip: There's no lift so ask not to be on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melamiejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Bosworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very warm welcome and very impressed with the room (Sarah Martin suite). Wonderful views of the river and very comfortable. Excellent dinner, well priced and so nice to have linen table cloths and napkins. Breakfast was of a very high standard and served in the wonderful dining room.
Only down side is the very uneven surface to the mile drive from the road to reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
4.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitley House Hotel

Property: Kitley House Hotel
Address: Yealmpton | Nr Plymouth, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitley House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kitley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitley Hotel Yealmpton
Kitley House Hotel Devon/Yealmpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing