We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitley House Hotel”
Review of Kitley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kitley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kitley House Hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I booked in for 2 nights. We included dinner on the first evening. The setting was beautiful. We were in a standard room which was at the top of a narrow staircase. The furniture and fittings were dated. The plumbing needed serious attention during our stay.
Although friendly, the bar and restaurant staff appeared inexperienced and the service left much to be desired. We were disappointed to be told that the bar was closed shortly after 11pm on our last evening.
All the meals we had in the hotel were excellent.

Room Tip: Book a suite/superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L6937LKChristineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    170
    63
    22
    9
See reviews for
107
231
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guildford
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in Winston Suite for one night, late July and the room was lovely with period furniture and acomfortable four poster bed. All staff , reception, waiting and in the bar ,were friendly and put themselves out to help us. We ate in the restaurant and although there was a large party eating at the same time , we were not kept waiting to be served, which is a sign of a well run establishment .The food was execellent bothat dinner time and also at breakfast. The garden and grounds are delightful and it was lovely having a pre dinner drink on the terrace with glorious views. We will certainly be returning , but next time for longer .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

A friends daughter of ours got married here & the venue was absolutely brilliant they have a gazebo where the wedding ceremony took place & the guests sat on white chairs facing the bride & groom.
The hotel is being renovated slowly with the rooms being updated. The food is second to none & the staff are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We recently had our wedding here. All the staff were absolutely fantastic and it was really personal service. Food was excellent and the bridal suite huge. A fabulous venue all round. We booked for exclusive use which was great and also had a meal on the Friday night to extend the weekend - this was all accommodated easily.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Last time we were at Kitley House Hotel there were buckets everywhere trying to catch the rainwater pouring through the holes in the roof.
What a transformation. The new owner has done a super job in getting the hotel back up to its usual high standard. It's early days yet but the hotel is gradually going thro' a massive renovation programme and each room is getting a badly needed makeover. The staff are brilliant, very attentive and always obliging and the food is wonderful.
Stay at this hotel and you won't be disappointed, it cannot be faulted!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank xdrumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding this weekend at kitley. The staff are all very friendly and the food was outstanding for function food. Alot of time had been spent on the plating considering how many meals were being sent. Flavours were also good. Only slight gripe was i felt breakfast didnt live up to the same quality we had come to expect from everything else. All in all very well organised and the venue made for an amazing day

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank spotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Well I came onto trip advisor too let you all know about my experience but before I start I was totally shocked to see a couple of reviews dis the restaurant & food now not sure if they went to the same Kitley House as myself & 8 other guess, we went there to celebrate my nephew birthday we arrived and was greeted by the receptionist the reception area was very welcoming with open fire & and leather sofa's we made our way to the bar ordered drinks which was brought out to us as we sat in the lovely gardens., while we were having our drinks the menu was brought out to us so we could choose our meal there was no pressure & they let us take as long as we wanted because to tell you the truth it was hard to choose what to have because it all sounded so delicious , once we ordered we were shown to our table which was situated at the bay window (in my opinion probably the best table ). Well about the food not really sure what words best describe how delicious & tasty the food was in my opinion one of the most flavourable meals and the way the food was presented on the large white plates was almost to good to eat. One of the most likeable things for me is that everything is cooked fresh to order so a little wait between course is perfect as one of my pet hates is finishing one course & the next is in front of you before your pallet can finish savouring all the delicious flavours.The restaurant service was also exceptional and the staff were very friendly & welcoming & they made sure that all of our request & needs were never to much to ask for. Now I would like to say To Kitley, Vivien Marshall & all of her kitchen / restaurant staff you get 100% of my vote, for those of you who have not been it's a must don't miss out go try it for yourself

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yealmpton
4.8 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
208 reviews
13.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitley House Hotel

Property: Kitley House Hotel
Address: Yealmpton | Nr Plymouth, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Yealmpton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yealmpton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitley House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Kitley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitley Hotel Yealmpton
Kitley House Hotel Devon/Yealmpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing