We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury boutique palazzo - Excellent Hosts - Highly Recommended”
Review of Cancello Est

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualdo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cancello Est
Ranked #1 of 1 Gualdo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A luxury boutique palazzo - Excellent Hosts - Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent five memorable and relaxing nights at Cancello Est in June 2014.

Accommodation is as good as it looks on the web site – a beautifully restored home, some 400 years old, in the medieval walled town of Gualdo.

The rooms are spotless, stylish decorated and very comfortable. All complemented perfectly with glorious floral displays around the building and garden. The restored frescos on the bedroom ceilings are magnificent; as are the views from the bedrooms across the valley to the mountains of the Sibillini National Park - with its excellent walking, hiking and winter skiing attractions.

Expect delicious breakfasts of fresh local produce; privacy and a relaxing environment.

Marc and Ivan are excellent and most generous hosts and they should be justifiably proud of their creation. They will share gladly their love and knowledge of the area and its many gastronomic and cultural treats.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S, Manager at Cancello Est, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we are so glad that you enjoyed a relaxing stay at Cancello Est. We are very spoiled with the wonderful fresh ingredients that are available locally and so glad that you enjoyed your breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I just arrived back from this little piece of heaven and certainly cannot wait to go back! This magnificent B&B makes one feel like royalty and the views from the room absolutely breathtaking, not to mention the fresco's on the ceilings as you wake up! I definitely put on a few pounds from all the yummy food we ate, but so worth it!

The region boasts the most beautiful landscapes, quaint little villages filled with so much history, amazing basillica's and stunning wine farms (yum)!

In Winter, it's a simple hop, skip and a jump if you wanna go skiing and we managed to catch a bit of snow as we arrived (Brilliant!). Our hosts Marc and Ivan were fantastic so would recommend this home away from home as a must visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tash V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S, Manager at Cancello Est, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Sorry to hear that you put on a few pounds whilst at Cancello Est. You are right though, the area is full of places to discover and skiing at Sassetetto is a great experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This is the third stay at cancello est. And every time we have a fabulous experience, the surrounding country is beautiful the view from cancello is breathtaking. We stayed in sanarno suite and is a real treat with the luxurious surrounding, Marc and Ivan have superb tasting in mixing old and new. The fresco on the ceiling is a joy to behold. We love gualdo and sanarno and the stunning country side and the quaint restaurants in the area have exceptionally good food and are very reasonable. Please go and visit cancello, like us you will keep coming back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S, Manager at Cancello Est, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Its always a pleasure to welcome you back to Cancello Est. You are quite right the Marche area has so much to offer from Shopping to Historical sites.

We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stays in Gualdo and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were lucky enough to visit Cancello Est for the new year celebrations and to see the Christmas festivities and decorations in Gualdo which is a peach of a place up in the hills with breathtaking views. our hosts Marc and Ivan were superb and could not do enough for us. The room that we had had a marvellous fresco on the ceiling which I could not stop looking at and just wondered at the history of it all, fascinating to think that it had been done so long ago. The sheets were gorgeous, so much so that I could just have stayed in bed that little bit longer as I was so comfortable. It's a place that has so much to see and do. Go! You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petal0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S, Manager at Cancello Est, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Gualdo at Christmas is truly magical - there is so much going on and so much to enjoy. The locals are very welcoming and like nothing more than to share the experience with visitors.

Thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

When we arrived at Cancello Est, in the quaint village of Gualdo Macerata, just east of Rome, we were delighted! Originally the eastern gate of the medieval village, this luxurious Guest House has been beautifully restored, offering a sense of history with the pleasures of modern luxury.

In the stylish bedrooms each item was clearly chosen with care. We felt like royalty as we sank into the softness of the finest quality linen beneath beautiful 16th Century frescos, which, apparently, had been hidden for hundreds of years beneath layers of paint! The marble in the bathrooms hinted of history, while the trims were chic with the finest modern fittings.

Oh, and the views from the windows were quite extraordinary! Looking sunny south, there were breathtaking views across rural landscapes which stretched to forests and mountains on the horizon. Apparently these are snow-capped in winter, which must add to the beauty as sunrises and sunsets colour the skies each night a different hue.

Our hosts, Ivan and Marc, were gracious and helpful, suggesting authentic Italian adventures each day ... without the crush of tourists! Sometimes we just lazed next to the pool soaking up the warm sunshine. Our days passed too quickly but certainly we will return to this little gem of warm hospitality in this little-known corner of Italy.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb - luxurious with breathtaking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S, Owner at Cancello Est, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kinds words and we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to Gualdo - we agree with you it really is special.

Hope to see you and the family soon so that we can share some of the fabulous places we have discovered since you were here. It really is Italy's best kept secret!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was the second time in the area and we stayed at Cancello Est. Beautiful place to stay in the most beautiful part of the countryside. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and their hospitality added greatly to the enjoyment of our holiday.
I was surprised to see how well old and new can work together: Marble and glass bathrooms adjoining fresco-ceilinged bedrooms; old town stone walls with modern swimming pool terrace.
Definitely a place to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S, Owner at Cancello Est, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thanks you so much for your kind words - we are thrilled that you loved the decor - I must say the marble bathrooms do work well will the Fresco's.

There is so much to do in the area that I am sure you will have a packed return trip

Look forward to seeing you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Cancello Est and were so delighted with the beautiful 1600th century restored accommodation and warm hospitality. Our beautiful bedroom (with a fresco ceiling) overlooked stunning views of the valleys below (as do all the rooms) and the beds were so fresh and sumptuous and exceptionally comfortable (very important to us). Our hosts Ivan and Marc, made us feel very welcome and produced delicious, fresh ,local produce for breakfast every morning. There is so much to see in the surrounding areas, with little hidden restaurants, shopping and walks - our hosts gave us plenty of ideas. We highly recommend making Cancello Est part of your Italian experience - it certainly turned out to be the highlight of ours.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunchaser1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc S, Owner at Cancello Est, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kinds - It was such a pleasure to look after you and introduce you to the wonderful area of Marche.

We are very spoiled here with an abundance of local organic ingredients that make every meal a pleasure to prepare for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to Marche and of course Cancello Est
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cancello Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancello Est

Property: Cancello Est
Address: Via Borgo 25, 62020 Gualdo, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Macerata > Gualdo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gualdo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the medieval walled town of Gualdo, Marche, Cancello Est is a luxury boutique palazzo. The property was built in 1625 and originally formed part of the eastern gate of the old town wall.A warm welcome waits for you at Cancello Est, the south facing property is bathed in sunshine and all rooms have breathtaking views of the Sibillini National Park, all the way to the Grand Sasso. Minutes away are the towns of San Ginesio and Sarnano. This boutique palazzo is the perfect venue to discover undiscovered Italy.You are welcome to help yourself from the Honesty Bar, or a member of staff will be happy to serve you. Chilled bottled water is available, as well as individual Italian ice creams, for beside the pool, with our complimentsEnjoy stylish modern comforts including flat-panel TVs, DVD and MP3 players and extendable reading lights. Sink into restful, rejuvenating slumber in plush, custom-made Sealy pillow top mattresses with luxurious down comforters and silken, cotton, high-thread-count linens.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing