We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly local with pleasant food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Volunteer Inn

The Volunteer Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Yealmpton
Price range: US$2 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional Pub Food
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very friendly local with pleasant food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

As per my review title, very friendly, usually busy local pub that serves a limited food menu. The steaks are great value & along with the burgers & fish 'n chips, are the best option on the menu in my opinion. Our visits have included Steak pie which was tasty but very salty & gloopy gravy as was the sausage dish. They don't offer starters & the desserts are limited too. If you choose carefully, you can have a good value meal in unpretentious surroundings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FallenByTheWayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    16
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Popped in for lunch whilst out for a drive and was not dissappointed;the menu is just right with not to many choices,i had the steak pie and the other half had ham,eggs & chips.The pie was delicious,hot with more than enought chips.My wifes ham was the real mccoy with two eggs and so many chips that i had to help her eat them.The licencee and his wife are a young couple and are very friendly and helpful.We visited here over 12mths ago and the standards are just as good as our previous visit.If you are in the area then it is well worth a visit and the prices are amazing considering the large portions.Well recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I will say upfront that this is my local but after Sunday lunch (roast pork) today, I have decided that there is simply no point in me cooking Sunday lunch. Good food and plenty of it at a great price. If you are in the area, do yourself a favour and try it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wicksyealmpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food, great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have visited the volunteer on many occasions and have to say the food is excellent, especially the steaks! We are always made to feel very welcome and the couple who run it are lovely, its great value for money and would advise a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boyo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food and very friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I were out for the afternoon in the area and pass the volunteer Inn and decided to stop for a bite to eat.. We were so glad we did on entering the pub we were greeted by the landlord a very friendly guy and so willing to please.. we had a look at the menu which was a very appetising... My wife decided on the hunters chicken and I had the mixed grill and we shared a caersa salad we were not disappointed.. The hunters chicken served with chips and veg was so suculatent and the portions size was well worth it.. My mixed grill was lovely I had steak gammon 2 saugages and lots of side compilments... great food for little money.. We then had deserts my wife had the chocolate brownie served with icecream and cream and I had the lemon meringue icecream sundie lovely... and with drink it all came to under £30 for both of us.. good homecooked food in a very friendly village pub.. we will be returning and recommend to our friends.. Thank you to the volunteer for making a great end to a good day out :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank derekjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Volunteer Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Volunteer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing